We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport to your Saves list
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2501 Worldgateway Place, Detroit, MI 48242   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great Hotel visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Very courteous checkin and very fast. The decor and cleanliness of both the lobby and rooms are exellent. If you fly out of that terminal, its is VERY convenient. Checkout was quick and courteous as well. I will return for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for being our guest and we're happy to have you return. We look forward to seeing you again.

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    289
    67
    29
    12
See reviews for
201
248
113
385
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saline, MI
Level Contributor
61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The Park/Sleep/Fly package that the Westin offers is very convenient for us and we enjoy our stay at the hotel. Our room this time looked over the lobby and restaurant and was more spacious then some of the rooms looking out towards the airplanes. The security entrance/exit is not working for us because we arrive too late and leave too early. We ate at the restaurant and while the food is okay, it is nothing special, but it is pricey because of the location and the association with a Westin hotel. I wish they would change their menu occasionally and provide some lighter/smaller items for people who don't want a heavy meal later in the evening. We already booked additional stays at the Westin because of the convenience and the very professional and friendly valet service.

Room Tip: Since we mostly just come to sleep before a flight, any room will do for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We'd always be happy to customize any of our menu selections for you, so please just say the word and we'll be thrilled to assist. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I arrived in Detroit late, and had to leave early, so I opted to stay at the airport. I chose this hotel because it is in the terminal. It is lovely, room was large, clean and peaceful. Really a nice place. It was a blessing not to have to board a bus to get there. There is a security checkpoint right at the hotel, which is convenient, but unfortunately it didn't open early enough for my flight. It was a bit hard to find my way to the regular checkpoint, but there was almost no line, so it was no problem. If you are in transit in Detroit, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Being a "Quiet Oasis" is one of our goals and we're glad you enjoyed your time with us.

Thank you,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel is clean, modern, and sits comfortably among its Marriott and Hilton peers, in terms of service and quality. My room was neatly appointed, if not a little sloppy in presentation, but everything felt clean and cared-for.

As this is an airport hotel, don't expect much of a view, or nearby nightlife options. I was staying for a convention, which also took place at the hotel. If that's not your scenario, I'd suggest another hotel (perhaps the Westin downtown?), simply for the ease of travel and doing things.

The secret in this hotel, though, is the shortest *direct* security line at the airport.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Special Guest,

Thank you for your commentary. We do offer views that you might enjoy next time, such as a view of the air strip. Please let us know how we can assist you.

Sincerely,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
108 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

As a weekly traveler I've stayed in many airport hotels to make my early morning flight more convenient. Stayed one night at the Westin. Many other hotels (including the Hilton properties, which I am a Diamond member) should take note; really top notch from the classy, quiet and comfortable room, overall classy surroundings, friendly and efficient service, good food and a nice bar area. Shuttle to the North terminal was on time most inportantly! I am traveling to Detroit in a few weeks and will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I'm thrilled that you had a wonderful visit and we can't wait to see you again. Please be sure to say hello when you return!

Sincerely,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Michigan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I checked in for one night prior to an early morning flight. I was presently surprised to see that things were well maintained. I had heard from friends that the hotel was worn down. Also, from the front desk to the restaurant, people were so helpful and friendly! I would choose this hotel again in the future.

Green Features: Recycle bins are placed in each room. Notes left for towel and sheet use to give clients the option to reuse towels and not have linens changed daily!!
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Our associates are the best around and I'm so pleased to here your feedback. We hope to see you again soon.

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Detroit
11.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Detroit-Dearborn
17.5 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#2 of 34 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 stars 764 reviews
17.9 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
18.4 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
Greektown Casino Hotel
#8 of 34 in Detroit
4.0 of 5 stars 746 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport

Address: 2501 Worldgateway Place, Detroit, MI 48242
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Detroit
#1 Family Hotel in Detroit
#2 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#3 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#3 Business Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, located in the new world-class McNamara Terminal, offers a private security entrance, latest technology and Detroit's most stylish & comfortable surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Starwood, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport Hotel Detroit
Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
Detroit Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.