We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT people - property needs a little boost” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baymont Inn & Suites Dowagiac

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Baymont Inn & Suites Dowagiac to your Saves list
Baymont Inn & Suites Dowagiac
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29291 Amerihost Drive, M51 & M62, Dowagiac, MI 49047   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dowagiac
Orlando, Fl
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“GREAT people - property needs a little boost”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Kristen and Sandy are wonderful. You know they will do ANYthing for you. Like Judy R said, it is a shame the owners are not doing more to keep the property up. It was just renovated a few years ago and already is pretty run down already. The halls have that "old apartment buidling smell (food, etc)", but the room was a good size, clean and odor free. AC Some new carpets and fixing up the fixtures would go a long way. The internet service is great. There is an indoor pool, but it is pretty shabby looking as well. It was clean enough; the kids were fine.

Dowagiac is one of the NICEST towns we have ever been to. We hit the 1,000 mile mark on our roadtrip today ~ if we can ever get back to this region, we will definitely stop here.

Room Tip: If stairs are a problem, be sure to reserve a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourWorldTraveler123, Owner at Baymont Inn & Suites Dowagiac, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Thank you for the feedback. Our hotel staff is well trained, knowledgeable of events, and resourceful. We apologize you were not completely satisfied with the upkeep of the property. We do our best to thoroughly maintain the facilities and have a line up of improvements scheduled for the next 18 months. The hotel is in a nice quaint town with a local flare and country like setting next to many fruit farms and wineries. We look forward to accommodating your group in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    27
    37
    26
    31
See reviews for
55
32
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shakopee
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

First of all I want to say the staff was very friendly and helpful. The problem seems to be either in maintenance or no money being invested in the upkeep of this property.

This was our 3rd stay at the Baymont Inn in Dowagiac. The first was almost 3 years ago. Our toilet leaked and the toilet seat was broken and the maintenance person did not know how to repair it and took several hours. The second visit was March 2012, the place was very noisy, lot of door slamming and I agree with a previous client about the pounding of feet on the stairs and the second floor. Our 3rd visit was this June 1 and 2, 2012 and we asked for 2nd floor hoping it would be quieter. If money is being put into the property and updating, it is NOT evident.

The bathroom was very dirty around the outside and the cover
The refrigerator didn't work
Only 1/2 tv channels worked
Spa did not heat OR circulate
Pool was warm the first day and COLD and not circulating the 2nd day
The vending machines did not work except to give your money back
The decaf coffee was cold even though the manager said she had just made it an hour ago, and had purchased a new decanter because the coffee was cold the week before as well
The cold water decanter was empty and had no glasses in the breakfast area.
The water fountains in the pool area, one worked, the other did not and had a bunch of screws laying in it.

Our family at this visit had a total of 6 rooms. It was very disappointing as we were looking forward to a fun family vacation. I am not sure any of us would look at staying here again, and will probably have to travel 1/2 away or opt for one of the other properties in town that do not have the amenities we had so hope to enjoy.

.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourWorldTraveler123, Owner at Baymont Inn & Suites Dowagiac, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear Guest - First off, thank you for your honest feedback whether good or bad we want to make sure it is heard with the entire management team. We have shared the issues you mentioned with our maintenance personnel and housekeeping staff to ensure they understand the outstanding issues and negative guest feedback related to cleanliness. We strive to do our best to thoroughly examine all guestrooms after they have been cleaned and make sure everything is functional and cured on the maintenance slip. Sorry for the inconvenience and look forward to accommodating your group in the future. Thank you for the opportunity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, IL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

The best part of this Hotel is the staff, Anna, Kristen and Sandy are the greatest. Very personable girls and very helpful. The rooms were clean. The only thing we did not like was that the jacuzzi in the pool area did not work. It was hot but the jets did not work and that is the reason for a jacuzzi is the relaxing power of the jets. They really need to fix that and it could use a new paint job and trim around jacuzzi and pool. We stayed here because we had a wedding nearby.

Room Tip: King rooms are nice and good size and further end of the hall very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourWorldTraveler123, Owner at Baymont Inn & Suites Dowagiac, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We have completed many renovations and will improve the aesthetics in the pool area as well. As always, our intent and focus is to ensure guests have a pleasant stay at an affordable price. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Great Stay/Great Staff, Sandi the Manager was very helpful with directing me around your town and with all the different dining options..the hotel was clean i will be back..

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourWorldTraveler123, Owner at Baymont Inn & Suites Dowagiac, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Thank you for the candid feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and welcome you to come and visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Staff was nice. Location in the country was what I expected. Price was reasonable. But the place is louder than an open-window room in Times Square. Doors slamming. Floors pounding under feet. I'm not sure what was going on in housekeeping at 1 a.m. But things did settle between about 2:30 a.m. and 5 a.m. No wonder everyone was grumpy in the morning. Sound-proof this place!

Room Tip: Ask to stay as far away from housekeeping and the ice machines as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourWorldTraveler123, Owner at Baymont Inn & Suites Dowagiac, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
The management team appreciates your candid feedback and we strive to ensure guests are satisfied as this remains our priority. We offer significant value with many amenities at an affordable price. It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy your stay as we receive many compliments. Perhaps you will stay again and have a different more positive experience. Thank you for the comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shoreham
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

I learned a 137.00 dollar lesson....whenever you hotwire ..this hotel sticks you in a handicap room with a bed alittle bigger than a twin size , the room smells (like mold) the bathroom is dirty...the hotwire people don not care about making their customers happy...couldn't stay in this flea bag hotel.....save your money...drive down the road to a clean hotel...and don't ever ever use hotwire..they suck!

Room Tip: pick another hotel this one is dirty and smells like mold I left..I refused to stay at such a crapy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourWorldTraveler123, Owner at Baymont Inn & Suites Dowagiac, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Patricia - it is unfortunate you did not enjoy your stay with us. Bookings made through Hotwire cannot be altered by the front desk associates which is why we encourage all guests to book directly through the Baymont Inn brand website for the best rate. We tried to accomodate a different room for you but we were sold out for Notre Dame game weekend. Our hotel is fairly new and well maintained and there has never been any incident of mold in the rooms and is well received by guests. We would love to have you stay again and can offer a 10% discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Iowa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We spent one night at this motel, traveling to the lakefront towns. All the motels in the lakefront towns were either booked or exorbitantly priced, so stayed here. A bit out of the way, but the room was quite nice. We had a whirlpool suite that was spacious, clean and very comfortable, bed was quite comfortable. The pool area is a bit rundown, but the rest of the hotel looked like it had been renovated, especially the room. We considered it a great value for the area, would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourWorldTraveler123, Owner at Baymont Inn & Suites Dowagiac, responded to this review, September 18, 2011
Thank you for the reply. We have recently made numerous upgrades and improvements throughout the hotel premises including a new bedding package. Glad you liked it and we hope to have you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Dowagiac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Dowagiac

Address: 29291 Amerihost Drive, M51 & M62, Dowagiac, MI 49047
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cass County > Dowagiac
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dowagiac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Dowagiac 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Dowagiac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baymont Inn Dowagiac
Dowagiac Baymont Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baymont Inn & Suites Dowagiac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.