We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT PLACE TO STAY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck _ Douglas

Save Saved
You added AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck _ Douglas to your Saves list
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck _ Douglas
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck _ Douglas
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2905 Blue Star Highway, Douglas, MI 49406   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Douglas
CARY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE TO STAY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Not many places extend breakfast, but they did. Waffles (that actually tasted good) scrambled eggs, sausage, hard boiled eggs, oatmeal, oatmeal bars, yogurt, donuts, pastries, english muffins, toast, cereal, juice..... excellent!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck _ Douglas, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments, and I am very pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us! After extensive renovations, including an upgraded breakfast buffet, it is encouraging to see that our guests enjoy their stay experience.

Thank you again for staying with us at the AmericInn of Saugatuck/Douglas, and I hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Ryan A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    24
    8
    9
    2
See reviews for
24
34
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Recently stayed two nights, in the area for a wedding. Ryan, the general manager, checked up in and was so accomodating, very professional yet friendly and pleasant. The other desk people were nice as well, even inquiring how the wedding was when we returned from it. Everything was very clean and we love the quietness. Decent breakfast and brought out more food quickly when needed. Pool was nice. Spa had some temperature issues and when I mentioned it to Ryan, he went to check it immediately. There indeed was a problem and he got right on it. We will definitely stay here again in the future as we have family in the area. Less than 5 minutes to everything in Douglas and Saugatuck without the "busy" factor.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor if you have a lot to carry in- there are stairs only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

A girl's get-together weekend. Had two rooms. The staff was excellent!!! Both rooms were nice. The 1 queen bed/sofa room was large for us to all sit together to talk and share looking at the gifts we bought in town. The place was decorated nice. Had a cozy feel to it. Very nice pool area. Easy on-off the expressway. Easy to get to Douglas and Saugatuck's shopping, restaurants, sights, and beautiful Lake Michigan!

Room Tip: No elevator, so request 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for three nights and were very pleased with the whole experience.
The room, pool and common areas were clean and in good repair with a homey atmoshere throuout the whole holel. The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly and the complementary breakfast was better then most with scrabled eggs, saugage, a waffle bar and flavored coffees. The seating area was very attactive but half of the tables were the tall, bar type which were too hard for us older folks to comfortably get up on. However the staff had provided trays so we were able to take our food back to the room to eat more comortably. The staff was knowlegeable about the surrounding area and helpfully gave us tips on fun things to do. A great experience.

Room Tip: The hotel did not have an elevator so if stairs are a problem, ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Indiana
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This is a great alternative to staying at the hotel/motels closer to and in town.Upon entry a big fireplace in lobby with nice sitting area.Front desk was very nice. Nice pool and spa.Nice outside patio by pool. Room was clean and comfortable.It is right off expressway and road into town.Free breakfast. Only two things are that summer prices almost double and have to use car to travel to town and restaraunts. No elevator,have to lug bags up the stairs.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor room when making reservations if you have luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We spent one night at the AmericInn. We've been to Saugatuck/Douglas many times in the past; this was our first stay at this hotel. We found it easily along Blue Star Highway. Very clean, quiet. Did feel a little a bit like a lodge when we first entered - fireplace with sitting area to the right, dining area with plenty of tables for breakfast on the left, and stairs leading to the second floor just beyond the dining area. Looked very comfortable. We arrived late and I really wanted something warm to drink and hot tea was available. Nice touch. We were booked on the second floor...and no elevator. No problem; we don't mind stairs. But at breakfast the next morning I noticed an elderly man struggling with his luggage going down the stairs. The hotel manager noticed right away and helped him with his bags. Which made me rethink the need for an elevator. Other than that, our room was clean and spacious. No odors, just smelled "neutral" without the scents of cleaners, smoke, etc. Bed and pillows comfortable. Breakfast was good: eggs, sausage, toast, cold cereals, pastries, coffee, juice. Dining area was tidied up regularly as patrons came and went. Staff helpful and friendly. Altogether, I would definitely recommend this hotel versus other chain hotels in the immediate area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck _ Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck _ Douglas

Address: 2905 Blue Star Highway, Douglas, MI 49406
Location: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck _ Douglas 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, AmericInn Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck _ Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Lodge And Suites Saugatuck _ Douglas
Americinn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck _ Douglas Hotel Douglas
Americinn Hotel Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck _ Douglas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.