We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Then Expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport to your Saves list
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2501 Worldgateway Place, Detroit, MI 48242   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Better Then Expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here one night for an early flight to Cancun second last week of August. The hotel was excellent. Easy to find, valet was ready to assist, check in was fast and our bags were delivered quickly. We had a tarmac view which was very interesting to watch the planes. Had dinner at Dema which we also enjoyed, good food and fair prices. Booked the parking package and on our return called valet and our suv was brought quickly. Airport hotels seem hit or miss but the westin was fantastic, much better than expected.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ted1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The food at the bar is always great and Kim remembers everyone's name! This hotel is always comfortable and the folks are so helpful. Rooms are great and new waterfall showers are a great addition.

Only comment is the room service guy in the AM was kind of creepy.

Room Tip: They are all quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Looksee13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Great feedback - thanks so much! Kim in our Dema Lounge is a true treasure and she does remember everybody! I'm certainly curious about your last comment and would be eager to hear more details. If available, could you please reach out to me directly to discuss at paul.dinapoli@westin .com.

Sincerely,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

A beautiful property amidst the heart of DTW.

The open air atrium lobby is serene with the large reflecting pool and glass elevators.

The rooms are everything I'd expect from Westin.

The shower had a large rain shower type head, along with handheld sprayer.

Starbucks Coffee in the room, and an ample and healthy breakfast in the club lounge.

I'll be back!

Room Tip: I had a room overlooking the A Gates at DTW. Thick double pane windows assured a great view of the T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FQTV_IT_Nurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we're glad you've decided to return. Please be sure to let us know if we can ever do anything special for you next time.

See you soon!

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
68 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

There is only one reason for staying in this hotel: you are flying in or out late or early!
The location is excellent for Delta flights as it is physically IN the terminal from Oct 31st there will be a direct dedicated line to security from the airport (great!).

Hotels rooms are pleasant. I would ask for a runway view as my 3rd floor view of the service area was pretty dull, and I see the runway pics are much nicer. Only criticism is the room smelled slightly of smoke (I am not sure if it was a smoking or non-smoking room, but I typically specify non-smoking).

The atrium is impressive and the food/drink is pretty good if a little steep (to be expected, its and Airport AND a Westin!).

You can slightly hear larger planes take off but its not intrusive. Try to avoid rooms at the end of coridoors as people slam the stairwell doors and that is intrusive.

Room Tip: Do not go at the end of a corridor and ask for runway facing for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulo82UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments and I'm glad you enjoyed your time with us. We do have many different room locations and views available and we are always happy to take special requests. We hope to see you again soon.

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We have stayed here a few times before an early morning flight, most recently in August, 2013. The service is excellent, the rooms are clean and modern. Beds are very comfortable. It's everything a top hotel should be, and often the prices are very reasonable. The restaurant in the lobby was fair, and a bit on the expensive side.

There is a separate TSA security line near the hotel lobby, making it very convenient and quick to get into the airport. However, this also prevented us from accessing the stores and restaurants in the airport the night before our flight, because of the need for a boarding pass.

We will be staying here again in the near future. However, because we are not fans of the restaurant, we will likely eat dinner before we arrive at the airport.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 32tza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our service and property. Our Dema Restaurant is also outstanding and has an amazing seasonal menu, however we completely understand if you're interested in a different choice sometimes in the airport terminal.

We're always here to help and we look forward to your next visit.

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddonfield
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed here twice and the second room we had was my favorite. Our room looked over the runway and was interesting to watch. The most amazing part, you didn't hear anything outside. The room was clean and very quiet!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zookeeper5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I walked away from the check-out desk at the Westing Detroit Metropolitan Airport and was at my boarding gate 10 minutes later. It helped that I had printed my boarding pass the night before, that I had no baggage to check, that I have a TSA Precheck that allows me to go right through Security, and that the gate was right on the other side. However, the biggest element was the fact that the Westin is literally located in Delta's terminal at the airport. If you have reason to be in Detroit just for one night, and Delta is your airline of choice, there really isn't any better option than the Westin.

The Westin's location allows you to walk from the Delta terminal gates directly into the hotel if all you have are carry-ons. And once TSA gets the hotel security checkpoint up and running again (October 2013), you can walk right out of the hotel into the terminal. I haven't been to any terminal/hotel combination like this and this can't be beat. If you have business in Detroit or a ball game in Ann Arbor, I don't know why you would choose to stay anywhere else if only for a night.

About the hotel itself, it's a good looking space dominated by a huge, open atrium. You are immediately impressed. The reception area is at one corner, just on the other side of the entrance from the terminal, which makes it convenient. Once checked in, it was an easy elevator ride to the room. The room itself was very much up to Westin's strong standards--a nice space, a great bed, all the amenities that you would expect, and an clean, modern bath.

The negatives? There really is only one place to eat at the hotel, and while it's okay, we're talking about a fairly limited menu. And the hotel's location does not give you the option of stepping out and walking to your choice of restaurants. Also, I was there on a Saturday and in the early afternoon, I needed to print something out. Were it a Delta boarding pass, there were Delta automated kiosks in the lobby where you could just that. This wasn't a boarding pass--it was something that needed to be printed from my personal emails. The business center was closed, so I was directed to a wall at the back of the lobby area where there was a computer. If you wanted to use it, you would have to swipe a credit card and be charged $7.95 for 15 minutes, and if I remember correctly, if you wanted to print something, you would be charged an additional $1.00 per page--or something like that. Outrageous, don't you think--for what is essentially a business hotel? Still, that being my only option, I tried several times to get it to work, but it didn't. I finally gave up and went back to reception to cite the problem. They were good enough to have me step behind the counter, use one of their computers, bring up my email and print my document--with not charge. Others were being allowed to do the same thing. While I appreciate the courtesy of their actions, I wonder why they have the lobby computer to begin with, and why on a Saturday afternoon, the business center was closed (I assume it was since I wasn't directed there).

Those were the only two things I would address regarding Westin's service. Other than that, I had my usual very good stay at the hotel. I find Westin to be one of the more consistently dependable hotel chains not named Four Seasons or Mandarin or Ritz Carlton. Those will charge a lot more but the Westin does a very good job in giving you a viable, much more reasonably price option.

Room Tip: Given that it was a hotel based in the terminal, I can't imagine any room being better than anot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EvenlyOpinionated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
I can't thank you enough for your detailed feedback and I'm glad you enjoyed your time with us. We typically receive amazing commentary about our Dema Restaurant and I'm sure you'll enjoy our seasonal menu changes that will be completed very soon.

We hope to see you very soon.

Thank you,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Detroit
17.9 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
17.5 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#2 of 34 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 stars 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
17.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
18.4 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
Greektown Casino Hotel
#6 of 34 in Detroit
4.0 of 5 stars 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport

Address: 2501 Worldgateway Place, Detroit, MI 48242
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Detroit
#2 Family Hotel in Detroit
#2 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#3 Business Hotel in Detroit
#3 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, located in the new world-class McNamara Terminal, offers a private security entrance, latest technology and Detroit's most stylish & comfortable surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Starwood, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport Hotel Detroit
Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
Detroit Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing