We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly relaxing getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sherwood Forest Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Douglas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sherwood Forest Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Sherwood Forest Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
938 Center St, PO Box 315, Douglas, MI 49453   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Douglas B&B and Inns
Toledo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A truly relaxing getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2008

My husband and I have stayed at many B & B's in the midwest and this location stands far above the others. From the porch (with lots on inviting wicker furniture) to our room (with a very comfortable bed and pillows) to the nice breakfast offered each morning - you will not be disappointed. There is an option to have a theraputic massage (in your room) from MaryAnne that is also worth more than the charge. The very clean public beach is within walking distance and is a perfect place to read, walk, and/or watch the sun set. Douglas, MI offers a quaint town with shops and resturants you must see. M&M's billboard is an ice cream cone but do not be mislead - their homemade food offered for lunch and dinner is more than worth your time to stop. If you have room afterwards - their ice cream is scrumptious too!

No question about it - we will be returning again and again and again.

  • Liked — The level of comfort whether on the porch, at the breakfast table, or in our room.
  • Disliked — ???????
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    10
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
4
59
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midwest, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2008

We enjoyed this B&B very much. My husband told me later he was not expecting much from it, because the name seemed so campy to him. But, we were both pleasantly surprised.

The owners are both very kind. They go out of their way for guests. When we arrived, Keith sat us down, with a map of the area, talked with us and then marked places on the map that he thought would be of interest to us. He did this for every guest that I saw.

The rooms, even the smaller ones, are as clean as you can get. And there is enough space, too, even in the smaller ones. The bathrooms can get a little small in the smaller rooms, but they are still nicely appointed. And, I don't spend a lot of time in the bathroom on vacation anyway - if I can help it.

Location is excellent - the lake is a short stroll away. If you tried to rent a nearby house or cottage, even if it is not on the lake, you would pay a lot more than you will if you stay here. Plus, the guidance on places to go nearby provided by Keith and Sue is invaluable.

No need to drag coolers, beach umbrellas and beach chairs along for your trip, if you are going in the summer. All of these are provided. So are bicycles.

Breakfasts were okay - nothing to write home about (except the blueberry french toast, which was really great!). The coffee is strong and good.

We hopped up to Holland and down to South Haven. The Saugatuck/Douglas area is nicer than both. Loved all the art. And, if you go, eat at Everyday People in Douglas. What a great restaurant!!!

  • Liked — location and the hosts
  • Disliked — bed could be more comfortable
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roselle, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2008

I found this place @ bedandbreakfast.com and after checking out some of the reviews from previous clients, we decided to book a last minute stay for a weekend romantic getaway with my husband. Unfortunately, they only had a room available for one night but we decided to book anyway and then transfer to another place for our second night. I am so glad we did because our stay here has been wonderful. Keith and Sue are very gracious hosts. Breakfast was very good. Our room (the tree top room) was clean with a very interesting mural, the whole property is just picture perfect, not to mention close to the beach. We are already planning to come back in the summer with our babies because they even have a separate cottage where they allow pets. Very good place, you will not be disappointed.

  • Liked — Beautiful and Romantic Property
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2008

We stayed at the Sherwood Forest B&B for our honeymoon. The owners gave us a very warm welcome, and were very helpful and courteous throughout our stay. Our room was clean, comfortable, and beautifully decorated, and our breakfast meals were delicious. We will definitely stay there again someday! Although the property is not located in downtown Saugatuck (it is actually in Douglas, about five minutes away), we were pleased by that fact, because the road outside the property is not highly traveled and the atmosphere is peaceful. The property is also a short walk from a nice beach, and a very short drive from Oval Beach.

  • Liked — Beautiful room and beautiful property overall.
  • Stayed June 2004, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2008

My husband and I spent the weekend of Dec. 14, 2007 at Sherwood Forest. We were very impressed with both the inkeepers and the property. We stayed in the Treetop Suite and loved the bed, two sided fireplace and huge jacuzzi tub. It was serene and relaxing to spend time in the suite, which is appointed more like a four star hotel than your average b&b. The inkeepers were extremely knowledgeable about in town shopping, dining, etc. We took all their advice and were pleasantly surprised with each reccomendation they gave us. Breakfast was delicious and plentyful. We can't wait for our next trip to Sherwood Forest!

  • Liked — The room was wonderful and the innkeepers were very knowledgeable.
  • Disliked — not a thing!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2007

Very nice bed and breakfast. Friendly and knowledgable innkeepers. We stayed in the Treetops room which was a good-sized room with a gas fireplace and very comfortable bed. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2007

We went there for our anniversary wanting a romantic getaway from drab Chicago. What we found in Sherwood Forest was more than we had ever expected.
The house itself and the rooms were in the best condition: more than well kept and beautiful. The room we had booked was exactly as was pictured on the site and even better and bigger. Our room and every other area that was commonly used were immaculate! Everything was decorated nicely without the usual tackiness of most other bed and breakfasts. The double sided fireplace combined with the huge jacuzzi was excellent and...toasty.
The breakfast we got was far beyond the standard (and boring) continental fare that may sometimes be inedible. Keith and Sue's breakfast was something we looked forward to. It was actually the thing that got us of bed! They always had something cooked like baked french toast with cinnamon and blueberries (grown locally), or spinach and feta quiche and banana bread along with good multigrain cereal, above average orange juice and amazing coffee.
Keith and Sue were what was greatest about this place. Not only were they extremely accomodating (in terms both of time constraints and dietary preferences), but they went out of their way to ensure we had a good time without being intrusive. They were really knowledgeable about the area and very willing to supply directions, maps and general advice. Their suggestions were also right on! And of course, they were very personable while still respecting our space.
When our final day at the Sherwood Forest came, we did not want to leave. We would recommend (and have already) this place to everybody.
Elsa & Lisa.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sherwood Forest Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Forest Bed and Breakfast

Address: 938 Center St, PO Box 315, Douglas, MI 49453
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian-style, Surrounded by woods, this beautiful home offers antique-furnished guest rooms with private baths, cozy wing chairs and Persian rugs. Two suites available with Jacuzzi-fireplace. Another room sports a hand-painted mural that transforms the room into a canopied tree loft, complemented by gas fireplace. Heated pool, bicycles, 1/2 block to Lake Michigan public beach and spectacular sunsets. In winter, X-country ski or hike wooded paths. Separate cottage also available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sherwood Forest b&b
Sherwood Forest Hotel Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sherwood Forest Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.