We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value in Downtown Detroit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Detroit Regency Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Detroit Regency Hotel to your Saves list
Detroit Regency Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1999 East Jefferson Avenue, Detroit, MI 48207   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Detroit
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Value in Downtown Detroit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stay at this hotel at least once a month when attending sporting events. The rooms are a good size and have always been clean. The staff are great and very accommodating. The free shuttle to the stadiums is a great perk and they provide free parking. I will continue to use this hotel and will recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    22
    13
    9
    18
See reviews for
8
14
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

For a couple of guys traveling to the World Series and looking for a hotel close to Toger Stadium, cheap, this worked, but barely...there were mystery stains on the sheets and unfortunately I had nothing to do with them. Then there was the neighborhood...rough. Then there was the guy in the hallway on speakerphone at 5AM trying to connect with an "Escort". Do I need to go on??

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Detroit Regency Hotel for 1 night in October 2012 on the ground floor. Understanding that this hotel is rated as a 2 star, we were not expecting the Hyatt but what we found when we checked in was so far below expectations of even a 2 star hotel that this place should be rated a SUB 1 star! The room was absolutely filthy, had burn marks on the carpet from both cigarettes and irons, thick layers of dust on every surface, hair on the bathroom floor and the "clean" towels, and cigarette burns on the sheets! It had this awful damp, mouldy smell. We had to find a Target to purchase our own pillows because the place was so disgusting that we didn't want to sleep on the pillows on the bed. We wore our shoes the entire time we were in the room because the carpet was so stained that we didn't want to walk on it with our socks. The place was crawling with drunk, questionable people in the lobby and parking lot all night, something hotel security should have been able to manage. There were people yelling in the hallway in the middle of the night, and at one point we heard our doorknob being turned. If it hadn't been for the safety concern with the parking lot, I think we would have slept in the car. We booked through expedia.ca and expected that they would have done their due diligence when advertising a star rating and providing photos of the hotel. The actual room looked NOTHING like what the photos are on expedia.ca OR on Tripadvisor, nor was it even close to a 2 star facility! Maybe some of the rooms have been renovated to look like the photos on tripadvisor, but I will tell you that the room we stayed in did not even remotely resemble the room in the photos, which look like a luxury boutique compared to what we had. I assume someone from the hotel has posted these pictures. We were very disappointed. After seeing the state of the rooms, we didn't want to eat any food that came from this facility so did not have breakfast at the hotel.

Please feel free to look up other reviews of hotels I have made in the past - when reading reviews on Tripadvisor I always take them with a grain of salt as everyone has different expectations and standards when it comes to hotels. Please know that in no way was I expecting a 4 star hotel, but this was absoultely not a 2 star hotel. We booked this for a one night stay and did not expect the amenities that come with a higher star rating (nor did we need them), all we wanted and were expecting was a simple, clean and safe place to stay. For over $100/night, this was a massive rip off. Spend the extra $50-100 per night and save yourself the grief!

Room Tip: If, for some reason, you do decide to stay here, request a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor. I don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Our group of 12, in town for a Tigers games had to changed rooms for a few reasons and it didn't get much better. The A/C unit after running for an hour didn't work. Maybe because the filter obviously needed to be changed since the early 90's. The long blonde hairs, forcefully smashed into the corner of the nightstand between beds, the large red crusty stain on one of the bedspreads. In the 'new' room we discovered blood on the back of the curtains, scotch tape holding the batteries in to the TV remote, the smoke detector disconnected and hanging from the ceiling and the room smelled like vinegar. When we returned to the hotel around 1:30 AM, there were many people sitting outside the lobby drinking, and what appeared to be hookers 'available' in the lobby. Oh and if you plan to walk barefoot in your room, they will be blackened by the carpet! For the price and proximity to downtown attractions look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Joseph, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Front Desk 2nd shift night manager was very accommodating and helpful at this hotel as was front desk clerk day shift; rooms were reasonable to good; mild dampness and saw bug in bathroom. Given its downtown Detroit, price is reasonable. My complaint: continental breakfast bar clean-up crew made us feel rushed 10 minutes before breakfast bar was over (10am). Understandably, they want to get back to cleaning their rooms/daily routines, but we were unable to get all we wanted from breakfast bar due to her wanting close down bar. My "very good" rating is because of cordiality of frontdesk clerk both night and day.

Room Tip: "make sure rooms properly aired due to dampness/humidity" "watch out for bugs/rodent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This hotel was a 10 compared to the hotel I stayed at the previous week! I was very worried because of the 3 star rating and some of the comments made, but I was pleasantly surprised and relieved to see this place was clean, the staff was nice, it was what you would expect for the price. It's not fancy or anything like that, but it was perfect for what we needed it to be which is a place to rest your head for a few hours before heading home! We stayed here for a concert and we got to check in early and got to catch the free shuttle to downtown which was perfect! Can't say enough, I would definitely stay here again, there were no bugs, spiders or anything like that and the bathroom was clean, the towels were nice and not stained, it was nice.

Room Tip: Our room was 2 steps to the right off the elevator on the 2nd floor, right on the corner and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coopersville, MI
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We booked this hotel because of the free shuttle to the baseball stadium. We booked four rooms for 10 people. Before booking we made sure to ask if the shuttle would be available to take us to the game. Yes, yes the shuttle will be available. When we got to the dump and asked about the shuttle, it was no, no, only on the weekends. The couple that entered behind us also were told there would be a shuttle. The neighborhood was scary. Someone from our party went to the parking lot to smoke a cigarette before bed and mentioned that several people were going in and out of the front door. He thought it looked like drug deals were going on. The "excercise room" consists of an excercise bike and a treadmill in a room the size of a closet with no ventilation. We just opened the door and the smell of sweat and body odor was overwelming. I will some up this reveiw with one word. Ick!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Detroit Regency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Detroit Regency Hotel

Address: 1999 East Jefferson Avenue, Detroit, MI 48207
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Detroit Regency Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Detroit Regency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Detroit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Detroit Regency Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.