We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot dogs and hot dog accessories” 4 of 5 stars
Review of What Up Dawg

What Up Dawg
317 M.A.C, East Lansing, MI 48823
(517) 351-3294
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #78 of 176 Restaurants in East Lansing
Restaurant details
Lansing, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Hot dogs and hot dog accessories”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

What Up Dawg is just what every college town in America needs. A dive joint that does one thing really well. Best hot dogs around in every style imaginable. They also use a ton of quality Michigan made items with Koegel, Dearborn, and Kowalski meats all represented along with a large selection of Faygo pop to wash it all down. If you'd rather have a beer with your grilled meat of choice, they've got you covered with a great tap filled with local beer.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    4
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gahanna, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Too large of a group”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Good food, but we brought too large of a group for the space. The staff were very friendly and worked hard to accommodate the rush that we brought upon them with our larger group. They seem like they are usually busy as it is.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Affordable, fun, deserves more attention”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

What Up Dawg is THE place to go for hot dogs and hot dog related products in East Lansing. The people that work there are awesome. The hot dogs are huge, delicious, and fairly priced. They regularly hold hot dog eating challenges, but no one's managed to beat their challenge yet.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Rather than eat hotel food (buffet style) again, we tried this little "hole in the wall" place across from the East Lansing Marriott. Not much to look at, but the Hot dogs were GREAT!!! the place had a good selection of local beers. A good variety of dogs to choose from, the staff was friendly and knowlegeable and gave up good advice on what to try, beer and hot dog wise. We plan to stop again when we are back in the neighborhood.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed What Up Dawg also viewed

 
East Lansing, MI
 

Been to What Up Dawg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage What Up Dawg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.