We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Linda N” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maxfield's Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Maxfield's Inn to your Saves list
Maxfield's Inn
1106 East Main St, Edmore, MI 48829   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct and save $10
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Edmore
Johnstown, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Linda N”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed at this Motel for two nights. The rooms were very clean. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. The continental breakfast was average. I was disappointed that the sauna was broken and I was not made aware of it before checking in. Overall the experience was good would recommend this Motel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chocolady9, General Manager at Maxfield's Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay. We apologize that our sauna has been taken out and you were not informed. We appreciate that you would recommend us to others. We have added fresh fruit and yogurt to our breakfast selection.
C. Benson, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    10
    8
    2
    6
See reviews for
17
6
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodbine, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

I recently stayed in a suite here for close to a week. The entire experience was delightful. The staff was courteous, helpful, and accommodating when we needed something. The pool is great, however, we only had one day we had time to swim, and we had not been in the pool area very long, when a water aerobics class arrived. If we had known, we would have rearranged our schedule, so we could swim longer. Breakfast is decent, with coffee and tea available all the time. Beds and linens were first rate. I would suggest adding at least a 3rd chair to the suite tables, maybe even a 4th, so everybody can have a place to sit and play cards or games. Overall, I would recommend this to anyone I know who is going to be in the area, and I would stay here again. The only deal breaker is if we travel with our small dog, since Maxfield's doesn't allow pets.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chocolady9, General Manager at Maxfield's Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for taking a few moments to tell us about your experience at our hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your visit with us. We apologize that we did not let you know about the water aerobics class. The pool is still available to our guests during these times but we will be posting the class times so the guests are aware.
Thank you for the suggestions you offered about the extra chairs in the suites. We will discuss what can be done to help that situation. We look forward to you visiting us again.
C. Benson, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Checked in late on a Friday to a clean quiet room. Friendly desk help and answered questions for local food and flavor. Bed was too soft for my liking but nice accommodations overall. Mc Donalds is real close.

Room Tip: No elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chocolady9, General Manager at Maxfield's Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for taking a minute to send us some feedback. We are happy that you liked your stay. We hope you will come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

nothing shiny, new, or fancy about it, but the room was large, comfortable and clean. My daughter lived in and loved the pool. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. Would have loved having more comfortable seating around the pool.

Room Tip: loved the suite for a family came with a bunk bed in a little nook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chocolady9, General Manager at Maxfield's Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. It is nice to hear that your daughter really enjoyed the pool and that you liked the renovations we have done to our queen suites. We are going to be doing some updating this year and will take your suggest, for more comfortable seating around the pool, into serious consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

The good:
1) Staff is very friendly and accommodating.
2) The room, beds, and bathroom were clean, though the shower curtain was slightly discolored (whether due to hard water or mildew, I don't know).

If you're looking for decent hotels in the area, this really is your only option. Good hotel with solid basics.

The bad:
1) The pool area isn't what one would call inviting. Both the air and pool were kept at a temperature slightly too cold for comfort. Increasing the temperature 5 degrees would be a huge improvement.
2) If you have sensitive skin, be aware that the chemicals used in the pool are incredibly harsh. I developed a rash that took a couple of days to go away, and it took three days for the smell to totally dissipate from my hair and hands (which I wash regularly, by the way).
3) Although Maxfield's is known for the deliciousness of their food (which is true for their fried chicken and homemade noodles), the breakfast situation is underwhelming. The free continental breakfast at the hotel is sparse and starchy -- no fruit or yogurt here, folks. It basically only exists to encourage you to try out the breakfast buffet at the nearby Depot (also Maxfield-owned), which is discounted for hotel guests to $4.99 (regularly $6.99). After forking over your cash (the till at the buffet is cash only; if you want to pay with a card, you have to get your card swiped at the gas station till), you can choose from an array of eggs, hash browns, sausage, pancakes, and french toast. Food was, as previously stated, meh. (Food was cold, and the maple syrup, which developed a skin if left alone for more than 10 seconds, had an unpleasantly snotty consistency.) And again: no fruit or anything remotely healthy in sight. If you want a drink with your breakfast, it costs you extra.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chocolady9, General Manager at Maxfield's Inn, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We appreciate the feedback.
The shower curtain was discolored because of hard water. We are looking into replacing our shower curtains.
Thank you for your suggestion about the pool area temperature. We are discussing what can be done to improve that for next winter.
I have discussed your remarks about our continental breakfast with management, and have added fresh fruit and yogurt to the breakfast at the hotel. I shared your feedback on The Depot breakfast with their management also so they can see what improvements can be made.
We hope you will come back and visit to see our improvements.
Sincerely,
C Benson. Manager
Maxfield's Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Maxfield Inn in Edmore is a wonderful value. The rooms are clean and you can your choice of a smaller breakfast in the lobby or money off a breakfast buffet (turns out to be 3.99 after discount) across the parking lot at The Depot. The people are very friendly and coffee is available 23/7. Nice quiet community with a bike trail right in front. (Fred Meijer trail)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxfieldsInn, Manager at Maxfield's Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you took the time to tell us!
Hope you will stop and see us again sometime!
C Benson, Manager
Maxfield's Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We were heading from Grand Rapids to Sault Ste Marie to go to Canada but missed the main hotel area of Grand Rapids which was some 9 miles outside of town somewhere. We missed it, headed north, found there were no stops, and headed east. We came across the ?town? of Edmore, the crux of which was this motel. We would have settled for a lot less but this turned out to be a nice, relative clean, room with the basic amenities. We were so tired by then, we almost missed the continental breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxfieldsInn, Manager at Maxfield's Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for taking a few moments to submit a review for our hotel. We are happy that you found us and that we could help you get rested to continue your journey north. We hope that you will stop and see us again sometime.
Sincerely,

Cathy Benson, Manager
Maxfield’s Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maxfield's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maxfield's Inn

Address: 1106 East Main St, Edmore, MI 48829
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Edmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Edmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* 100% Non-smoking facility * Number of rooms: 50 * Number of floors: 2 (no elevator) * Meeting Space: 500 sq ft; 25 capacity * Currency: United States Dollar * Check In: 3:00 pm * Check Out: 11:00 am * Time zone: Eastern * Indoor Heated Pool * Locker Rooms * Fitness Room * Guest Laundry * Complementary Deluxe Continental Breakfast * Hair dryer in room * Free WIFI in room * Deli/Restaurant on property. * No Pets Allowed * 2 Jacuzzi Rooms and 2 Jacuzzi Suites. * 1 Handicapped and 2 Queen Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Maxfield's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maxfield`s Hotel Edmore
Maxfields Hotel Edmore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maxfield's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.