We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pick another hotel! Stay here at your own risk!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Dundee - Waterpark

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Dundee - Waterpark to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Dundee - Waterpark
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 White Tail Drive, Dundee, MI 48131   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Dundee
michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pick another hotel! Stay here at your own risk!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

I am sorry to say that this hotel doesn't care one bit about its guests. I have never slept on beds so uncomfortable in my life. When we tried to talk to the manager about the trouble, we were told they were aware of the problem and that the hotel was planning on replacing all of the matresses at the end of the summer. I found it funny that in all of the rooms there is a sign quoting Holiday Inn's Hospitality Promise. If they can't fix the problem, you don't pay for that part of your stay. I wonder how much a nights sleep is worth? Not only did the manager NOT offer to move us to a different room to see if the beds would be more comfortable (the hotel was less than 25% full during our stay), when we asked for an 800 number to call in a customer service complaint, she told me to find one on the internet when we returned home because she didn't know the number. The hotel is clean enough and the decorations are okay, so if you are not concerned with comfort then you will be fine. However, be aware of the value, or lack thereof. You can't check-in until late afternoon and the waterpark closes promptly at 10pm, even on weekends. By the time we got unpacked and all of the kids were dressed to swim, they only had two hours in the water at most since we also had to stop to have a dinner. For $145.00 we could have stayed at home and purchased water park passes that would have given us a full day of swimming. One last thing, older children are not going to get much out of this waterpark. The younger kids seem to love it, but it is a VERY small water park. One good thing, I was very impressed with the attentiveness of the lifeguards.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    50
    35
    11
    10
See reviews for
86
11
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, MI
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

My two children (8 & 9 years) and I stayed at the Holiday Inn / Splash Universe on a Thursday night. The hotel was easy to find, and all of the staff were extremely friendly. The room was very clean and basic, and we enjoyed the in-room DVD player once the water park closed for the night. The free breakfast was very nice, as were the staff assisting guests there. It was a very family friendly place.

The water park itself was smaller that many of the Michigan places we have been to like Great Wolf, but it had everything we needed. It was not real busy, especially since Friday was a school day and that made it exceptionally nice. As we were leaving at 5, it was getting pretty busy w/ birthday parties, and I am thinking I wouldn't go there on a weekend because of that. My son also delveoped a rash after leaving, but I am guessing that spending 8 hours at the park w/o a shower led to that problem, as neither my daughter or I experienced anything. The little snack bar was great and reasonably priced - we didn't have to leave at all to eat and the selections were great. All in all, it was a great little get away!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2009

We took our family here for my son's 12th birthday. There were 5 of us and we stayed in the family fun suite. We could not have asked for a better experience. It was wonderful. The kids had their own bunk bed room with their own tv. Everyone had their own little get away. The water park and arcade was super fun, we had a blast! There is something for all ages. We will for sure be going back!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2009

My husband and kids came to visit while I was working in Michigan (1/09). We had heard from others that the waterpark was small and the hotel could be noisy but we had a great experience. My 1 and 5 year old loved it! They had a wonderful experience from the time they walked in the lobby and saw all the "dead stuffed animals" on the walls and ceiling. The hotel and room decor fits in with the Cabela store next store. The waterpark was smaller then others we have been to but perfect for a 1 and 5 year old. The restaurant on site served pizza and decent beer and wine so everyone was happy. Ideally we would have wanted a 2 queen room but they were booked so we booked a king with a pull out couch. The hotel called the day of our reservation to let us know they had the room we requested available. I was impressed that they bothered to call. My husband said breakfast was very crowded in the mornings but there was a sign in the room warning that it would be and to go as early as your could. I had read other reviews and was prepared for the noise and crowds and would just say that is what we expected going to a hotel and water park that is geared to kids.

Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2009

Very Disappointing! Having been to a number of hotel/waterparks I can honestly say that I will never go back to this one.

We went January 23-25, 2009. Friday night the Dundee Elementary school was there. According to one employee this was an additional 325 people. We were tripping over winter boots, coats, etc trying to get into the pool area. On Saturday the 24th was all the local boy scout/cub scouts troops and well as a number of birthday parties. Overly crowded!! Did I mention that these groups were not staying at the hotel just using the waterpark.

