We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food & beer!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saugatuck Brewing Company

Saugatuck Brewing Company
2498 Blue Star Highway, Douglas, MI 49406-5195
12698577222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 17 Restaurants in Douglas
Cuisines: Brew Pub
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great food & beer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We were going to go to dinner elsewhere in Douglas, but since the place we wanted to go to was closed (because everything is apparently closed on Tuesdays in the off-season there), we hit up SBC again, but this time for food AND drinks. We got a sampler, and ended up getting a growler of their "True Scot," which was delicious. The red pepper soup was amazing, and although my salad was just ok, my husband's fish & chips was awesome (I may have stolen quite a bit of it). It was trivia night, which we played and were terrible at, but it was fun anyway. Trivia night made it busy, but not crowded, on a snowy night. This is such a great brewery; I wish it were closer, or that I could find their beer out in Ypsilanti!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    69
    26
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint John, Indiana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Beer/Great Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

If you are a beer lover and like good food stop here as you are in the way into town. We had the Mahi Wrap that was very fresh and I sampled two stout's that were very good. We are so glad we stopped for lunch.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecumseh, MI
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food, love being tv free”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband & I were extremely happy with our visit here especially after the really high priced meal we had the night before. We had Irish nachos & they blew us away. We both ordered the Sunday special of chili bread bowls. The bowl was very tasty & the chili was pretty good. It was a little too spicy for my taste but the waitress said it depended on who was cooking. The place wasn't too busy but it was so great to be in a place that didn't have 10 big screens taking away from everything else.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saugtuck Mi
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Brew and Fun times too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We were there for Trivia Night, had a great time participating and watching all the teams compete. Food and brews were great and service too!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catawba Island
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great winter night diversion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We visited this area for just one day and knew we had to stop in when we saw the sign. It was spacious and very clean. Ingrid & Jamison took great care of us and were helpful answering all our questions and suggesting specialties. I especially enjoyed the Singapore IPA. Cant' wait to visit again.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saugatuck Brewing Company also viewed

Douglas, Allegan County
Douglas, Allegan County
 
Douglas, Allegan County
Saugatuck, Allegan County
 

Been to Saugatuck Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saugatuck Brewing Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.