We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tawas Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Tawas Bay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Tawas Bay Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   300 East Bay Street, East Tawas, MI 48730 (Formerly "Holiday Inn")   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in East Tawas
Pompano Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were looking for a pet friendly place and there are very few in the Tawas area so we were happy that they accept pets for a fee (30 lb. limit). People at the front desk were pleasant but not overly friendly. The hotel offers rooms on the city side for $90 or $100 forthe lake side. We made the mistake of taking a room on the city side. There is a train that runs through town twice a night and woke us up every night. Take the lake side and you can't hear the train as much. The hotel offered free breakfast from a special menu (omelettes, pancakes, french toast) which was very good. Also gave us $20 vouchers for the restaurant or bar during our stay. Room was clean, king bed was comfortable and the refrigerator worked well. Some of the rooms were being updated with new carpeting, etc. The TV in our room was old but it worked. Nice place.

Room Tip: Stay on the lake side so you don't hear the train coming through at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    46
    22
    17
    38
See reviews for
42
51
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Lyon, Michigan
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

This is a solid hotel for the price. It's located off the main road going through town, right on the water.

Paid $100 for the night. Clean rooms. Front lobby was nice and clean. Both front desk people we interacted with were friendly and helpful. The pool is nice with a good view of the water.

There's a bar connected to the hotel called Topsiders that usually has live entertainment on weekends. It's a great place to take a seat at the bar, chat with the bartender, and watch the sights around you. Plus, you get 10% off your bill and can charge everything to your room. A nice little perk.

I got vouchers for a free breakfast at their café. Although it was slow, it was free and was good!

One drawback: The hotel walls are thin! If you're a light sleeper and happen to have noisy neighbors, it's going to be a long night. Better to bring a fan or something that can drown out sound.

You get your money's worth here!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

This is an old-school former Holiday Inn, perfectly acceptable. During winter, the pool, hot tub, and sauna area is a real treat, though. They are in a solarium directly on the bay, so you can sit in a warm, humid pool area, overlooking the frozen bay. It's a nice pick-me-up in the middle of winter.

Conveniently, the pool is open much later than most hotels (11pm or midnight), which is really nice. I would agree with the last reviewer, though, and limit the hours that children are allowed. Screaming kids are really uncomfortable in a tile & glass room.

Rooms come with free breakfast vouchers for two. You get your choice from a small menu, but the food is quite good. Prices are crazy during the Perchville Festival!

Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

We stayed 1/31/15

The good: the staff is AMAZING! Very friendly, they go out of their way to welcome you and seem to genuinely like helping their guests. We had especially good service from the woman at the front desk. She should get a raise! The onsite restaurant was also extremely good. We had dinner and breakfast there, and enjoyed everything. They had steaks, delicious bread, and sinful desserts. The food was well above what I expected. Our evening waitress was really really good. The price was also very reasonable. $99 off season.

The bad: the bed and pillows were horribly hard. I slept terribly. Really terribly. Mattress felt like a board. I was looking forward to the hot tub. We purchased the added romance package which was worth the cost, but the hotel does not feel romantic. They allow kids in the hot tub area until close(midnight). A large family was there the entire day and most of the night. The adults were drinking and the kids were screaming and shrieking. THE ENTIRE TIME. I have kids, no problem normally, but these few kids and their parents took over the whole area. It was too loud for other guests. There should be adult times later in the evening if the hotel is trying to upsell romance packages. Maybe adults only after 9. There should be some compensation for adults who want to relax in the hot tub. Decor was also pretty outdated, but it was clean.

Overall: i think the hotel could be amazing, with a few changes. I slept so awfully, I wont be back anytime soon, but I would give it another try in a while, and I would bring my own pillows.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

Veteran of many perchville feats here, plus a few blues festivals in august. A very old former holiday inn. Owners have been slowly updating portions of hotel. Service cab be hit or miss. They really overcharge for February. Perchville, but a lot of fun and the place to stay during festival. Tiki bar area in summer is fun also.

Room Tip: 1st. Floor bayside rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen Park, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

On July 22, 2014 Five family members and myself went to the Tawas Bay Beach Resort for dinner. After our dinner we moved outside to the deck. When I went to sit down the chair broke and I fell on the deck. Family members helped me up and went inside to get help. Karaoke night and only one waitress who was busy. She told me nobody at the front desk to talk to about the incident.
She wrote three manager's names on a business card and told me she would tell one of the manager's and somebody would call the next day.
Nobody called, so late the next afternoon I called and left a voicemail message. Jasmine returned my call stating they didn't know anything about the incident until she heard my message. I ask about an incident report, she said I could come in and fill one out if I wanted to; I went that evening and filled one out.
I EXPLAINED I wasn't going to take legal action, that I had insurance, but wanted them to know I injured myself on their property, and worried about it happening to someone else.. I asked if there would be any kind of compensation, she said she had to talk to Chad, the General Manager.
Both my husband and I have stayed at the Resort and eat dinner in the dinning room when in the area for years, so we are regular customers. Never heard from Chad. Called and left messages he finally returned my call. Didn't seem too interested in what happened. A month later we were in the area, so I called to give him an update of my arm and shoulder injury and tests I had done. Still didn't seem interested.
Please BEWARE the chairs on the deck are rusted and not stable. Check it out before you sit in it for your own welfare. Still having ongoing problems. Held off on writing the review until now, hoping things would get better, but this continues to be an upsetting and painful experience. Because of the incident and the way I was treated, friends and family will no longer stay or eat at this Resort.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

I just can't say enough of the great time I had here 10/14. The view, beach, pier, boats, service, food. I had a health issue coming off from the pier, and a housekeeper (gosh I wish I knew this woman's name) saw me in the hallway and was starting to run down the hall to me with such concern and caring on her face before I could even get it out that I needed to get to some meds in my room. The people were wonderful. If you are into sparkle, glitz and think you should be treated as a rock star you may be disappointed. If you want a clean, wonderful Hotel, with employees that do their jobs well and are real caring beings this is the place. Price good. The water, the views, everything anyone would want or need under one roof . The only thing this place may have lacked by the other posts, are good customers. Loved my stay

Room Tip: Bay side. I so wish I knew how to download the pictures I got on this site. Fantastic- are on my ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tawas Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tawas Bay Beach Resort

Address: 300 East Bay Street, East Tawas, MI 48730 (Formerly "Holiday Inn")
Location: United States > Michigan > East Tawas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in East Tawas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tawas Bay Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a full service resort on Lake Huron. We have 101 rooms, a beach bar with live entertainment in season, a restaurant and lounge open year around, and 600 feet of clean sand beach. We also hold beach weddings and receptions and many business meetings each year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Tawas Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tawas Bay Beach Hotel East Tawas
Tawas Bay Beach East

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tawas Bay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.