We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Best Choice For DTW Area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport

Save Saved
You added The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2501 Worldgateway Place, Detroit, MI 48242   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 33 hotels in Detroit
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely Best Choice For DTW Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I have been a frequent guest at many of the hotels near Detroit Airport. However, this is the best without any doubt. It is the most convenient hotel for the airport. The staff was very friendly and pleasant. The rooms are qujite comfortable. The heavenly bed is SUPERB! I look forward to many more stays here at this fantastic hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback. We're absolutely thrilled to hear of your amazing experience and we can't wait for you to return.

Sincerely,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    549
    217
    52
    20
    10
See reviews for
154
197
101
314
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Just stayed two nights here and will definitely come back. This hotel is attached right to the airport and is about a 2-3 minute walk from the gates. It also has its own security gate to enter into the airport which saves considerable time. Additionally, there is a side entry into the ticketing area which helps cut time. Rooms were vey spacious, modern and very well maintained. Staff was very friendly. I also commend the room service for how fast they could get the food delivered. The food was a little pricey and limited in choices, but good overall and consistent with other hotel prices. As a traveling tip, very few know that you can go to the front desk and they will get an agent to walk you into the airport to buy food from the many restaurants in the airport itself. Also, for $5 you can get workout clothes and tennis shoes to wear for the gym. If you valet park, Kevin is great - very, very nice guy. There is also a Starbucks downstairs in the lobby and a very well maintained and comfortable lounge/bar and dining restaurant. All the staff here were very friendly. If I could make a suggestion, it would be the difficulty in baggage delivery to the rooms. The hotel is about 15 minutes from Ford Field and Tiger Town which is nice if you want to fly into town to catch a game. Staying here helps save on the hassle of a commute in the morning for flying out, as well.

Room Tip: I prefer the third floor, as this is the same floor that the entry/exit is into the airport and vale...
See more room tips
Green Features: We take advantage of the green incentives the hotel offers. If you elect no room cleaning, you can get 500 additional points for Westin members. The hotel will still bring you towels and coffee, etc., if needed, so don't be afraid to use this to help conserve.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the amazing feedback, especially regarding our Door Attendant Kevin! He's amazing in so many way and we're thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us.

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korea
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel on our way back from Asia. It was clean, the service was great and the rooms are incredibly sound proof. I will definitely be back. Next time I will ask for a room that looks outside instead of the atrium.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We'll be happy to reserve an exterior facing room next time. Both options are great and we're happy to assist. Hope to see you again soon.

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
130 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Westin DTW is a great choice if you need to stay at the Detroit airport. It literally is part of the McNamara Terminal at DTW, which serves all Delta (and only Delta) flights. It has its own TSA security checkpoint, allowing you to step off the hotel elevator and get right in line at security to enter the airport concourse. The hotel has Delta check-in kiosks as well as flight status boards right in the central atrium. Especially if you are taking Delta, the Westin could not be any more convenient. If you are taking another airline, the airport offers a free shuttle from the McNamara Terminal to the North Terminal, about three miles away. I have used that shuttle in the past and found it to be relatively convenient. The hotel itself is as nice as most non-airport Westins. It is either relatively new or else has been immaculately maintained. The rooms are standard Westin rooms, meaning they are comfortable, well furnished, and provided with a number of amenities that make life easier for business travelers (lots of work space, outlets, etc.). I didn’t hear much air traffic from my room, but given how late I arrived and how early I departed, it isn’t likely there were many flights during that brief time. As with any airport hotel, there is no reason at all to stay here if you don’t have to be at the airport, which is too bad, because this Westin is as nice as the hotels I have tried in downtown Detroit. The downside is that it is relatively pricey compared to the other airport hotels located off the airport property, but to me, the convenience factor and the quality differences between this hotel and the others nearby makes the price difference worthwhile.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your detailed feedback. We pride ourslves on the quality of our services (as well as the condition of our property) and we're so happy that you've selected us during your travels. Hope to see you again soon.

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Very courteous checkin and very fast. The decor and cleanliness of both the lobby and rooms are exellent. If you fly out of that terminal, its is VERY convenient. Checkout was quick and courteous as well. I will return for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for being our guest and we're happy to have you return. We look forward to seeing you again.

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saline, MI
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The Park/Sleep/Fly package that the Westin offers is very convenient for us and we enjoy our stay at the hotel. Our room this time looked over the lobby and restaurant and was more spacious then some of the rooms looking out towards the airplanes. The security entrance/exit is not working for us because we arrive too late and leave too early. We ate at the restaurant and while the food is okay, it is nothing special, but it is pricey because of the location and the association with a Westin hotel. I wish they would change their menu occasionally and provide some lighter/smaller items for people who don't want a heavy meal later in the evening. We already booked additional stays at the Westin because of the convenience and the very professional and friendly valet service.

Room Tip: Since we mostly just come to sleep before a flight, any room will do for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We'd always be happy to customize any of our menu selections for you, so please just say the word and we'll be thrilled to assist. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I arrived in Detroit late, and had to leave early, so I opted to stay at the airport. I chose this hotel because it is in the terminal. It is lovely, room was large, clean and peaceful. Really a nice place. It was a blessing not to have to board a bus to get there. There is a security checkpoint right at the hotel, which is convenient, but unfortunately it didn't open early enough for my flight. It was a bit hard to find my way to the regular checkpoint, but there was almost no line, so it was no problem. If you are in transit in Detroit, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Being a "Quiet Oasis" is one of our goals and we're glad you enjoyed your time with us.

Thank you,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport

Address: 2501 Worldgateway Place, Detroit, MI 48242
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Detroit
#1 Business Hotel in Detroit
#2 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#2 Green Hotel in Detroit
#3 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, located in the new world-class McNamara Terminal, offers a private security entrance, latest technology and Detroit's most stylish & comfortable surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Amex, Priceline, Starwood, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport Hotel Detroit
Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
Detroit Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.