We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our Desination Wedding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tawas Bay Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Tawas Bay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tawas Bay Beach Resort
300 East Bay Street, East Tawas, MI 48730 (Formerly "Holiday Inn")   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in East Tawas
East Hampton, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for our Desination Wedding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

My Husband and I renewed our vows on the Beach of the Tawas Bay Beach Resort in August. We had everything we needed. The staff was very helpful. There was another wedding just before ours, but it didn't interfere thanks to perfect timing by Jasmin and her staff. The beach was raked and so clean. They even took down the volleyball nets for us to ensure no volleyballs would be hitting our guests! We had several guests stay at the hotel from out of state. They thought the price was reasonable for that time of year and overall, enjoyed their stay. Bikini's Beach Bar was the biggest hit for them. I recommend anyone to the Tawas Bay Beach Resort for all of their wedding needs! Thank you for making our day so perfect!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    42
    20
    16
    36
See reviews for
41
47
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Stayed this past weekend. Staff was genuinely happy and very helpful. Rooms clean, sheets soft and pillows really nice!! They served and catered to 60 people in my group and did outstanding. Thanks Tarah for finding my money and turning it in. :-)

Room Tip: Pick beach side...great view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed this weekend for the Triathlon. This is an absolutely wonder location. Beach out the back door, a block from town with the restaurants and shops. Hope to make it back soon

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Does this hotel even have standards?

The room smelled like sweaty armpits. The rate was $150 a night and extremely overpriced.

The bed was uncomfortable, the pillows were bad. I felt gross touching anything in the room.

I was in town on a business trip. I was suppose to stay 4 nights, I checked out IMMEDIATELY.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stayed here for 2 days... WORST EXPERIENCE EVER. We called to get double rooms, they said they didn't have any ? So we got one room.. we found out there were double rooms.... The place looked like a nursing home, and smelled DISGUSTING. the beach is gross and the birds will attack you. I put my feet in the water.. the next day me and a couple other people had WARTS on our feet and hands. Downtown is ugly, theres like 2 shops opened .. everything closes at like 7 and its so trashy and old. The food is horrible. The doors are broken ? You can get into the pool from the side door, so ANYONE can really swim. The workers are mean, The pool is dirty and filled with chlorine. The arcade machines are broken,. The gym is ugly and the equipment is old, the whole place is dirty and it SMELLS. The matresses were from like 1760, DONT STAY HERE. It's terrible and so is the service. Trashy town.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

This place is very dirty and stinky.....There seems to be a pattern at this place and it's called "make up any excuse to justify the price and the dirty rooms".... We stayed in a room that had a pull out "bed" and a dble bed. Well, the pull out beds' mattress was from 1986. Unreal. It felt and smelled like that too. The wallpaper was falling down, the bathroom looked like a 12yr old caulked it, the outside needed to be hosed down (the fish flies, spiders and whatever else were nasty). I wonder where they could get water for that? oh that's right, they are 10ft from water.
We decided to eat there and WOW again... It took forever for the food. I wish I would have gone across the street earlier.
- Somebody was telling us that in feb they charge $200 a night for perchville. Really? They get people to do that?
- The people there don't have a clue how customer service works. I think the people that work there have no background on how to deal with "issues". Just give the customer an excuse.
- It's not the holiday inn of years past. These new owners just kept whatever the Holiday Inn left behind 25 yrs ago....
Overall - This place is good for 20 somethings that need a pillow and room for there 6 friends. It needs an overhaul top to bottom but not sure the owners want to do that. They have a gold mine that's on the water and they can't keep people there to eat there food or come again.....
Once again..NOT for a family get-a-away but for college aged kids that don't really care what the place looks like
I am for sure going to be looking at the resorts all along US-23 in Tawas next year. They will have a cabin feel and still in walking distance to downtown AND a cleaner beach.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyandotte, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Stayed here as a stop on the way to somewhere else, with our grandchildren.. Booked the room even though it was too pricey for a Wednesday nite( They comped us $40.00 when we questioned the rate). When we got to the room (across from the laundry) we found it very dark and outdated. Granddaugther said it smelled like dirty arm pits. Assummed the room was just shut up too long.Turned on air and left for a while. Turns out that the air conditioner had been leaking onto the carpet for quite a while( ??MOLD). When we complained about the wet carpet in the morning, (they already knew) they gave us 15% off breakfast ( That took along time to get for a basically empty restarant). Only good thing about this place was the pool and hot tub!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tawas Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tawas Bay Beach Resort

Address: 300 East Bay Street, East Tawas, MI 48730 (Formerly "Holiday Inn")
Location: United States > Michigan > East Tawas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in East Tawas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a full service resort on Lake Huron. We have 101 rooms, a beach bar with live entertainment in season, a restaurant and lounge open year around, and 600 feet of clean sand beach. We also hold beach weddings and receptions and many business meetings each year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Tawas Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tawas Bay Beach Hotel East Tawas
Tawas Bay Beach East

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tawas Bay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.