We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite stop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport

Save Saved
You added The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2501 Worldgateway Place, Detroit, MI 48242   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #3 of 33 hotels in Detroit
GreenLeadersGold level
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“My favorite stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I stay here often and the folks who work here are always pleasant and nice. From the bartender who never forgets a name to the front desk staff. Even a 6am when room service comes she is always so pleasant and accommodating. That must be hard considering the hour they have to wake up. Beds are great and new rain water shower heads are a great improvement. Did I mention convenient!!!

Feels like home

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I'm so proud of our team and I'm glad you've enjoyed them. Thanks for the wonderful feedback.

Sincerely,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    561
    231
    54
    22
    10
See reviews for
163
206
101
324
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burt, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This property was lovely in every way. It was clean, the staff was friendly, their restaurant served delicious food, the valet gave in and out priviledges and it was extremely convenient if you are flying in or out of the Detroit airport. I was worried that it would be very noisy because it is right at the airport but we didn't hear any of the plane noise. The only drawback is that some of the rooms look out over the lobby and therefore don't have any natural light coming in. The lobby is beautiful though!

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view of the lobby and don't have natural sunlight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback. Sounds like it couldn't have gone better and we hope to see you again soon,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

After an absolute nightmare with Delta Airlines I had an unexpected overnight in Detroit.
I cannot say enough good things about this property and staff. The woman who checked me in, Rachel Barron was as kind and helpful.

I did not have my luggage because @DeltaAirlines staff will not lift a finger to help passengers due to mechanical problems on an aircraft. Ms. Barron from the Westin provided me with a toothbrush, woolite so I could wash out my underwear, deodorant, etc.

The room was impeccable. It was well appointed, clean, cool and comfortable. There is a reason why I am a SPG gold member, and it was right here tonight at the Westin! Excellent service and a perfect room!

Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Rachel is one of our superstars and I'm Extremely proud of her! So glad we could be here for you and hope to see you soon.

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monteagle, Tennessee
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Got a great deal at the Westin (Club level) and took full advantage of all it provided for our trip. The room size was just average but the luxurious linens and rain showerhead made up for it. We visited the heated, saltwater pool and hot tub for a full uninterrupted hour and enjoyed the complimentary appetizers on the club level along with a variety of breakfast options the next morning. I had anticipated some noise from the activity outside but was happy that our room was very quiet. Since the walkout from the hotel goes straight to the Delta check in counter we saved time and stress of getting to the airport any earlier than we needed to. Not sure what the plastic bamboo in the common area was all about but the water feature was relaxing. We would no doubt stay there again.

Room Tip: Spring for the club level - it is worth seeing the planes coming and going from that high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Anytime a review starts with the word "Great", I know we've accomplished our mission of outstanding service. Can't wait to see you again.

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Top notch Westin. Rooms and common spaces very nice, modern, and clean. Check-in staff very professional and helpful. I went to the hotel bar and it was great. This is now my hotel of choice in Detroit.

Room Tip: Runway view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are thrilled that you have selected us as your hotel of choice in Detroit. That's quite an honor and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

We ordered the Tuscan Chicken was supose to be chicken breast wrapped with basil and prosciutto it turned out to be a frozen chicken breast like you use for chicken tenders wrapped in ham no basil and no sauce. Very dry and for 26 dollars it's a total joke. The hotel was fine other than the food

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I'm so sorry to hear of your experience with In Room Dining. That's certainly not common feedback for us and I'm hopeful that you'll enjoy our brand new menu upon your return. Please let me know personally if I can assist you in the future. paul.dinapoli@westin.com

We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

THANK YOU Westin for making my "missed flight" a GREAT experience! From the robes waiting on the bed, to the wine on the table, to the coffee in the morning, to a great food breakfast, to the AWESOME service, to the delicious smells coming into the Westin "entrance" from Concourse A, everything about this night was AAA!!!

THANK YOU!!!! <3

Room Tip: This is INSIDE the airport. Quite to my surprise, this hotel was amazingly quiet and peaceful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We're happy to be her for you during planned (or unplanned) stops in Detroit. We look forward to seeing you again.

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport

Address: 2501 Worldgateway Place, Detroit, MI 48242
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Detroit
#1 Green Hotel in Detroit
#2 Business Hotel in Detroit
#2 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#3 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, located in the new world-class McNamara Terminal, offers a private security entrance, latest technology and Detroit's most stylish & comfortable surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport Hotel Detroit
Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
Detroit Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.