We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the plus side of average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck - Douglas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck - Douglas to your Saves list
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck - Douglas
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2905 Blue Star Highway, Douglas, MI 49406   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Douglas
West Carrollton, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“On the plus side of average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I took a chance on the property, as I had never heard of this chain before. Relying on good reviews, I booked online here. When we arrived, they had us booked for two rooms instead of one. I have to say we were very satisfied with the large, clean room and bathroom. The only minus was that I'd booked a room with a recliner, and there was no recliner in our room. There is no elevator at this property, which can be a problem with heavy luggage. We were on the second floor, and had to go a long distance down the hallway and back downstairs to find an ice machine. The breakfast was really bad! Sausage and eggs were not hot. Ugh! BUT inspite of everything- the actual room was VERY NICE, as was the bathroom. There was a fridge in the room and also a microwave (If I remember correctly). Staff was exceptionally helpful and very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    36
    22
    12
    9
See reviews for
45
51
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed for one night at the end of our holiday. The staff were welcoming and very freindly. We had a problem with our reservation (made by a on-line booking company) and the front desk sorted it very quickly for us.

Nice room, nice breakfast and a good location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck - Douglas, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay with us at AmericInn Hotel of Saugatuck/Douglas. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Through quality training and dedicated staff, we strive to make every guest experience as stress-free and enjoyable as possible.

We welcome you back at anytime and look forward to being of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed at the Americinn while passing through the area and were really happy with our experience. The room was comfortable and clean, with a wonderful bed. The staff was super friendly and always greeted us when we came in. I loved the breakfast option and the spaciousness of the lobby. We even took advantage of the picnic tables outside to relax before we headed downtown.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck - Douglas, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
On behalf of the entire team here at the AmericInn of Douglas, Michigan, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
No matter how modern a property might be, or how updated the amenities, it is the quality of the staff that really makes a difference for each guest and we strive to bring the best customer service experience in the entire area.

Thank you for staying with us, and we'll be happy to see you during your next visit to Saugatuck & Douglas!

Sincerely,

R. Agens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this motel on July 2nd, 2013. The room was very clean and had comfortable beds and updated TV. The price was very good compared to the other motels I had checked on in the area. The staff was friendly and the breakfast was good. I would recommend this motel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck - Douglas, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay with us during the busy July 4th period!
We strive to give the best value and line of amenities in the Saugatuck/Douglas area, and maintain a warm, inviting atmosphere for all of our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we'd love to have you back during your next visit to our lovely towns.

R. Agens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great hotel, great staff, very clean, great pool and hot tube. Great breakfast bar and food. They offer snanks and coffee and juice always which was nice. Only being in my 30s i must say i was very impressed to see expensive handicap machine lifts for the pool and hot tub. I have never seen a hotel that has done this and i am impressed that they would spare the expense to offer this to those who cannot access without this help. The staff were great. Great new restaurants in walking distance.

Room Tip: I say this in alot of my tips. Bring your own pillow. Bed was great but nothing like having a pillow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck - Douglas, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
I am very happy to read that our new ADA Compliant Pool Lifts were of benefit during your stay--we have found that many guests have enjoyed the use, and ease of access to the pool via the lifts, so that each guest may enjoy the same amenities we have to offer.

Thank you again for staying with us, and I hope you had a great visit to the Saugatuck/Douglas area!

R. Agens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We couldn't believe how nice the rooms were for such a reasonable price. The breakfast was even better than some expensive motels that we have stayed in. The best part of this motel was the extremely friendly staff. We just had a bad experience with staff at our last motel, so this was so refreshing for us. There is no elevator and all the suites were upstairs (only complaint), but have found that to be true for most Americinn motels. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck - Douglas, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your encouraging review of your property--I will be sure to pass your comments on to the team!
We also strive to maintain a warm and welcoming atmosphere--one that truly embodies the spirit of the hospitality industry.
While we have a maintained, clean and overall great product to offer our guests, it's the service found within that really makes a difference.

Thank you for your kind review, and if you're ever in the area again, we'd love to have you back!

R. Agens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stefiwefie
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I've stayed at the AmericInn twice--once in the summer at the height of the season and just recently in March when the Saugatuck area is pretty much dead.

Both times we were 2 adults and a toddler, and I have to say, this hotel exceeded expectations. The rooms are roomy, super clean, and comfortable. Nothing luxury, but very nice. The indoor pool is fantastic, as is the location (convenient to Oval Beach, Saugatuck and Douglas). Breakfast is your standard continental breakfast with waffles/eggs, but is convenient and more than suffices.

What makes this hotel so great for the price is its staff. From the reservation to check out, they went above and beyond to accommodate us. I had to call twice before we checked in to ask about cribs, early check in, etc., and the gal on the phone was so pleasant and helpful. Ryan, the manager, was amazing. He made fresh coffee for us when we got in and even let my toddler feed the fish in the lobby each morning!

I definitely recommend this to anyone, especially families.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Douglas
14.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#3 of 18 in Holland
4.5 of 5 stars 480 reviews
14.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Holland
15.8 mi away
Hampton Inn South Haven
Hampton Inn South Haven
#2 of 11 in South Haven
4.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Holland
15.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
11.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Holland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck - Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck - Douglas

Address: 2905 Blue Star Highway, Douglas, MI 49406
Location: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck - Douglas 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, AmericInn Hotels, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck - Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Lodge And Suites Saugatuck _ Douglas
Americinn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck _ Douglas Hotel Douglas
Americinn Hotel Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck - Douglas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.