The Lazy River resembled a salmon run at its peak!! Couldn't use (or even find) a tube to save your life!!

I paid $189/night plus tax and couldn't even find a table around the pool area to even sit down and have a snack - the food in the pool area marginal.

I will give them credit - the rooms were very clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The food in the pub was very good.

They need to limit the "outside" guests - meaning those not staying in the hotel and do a little more focusing on the hotel guests. Possible limit the outsider from 9am - 3pm and then after 3pm for hotel gusts only. Because I am paying $189 or more per night.

  • Liked — Nice rooms
  • Disliked — the water park was overly crowded
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2009

the rooms are clean....but, very very hot. beds are comfy. we had the king suite - w/ 1 bunkbed. it is just a room w/ a divider wall. fine. tv in bunk area has no dvd. dvd is w/ main bed. frig and coffee maker in room. good shower.

noisy family above us....very noisy. mgmnt not very helpful.

waterpark is small. which is good in the sense that i didnt have to go in and worry for safety reasons. they make it seem larger on webiste though.

arcade is nice size also. typical arcade w/ typical junk to win. good cold labatts draft at treehouse. but, nonetheless, the arcade is just fine.

didnt eat there. went to scope out breakfast...opted to go to bobevans which is right across the way.

got take out from riverside pizza. okay. not bad.

all for families. could not imagine any person over the age of 17 without kids wanting to stay here though.

i think that about sums it up for this one.

i dont like waterparks, but, since it is small, it served its purpose for the kids.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, MI
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2008

I've stayed here a couple of time (business and pleasure). When school is in session the water park is not open, but the hotel is nice nontheless. There is no hot tub in the "regular" pool area. There also is not a business center- so you can't print boarding passes. I asked if front desk had any hand lotion - told that they did not. I was surprised as most HIE have well stocked toiletries at the desk. Breakfast is OK, slightly below average for a HIE as far as selection. No flavored creamer for coffee- missing little things like that. the room itself had a rattling heater, but staff moved me to another room with no question. Beware that the queen "suite" is just a room with two queen beds. They do have other types of suites that are bigger with multiple rooms, etc. Overall, very clean room, nice staff, safe feeling. There are a couple of restaurants walking distance and Cabella's, but not much else. Internet worked fine. When I stayed here with extended family for water park fun, that was fun too. Waterpark is medium sized among the parks in MI. Bigger kids would probably get bored pretty quick, but little ones are well entertained.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Dundee - Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dundee - Waterpark

Address: 100 White Tail Drive, Dundee, MI 48131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Dundee - Waterpark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests must purchase Water Park Package Rate to access Splash Universe. No other rates apply. The water park will be closed certain days in April, May & June. Call hotel for hours and days of operation.The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites and Splash Universe Water Park Resort is located right next to Cabela s and designed to mirror and complement the great outdoors signature of the world s foremost outfitter. Ideal for those traveling on business or the vacation-minded family looking for an exciting getaway, Splash Universe is a year-round destination. The resort features: 163 themed guest rooms and suites, Shooting Star Arcade, The Trading Post Gift Shop, The Tree House Pub & Grub Restaurant and individual party rooms, ideal for any type of Splash Celebration. The resort also features over 70 bunk bed suites including a separate TV in the bunk area, refrigerators, microwaves, DVD players and much, more! The Splash Universe Indoor Water Park features: Goldmine Adventure Water Slides, Hot Springs Adult Hot Tub, a Lazy River, a zero entry Lil Squirt Pool, and Treehouse Water Fun play area. After a long day of work or play, have a seat & enjoy dinner in the adjoining Tree House Pub & Grub overlooking the water park.The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is located near downtown Historic Dundee. Dundee offers many shops including Swan Creek Candle Co. and St. Julian Winery. The hotel is also located near many company offices & plants with local and regional bases. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Dundee - Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express - Dundee Hotel Dundee
Holiday Inn Dundee
Dundee Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Dundee - Waterpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.