We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always First-Rate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pearl's New Orleans Kitchen

Pearl's New Orleans Kitchen
617 Ames St, Elk Rapids, MI 49629-9593
231-264-0530
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Elk Rapids
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Vegan, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Flushing, Michigan
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Always First-Rate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We don't get to this area often, so after having had a very enjoyable meal here a couple of years ago, decided to try lunch. My wife had the Blackened Pork Loin, while I had Pearl's Étouffée. Both were excellent. We ordered the Bayou Sampler (which cost more than each lunch offering, but was worth it) for starters. Our server was cute and gregarious (don't know if that was her personality or if it was part of the schtick), but she was efficient and knowledgeable about the menu.

Our last visit was at the dinner hour, and lunch is preferable as dinner gets a little crazy due to the popularity of the place. Plus, the lunch portions are a little smaller (still took half of our meals back to the RV). Great ambiance, service, and value.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    53
    10
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fun and tasty experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

"Laissez les bon temps rouler" is the fun and tasty theme at Pearl's New Orleans Kitchen, where my wife and I enjoyed a great weekend dinner. Started off with an awesome bloody mary and margarita, followed by a downright righteous spicy crawfish and tasso etoufee and a turkey muftalella sandwich. The service was sincerely friendly and spot-on efficient. The atmosphere is like going to Mardi-Gras, with hundreds of bottles of hot sauces and voodoo dolls adorning the walls. Will be bringing my family and friends to this special "Up-North" place very soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foley, Alabama
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Nawlins in Michigan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had always wanted to try this restaurant and finally did yesterday and were so glad we did. Nice atmosphere with background music (emphasis on background) of bluesy/zydeco. Had a drink menu with lots of New Orleans themed drinks. The food was delicious-many New Orleans favorites. French bread outstanding (cornbread not so good). The manager stopped by our table to welcome us as newcomers which was a nice personal touch. Our server was great-very knowledgeable and personable. Ask for Dee-Dee.
If you are in the mood for a New Orleans fix, this is the place for you. If you just want a good meal, this is also the place for you. It was well worth the drive. We plan to return soon to try the brunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Pricey but good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This was not a place to take a 2 year old - the wait was long, and noisy. The food was okay, but not outstanding in my opinion. We went here because we couldn't find anyplace else at the time (it was "on the way" to where we were going).

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Such a great find off the beaten path!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

First let me say that my spouse and I are loyal aficionados of New Orleans, and have gone to the Jazz Festival for several years. The atmosphere, the music, the food are all draws that keep us going back. We were delighted to find Pearl's by Elk Rapids. We had a short wait, so we started a hurricane on the patio, decorated with beads twisted around the straw. At our table, we were pleased with the eclectic decor of the restaurant, and the obvious fun the customers were having! The menu was extensive, and we started with a bowl of thick, well spiced gumbo to share. Then our charming waitress brought a basket of french bread and corn bread and a Sazerac, just to keep the mood going. We ordered the Jambalaya (which included chicken on the bone, andouille sausage and seafood) and the Etouffee, with a choice of 2 meats (we picked crawfish and blackened shrimp) and they were both delicious and beautiful to behold! They were well seasoned and we were given hefty portions of both - so much that we couldn't finish, and couldn't take advantage of the Bananas Foster we had planned to share for dessert. This was a wonderful dining experience, and so unexpected off the beaten path in upper Michigan! We will definitely make this a stop on our next trip Up North.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pearl's New Orleans Kitchen also viewed

Elk Rapids, Antrim County
Elk Rapids, Antrim County
 
Elk Rapids, Antrim County
Elk Rapids, Antrim County
 

Been to Pearl's New Orleans Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pearl's New Orleans Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.