We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best motel anywhere!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck _ Douglas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck _ Douglas to your Saves list
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck _ Douglas
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2905 Blue Star Highway, Douglas, MI 49406   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Douglas
Three Oaks, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best motel anywhere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have been in cheap motels, expensive motels, and exclusive motels. This one is the best of them all. Good staff, immaculately clean room, cleanliness everywhere, always looks brand new, beautiful pool and hot tub area, comfortable bed and pillows, and good breakfast. We have been here several times, and will definitely return.

Room Tip: For the value, the room with the gas fireplace was fun in the winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck _ Douglas, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
I'm very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and your visit to Saugatuck & Douglas!
Reviews are shared with the entire team here, and your positive comments are definitely appreciated.
We're open year-round, and would love to have you back-there are many late fall/winter events planned throughout both seasons, including corn mazes (which become haunted near Halloween), pumpkin patches and more!


Again, many thanks for staying with us.

Ryan A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    27
    12
    9
    4
See reviews for
27
41
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Catawba Island
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We happened upon this place via bid on Priceline and were glad we did. My wife has wanted me to check out the Saugatuck, MI area ever since she visited there w/girlfriends last summer. We had an extra day as we were within 150 miles and decided to check it out. The place was clean and the staff (Cathy and Ryan) were freindly and helpful. I like to jump in a hot tub whenever it's available and there's is spacious, clean, and great temp. i like it hotter than most and it was perfect! The room was clean and comfortable. It got cold and snowed. The staff was very dilligent at shovellling and salting the entrance for our safety.
We would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We lost power due to the storms, with a dog and 2 cats. they were great---helpful, kind, ----assuring , would highly recommend them!. the room was clean and the free breakfast of eggs, sausage, hot or cold cereal, breads, pastries...great!
They people care and take the time to help!.
Thank you!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastpointe, MI
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Our stay at the Americinn in Douglas was just about perfect. The staff is pleasant, professional and very friendly. Our room - with a Jacuzzi - was a good size, the bed was comfortable, the 42 inch flat panel TV kept us entertained (but not as much as the Jacuzzi, which was a real, relaxing bonus)! Having access to a hot breakfast at the hotel saved us both time and money. If you're staying in the Douglas/Saugatuck area this hotel is prefectly located with easy access to both of the towns and I-196.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck _ Douglas, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for your very positive comments regarding your stay with us, and again, Happy Anniversary!

We strive to create and maintain a clean, welcoming, and constantly friendly environment for all of our guests, and am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our stay.
I would like to remind you that we are open all year round, and would love to have you stay again, and there are many winter events planned, which can be checked at www.saugatuck.com.

Again, thank you for your great review of our property, and I will be sure to pass this on to each hotel staff member as well.

Sincerely,

Ryan A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otsego
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

When we first checked in, the room we were assigned was not made up. I went to front desk to report the problem. The clerk at the front desk jumped right into action and resolved the problem. She resolved the issue very professionally and efficiently. My wife and I were very pleased with the hotel and staff. Top Quality!

Room Tip: I believe any room here would be good. We stayed on second floor close to lobby and did not hear any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana, United States
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We decided to go to Douglas to view their unusual Halloween Parade on Sat. Night bow fore Halloween. This parade is at 10pm-10:45 pm and is an adult event.
We found the that many motels and places in the area required a two night minimum.
We were pleased to find that the rooms are clean and comfortable. There is hot breakfast included, and it was a good bargain price. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Note...there is a nice heated indoor pool, but there is no elevatorwhich we were informed about before we booked a room.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Not many places extend breakfast, but they did. Waffles (that actually tasted good) scrambled eggs, sausage, hard boiled eggs, oatmeal, oatmeal bars, yogurt, donuts, pastries, english muffins, toast, cereal, juice..... excellent!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck _ Douglas, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments, and I am very pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us! After extensive renovations, including an upgraded breakfast buffet, it is encouraging to see that our guests enjoy their stay experience.

Thank you again for staying with us at the AmericInn of Saugatuck/Douglas, and I hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Ryan A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck _ Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck _ Douglas

Address: 2905 Blue Star Highway, Douglas, MI 49406
Location: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck _ Douglas 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, AmericInn Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck _ Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck _ Douglas Hotel Douglas
Americinn Lodge And Suites Saugatuck _ Douglas
Americinn Hotel Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck _ Douglas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.