We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sub-Par” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 University/ East Lansing

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 University/ East Lansing to your Saves list
Super 8 University/ East Lansing
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2736 E Grand River Ave, East Lansing, MI 48823   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in East Lansing
Highland
1 review
“Sub-Par”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The comforters were stained, the bath tubs were dirty and the Rooms smelled of smoke. Also, we had two rooms and neither of the front doors shut properly. We are recent college grads and were STILL disgusted. They need new everything!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    15
    7
    17
    62
See reviews for
30
17
19
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Michigan, Usa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Super 8 is a basic hotel that meets our needs very well. The hotel staff are very friendly. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The location is excellent and the price is reasonable compared to some of the surrounding hotels. There is a CATA bus pick up very close to the hotel that makes it convenient to get to MSU for events. Party store and restaurants nearby. Never had a bad experience at Super 8.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I should have known better- Super 8 doesn't email confirmations. This is a major problem. I thought I was stealing a room at $59.99+tax for a game weekend (MSU/U of M.) I received the rate by calling the hotel DIRECT (this was not some internet scam, etc.) I spoke at length with the hotel clerk about their bus service, location, etc. I booked in April of this year. When I arrived at the hotel, they had no record of my reservation. The confirmation number I was provided in April was only 5 numbers- they claim it should have been 9. Bottom line- no room. They had a jacuzzi suite for $169+tax and had no interest in working with me for a better rate. I had to cut my trip short as no other hotels could accommodate both Fri/Sat stay. Very upset to say the least. The one positive is that it was probably good that I didn't stay there. Lobby, outside looked very dirty / unkept. I also witnessed another guest complain about the cleanliness (lack of) in their room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

the bathroom was a little surprising -
no mirror in above the sink!
the mirror in the alcove did not provide an easy time for my husband to shave -
at least two bath towels per person would have been nice -
especially since they were quite small

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

King bed ... didn't even ask what we wanted ... handicap room (which we did not ask for) no place to hang clothes not even a nail ... no coffee maker ... no washcloths and the price $79 a night was outrageous. We are not picky but this was ridiculous......

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 University/ East Lansing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 University/ East Lansing

Address: 2736 E Grand River Ave, East Lansing, MI 48823
Location: United States > Michigan > East Lansing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in East Lansing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Super 8 University/ East Lansing 1.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 University/ East Lansing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 University/ East Lansing Hotel East Lansing
Super 8 East Lansing
East Lansing Super 8
East Lansing Super Eight
Super Eight East Lansing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 University/ East Lansing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.