We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Atheneum

Save Saved
You added The Atheneum to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Atheneum
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Brush Ave., Greektown, Detroit, MI 48226   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Port Huron, Michigan
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is the ceond time we have stayed at the Atheneum in Detroit for a little getaway. The jacuzzi rooms are large and updated. We were given some nice upgrades because we signed up for their "I prefer" program...free parking, one free drink, two breakfast vouchures. It is in beautiful Greektown and we were within a few minutes of the casino. A nice getaway!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    97
    39
    15
    21
See reviews for
30
94
18
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We travelled from London, Ontario to Detroit to see a show at the Masonic Temple. We were unfamiliar with the area and unsure on where to stay for the night. We booked at the Atheneum Hotel based on the fact that the hotel was close to the venue and the price for our one night stay was reasonable and we're glad that we did! The hotel room was huge, the hotel was clean and the staff were great. The hotel is situation within walking distance to a variety of restaurants and night clubs as well as the Greektown Casino, which is worth checking out. We had a great time and we would stay at this hotel again especially considering the price compared to other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Just home from a great weekend in Detroit. The Atheneum Suites hotel was amazing. Beautiful hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our suite was on the 2nd floor and was very spacious and clean. I had brought a small travel fan with me (as I always do when traveling), especially this trip after reading reviews about the noise. We didn't find noise to be an issue. It's downtown Detroit - the noises we heard seemed normal for being in the heart of a city, and not a problem for us. (You could hear an occasional voice, people/traffic on the street, and the People Mover coming & going.) With my fan on low I slept great.

We signed up for the I Prefer program, which gives you free valet parking (awesome).

Honestly what made our experience at The Atheneum was the shuttle driver, Tony! We made use of the free hotel shuttle, which takes you wherever downtown Detroit, within a 5 mile radius of the hotel. Tony was friendly, funny, and will always make me remember this weekend in Detroit with a smile. He's a great person. LOVED his stories while driving through downtown Detroit to & from our show at The Masonic. We'd been instructed to call the hotel when the show was over, and they'd page Tony to come pick us up. When the show was over we walked outside to call the hotel for our ride, and instead saw Tony sitting out front in the shuttle already waiting, hanging out the driver's side window smiling and waving us over. :)

We ate at Fishbone's, which is attached to the hotel. Awesome Gumbo Ya Ya & Shrimp Po Boy; hubby said his burger was great & onion rings good. Service was good.

Had a great time overall & we'll be back to The Atheneum.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Spent a wonderful weekend in Greektown. The hotel is beautiful and we had excellent service, even on a busy weekend.

It's close to the casino which is great in inclimate weather (which we were in). But the room itself is very nice and spacious. Short trip from Cleveland and it was nice getaway weekend.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I stayed Friday and Saturday night. While the location and rooms were great, our non-smoking room smelled very strongly of smoke. Also, the walls were very thin and I was woken up by people in the rooms next to us both nights. You could even hear a person cough. I was on the 5th floor and you could also hear the traffic and people mover outside as well.

Valet parking is the only choice and Fishbones their restaurant is good. The front desk did take off the cost of the parking ($40) for compensation for my trouble sleeping.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is place is masquerading as a luxury hotel. It has a large lobby with large murals, shiny surfaces, marble bathrooms, etc. Yet, nothing is really well made or well designed. In our room (granted very large), the remotes needed batteries, the upholstery on the sofa was some kind of plasticized fabric that made noise whenever you shifted your weight, the floor tiles and counters in the bathroom were Cracked and had multiple repairs. The breakfast was an absolute joke. There were four boxes of cereal and some cellophane wrapped muffins.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This was our first time at the Atheneum. We could not have asked for better accommodations and service, but if you're planning on getting much sleep, you may be disappointed. Our room was on the 5th floor and the amount of noise coming from outside was horrible.All sorts of street noise, yelling, cars honking, etc. The windows must have been poorly insulated or something because it sounded like people were right outside our window. It finally got quiet after about 2:30am. We loved everything about the hotel but were VERY disappointed about all the noise and the lack of sleep.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Atheneum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atheneum

Address: 1000 Brush Ave., Greektown, Detroit, MI 48226
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Detroit
#5 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#7 Family Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Atheneum 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Atheneum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Atheneum Hotel Detroit
Atheneum Hotel Detroit
Atheneum Detroit
Atheneum Suite Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Atheneum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;