We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Atheneum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Atheneum to your Saves list
The Atheneum
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Brush Ave., Greektown, Detroit, MI 48226   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Toronto
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights at Atheneum. Great, friendly staff, especially Vonda, who looked after us on arrival. Valet parking was handy. Large room with all the amenities and lots of food options nearby. Great, great lobby and atrium. Continental breakfast not served on weekends but restaurant adjacent to hotel was great (Louisiana themed, also great atrium). Would and will return.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    98
    39
    15
    21
See reviews for
31
96
18
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I am the type to try something at least once, so even though I had read a few negative reviews I still decided to give this hotel a try. I must say that I really enjoyed my stay. My husband and I stayed in the jacuzzi king suite which was huge and very clean. We were on the fourth floor at the end of the hall and did not hear a peep (besides us) all night. Room service was fast but food was just ok. Overall I would recommend this hotel. It's a bit pricey but on special occassions it is well worth it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This was a quick trip to Detroit for a Red Wing game. We hadn't stayed at this particular hotel in a number of years but my memory of the property was good. We valet parked and it was quick and efficient, even though the valet staff was extremely busy at the time of our arrival. The front desk associate informed of the hotel's complimentary shuttle that would take us anywhere within 5 miles of the hotel and she also suggested several nearby restaurants. Our room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. The room had a large work area, plenty of electrical outlets, a large couch and a flat screen television in the living area. The sleep area had two queen beds, plenty of storage and closet space and another flat screen TV. The bathroom was large and stocked with an array of personal care items. This hotel is located in the heart of Greek Town which is near many of Detroit's most popular attractions and venues. It is a bit of a hike to Joe Louis Areana but there are also many affordable (and free) transportation options. We took one of the free shuttles to Joe Louis Areana and after the game we took the People Mover (75 cents per person) back to Greek Town. I would recommend this hotel for a short stay. The price per room is in the $135 to $200 per night range.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, OH
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were here for the auto show - just stayed one night. Contrary to the other recent reviews, our stay was flawless. The hotel is nice, and we were in a very clean suite that was a good value for the money. The staff were all courteous, we got free shuttle rides to the auto show - no problems at all. The only negative of sorts is the continental breakfast - it is free but is exceedingly limited (smallest breakfast selection I think I've ever seen, actually.) Otherwise, great!

One tip - on some sites it's suggested you can park in the Greektown lot for free rather than pay the $20 valet charge here. This may be true on some occasions, but not during special events (eg the auto show), when they charge $20 as well - so you may as well go with the in/out privileges of this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Michigan
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We usually stay at the Inn on Ferry Street, but our son convinced us to give the Atheneum a try. We checked in on Friday, Dec.28th at around 2:00. The valet, doorman, and desk staff were all cheerful and professional. On a number of occasions the person manning the desk was very helpful with information about locations, directions and transportation information. The rooms are interesting - dark, with lots of glass block and pillars. The bathroom is great, with a huge soaking tub. There are 3-4 stairs from the living room level to the bedroom. We both enjoyed the atmosphere of the suites, the lobby and like having Fishbones restaurant accessible through the hotel. The complimentary shuttle service doesn't run on a particular schedule, so be careful if you're using it to attend a timed event.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Hoping to spend an enjoyable night @ the hotel with my boyfriend.....
Surprised this hotel is listed as a 4 star, on arrival no one offered to help us with our bags. The front desk agent, Radiana did not even look up at us when we checked in. There was no friendly welcome. Our first room wasn't clean so we ended up changing rooms. The rooms are outdated, not very clean, we were awakened to doors slamming all night. There is no security in the hotel to stop random people from walking in off the street. Outside our room someone left chicken bones on the floor. The walls are so thin I heard every orgasm the persons next to us experienced. We would have come out better staying at the Marriott or the casino. The rooms there are clean and updated and quieter. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Atheneum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atheneum

Address: 1000 Brush Ave., Greektown, Detroit, MI 48226
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Detroit
#5 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#8 Family Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Atheneum 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your The Atheneum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Atheneum Hotel Detroit
Atheneum Hotel Detroit
Atheneum Detroit
Atheneum Suite Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Atheneum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.