We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel...TERRIBLE water pressure!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3545 Forest Road, East Lansing, MI 48910   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in East Lansing
Grand Traverse County, Michigan
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel...TERRIBLE water pressure!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I stayed here for one night as my "normal" Lansing hotel was booked. All in all it was not a bad place. The water pressure in the shower was TERRIBLE. The other little things that bugged me were to start with there was no coffee available in the lobby. I like to get a cup on my way out the door and there was none to be found. Yes, there is a coffee maker in the room though. Another LITTLE issue was there are no outlets near the bed on the night stand. Most places have lamps on the night stands that have power outlets. The last gripe was the wireless internet was really slow.

The rooms were clean and the beds and pillows were very comfortable. It has a great sleeping atmosphere!

Room Tip: I was on the first floor (rooms numbered in the 200 range).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scout09, Manager at Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank-you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Candlewood Suites - Lansing MI. It is my hope that you will give us another opportunity and that the Candlewood Suites can become your "normal" hotel when you travel to Lansing.
Any concerns that our brought to our attention are looked in to immediately as your satisfaction is the most important thing.
I regret that our staff did not inform you of the complimentary coffee we have in our little store located in the lobby. You can also find a variety of snack and food items at reasonable prices, but the coffee is always available and complimentary. I have brought the concerns of water pressure to the attention of our engineer who is addressing the problem. If you have an opportunity to contact me at the hotel so I can learn what your room number was, we can see if the pressure was specific to this room as we have not found other issues of water pressure. I have also contacted our internet provider to trouble shoot any internet slowness.
thank-you again for your comments and I hope to welcome you back to the Candlewood Suites - East Lansing.
Sincerely,
Michele L. Uhaze, CHA, CTA
General Manager
517-351-8181 xt 419
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    33
    10
    9
    3
See reviews for
14
12
15
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed here in Feb while in town for a conference. Really liked the convenience of the kitchen. Enjoyed recliner in room. Had a nice view of the golf course and the scenery would probably be great in spring, summer and fall. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scout09, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank-you so much for your positive comments on your recent stay at the Candlewood Suites, East Lansing. We hope that you will once again be able to stay at the Candlewood and yes, it is beautiful with all the flowers in the spring and summe
Myself or any of the staff here at the Candlewood Suites would be happy to assist you with any future reservations.
Sincerely,
Michele L. Uhaze, CHA, CTA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I won a hotwire bid for this reservation...when i looked online i was skeptical...the pics looked outdated BUT the place was great! Newer tv's, the kitchen is bonus, clean and comfy bed...i was expecting disappointment and ended up being thrilled! I would stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scout09, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank-you so much for your comments on your stay at the Candlewood Suites, Lansing MI. I am delighted that you were thrilled with your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Candlewood when you return to the area.

Sincerely,
Michele L. Uhaze
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I had a nice stay here last month. My friend was married at the University Club which was connected to the hotel (a big plus). Our check-in was a little rough since there was another wedding party checking in and the rooms had not yet been cleaned. We had to wait over an hour for our room, but the general manager was very nice and provided us some sweets for our wait which was very nice. One word of warning, the pull out bed in the suites is a twin.

Room Tip: The larger suites have a pull-out bed, but it is a twin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scout09, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank-you so much for your comments that you had a nice stay at the Candlewood Suites at MSU.
I am so sorry you had to wait to check in to your guest rooms and I am delighted that you enjoyed my offering of our fresh baked cookies.
I hope that if you are in the area again, you will once again chose to stay at the Candlewood Suites.

Sincerely,
Michele L. Uhaze
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morris illinois
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Very disappointed from the moment we stepped into the lobby. Our room was located righ next to the laundry room and all we could hear was the humming off the dryers and the loud mouths of the employees. Our view was the underneath of bridge just 20ft from the window. The place was filthy and had a terrible odor. I have never stayed at such a disgusting place and I cant believe all the positive reviews you people must have never stayed at a nice hotel before. Stay as far as you can from this place!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear wesnbec8998,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. My apologies for the inconvenience you experienced with the noise and the condition of our property. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I love the Candlewood Suites chain; have never had a bad experience when staying with them all over the country. But this place was amazing! The hotel is on the Michigan State campus right next to a golf course; really beautiful. The hotel common areas are bright, colorful, and extremely clean. There were several luggage trolleys available at all hours. Oh, and the staff couldn't have been better -- helpful, very nice, and often very funny! I'd go back here in a heartbreat! Five-star accomodations at a three-star price...or less! :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Had a very pleasant 2 night stay here last week. Each room is a mini-suite with a full kitchen. Ours was all in one room, but that was fine. The rooms have a nice recliner in the corner, free Wi-Fi of course, and even included a package of microwave popcorn in the oven. Our stay was enhanced by the particularly nice staff. Kudos to them. Guests may also eat at the Univ. Club which is all attached in one complex. That was a plus and the food was excellent. The dining room overlooks the pools and the golf course for ambiance, and the waitress we had for Saturday breakfast was also particularly pleasant and helpful. We were there for a wedding which was held on premise, so it was very convenient to celebrate, and then just walk a couple of hundred yards back our room. Worth a stay even if you're just passing through for a one nighter.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U

Address: 3545 Forest Road, East Lansing, MI 48910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > East Lansing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in East Lansing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! The Candlewood Suites Hotel East Lansing-a Quality Excellence Award winner for 2 consecutive years-is located on the Michigan State University (MSU) campus and is attached to the James B. Henry Center for Executive Development, a state-of-the-art conference and convention facility and the prestigious University Club of MSU. The Candlewood Suites Hotel East Lansing is conveniently located just a few minutes from the Michigan State Capitol, downtown Lansing, Michigan State University, The Wharton Center for performing Arts and Forest Akers Golf Course. With our excellent location with our friendly and relaxing atmosphere, the Candlewood Suites Hotel East Lansing is the best choice for the business traveler. The hotel, which is now a 100% smoke free environment offers high-speed Internet access, our signature Candlewood Cupboard (convenience store), complimentary laundry facility, a quaint fitness center or access to the University Club Full Service Fitness Facility. Pets are welcome (additional fee applies). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites - East Lansing m.s.u Hotel East Lansing
Candlewood East Lansing
East Lansing Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.