We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice getaway stay (and helpful parking tip)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport to your Saves list
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2501 Worldgateway Place, Detroit, MI 48242   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Detroit
GreenLeadersGold level
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice getaway stay (and helpful parking tip)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My wife and I wanted to get away for a night and we got our room via a Priceline bid for less than $85. We parked in the long term deck directly across from the hotel, which cost $20 for 24 hours (valet parking is $22 a night). Tip if you're parking in the long term deck: try to park in section C (the middle of the deck), then take the C elevator up to the 8th floor. If you exit the doors near the elevator, you are directly across the street (curbside pick up) from the valet parking entrance to the Westin. If you don't know this, you'll end up walking for what seems like a mile from your parking spot, to the elevator, to the walkway that takes you through more of the parking deck, over the street and into the terminal. I'm serious when I say this shortcut will make an 8-10 minute walk into more like 3-5. Your feet will thank me later.
We requested a plane view and had a nice view over the Delta terminal, where we could watch the planes arrive and leave. While a lobby view would be nice (the trees were beautiful), people could see into an interior view room when leaving the elevator if the blinds were open.
We ordered out from Beirut Restaurant, an awesome Middle Eastern restaurant just up the street that also delivers (you will meet their delivery person in the valet parking lobby). I don't exaggerate when I say that one of their sandwiches will suffice for lunch or dinner (and are 1/2-2/3 less cost than getting a platter).
One other note--the windows are soundproofed well, so minimal noise was heard from the planes. Very few late night flights at all, so sound was not a hindrance to our sleep. Their bedding didn't hurt, either! It was like sleeping on a cloud.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I'm thrilled that you had a relaxing and enjoyable visit with us. We hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    592
    249
    59
    26
    10
See reviews for
172
218
107
349
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed here many years ago, remembered it well. This trip challenging. (1) I'm flying in and out of the other terminal. Not entirely the hotel's fault that you have to allow half an hour for the transfer, between waiting endlessly for the shuttle, then loading up in a standing room only minibus. Hotel chooses not to have its own shuttle and tells you a cab for the one mile ride is $25. (2) Rooms small, average, ordinary. Westin is starting to install "rain" shower heads, a very substantial downgrade from what they've had before. No water pressure, to big for the small tubs they're in, just a mess. (3) Only one restaurant on property, very weak on service, weak on quality and selection of food. Noplace else to go. (4) Front desk staff doesn't know where meeting rooms are, has to look it up and can only tell you what floor, not where on what floor. (5) Wireless worked on first checkin to room; then not in lobby restaurant; and not again when I came back to room. Lucky I travel with my own MiFi to fall back on. -- Nice building, nice lobby, probably better than any of the off-airport airport hotels, but very weak in a number of areas where it doesn't need to be weak.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I'm so sorry that your visit wasn't satisfactory, but I'm sure we can exceed your expectations if given another opportunity. Please feel free to reach out to me directly and I'd be happy to assist you with future arrangements.

Sincerely,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinckney, Michigan
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We often stay at the Westin when we travel, especially if we have an early flight. We also meet at the Westin restaurant for arrivals and departures, beats the cell phone lot. The food is quite good and the rooms are very comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for being such a loyal guest and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Bad weather delayed my outbound flight into Detroit causing me to miss my connection thru DTW. I called the hotel who could not honor my corporate rate. I ended up paying $299.00 for 1 night. On top of that, bottled water in the room is $4.00 and internet is $9.99 for 8 hours. I asked if they had a business center so I could print out a bording pass. I was told yes, it's in the lobby. The business center also charges $9.99 for 8 hours to use the the PC.

It's a nice enough hotel but they stick it to you every chance they get. The staff is pleasant and professional but at these prices that is to be expected..

Dinner? Burger $18.00. Martini $15.00. I recognize the property is within the airport but really?

Room Tip: I would say try a hotel near the airport with free shuttle service for 1/2 to 1/3rd the price of thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry to hear of your concern with some of the fees that we provide for our services. We do our very best to offer a great value to our guests and to consistently exceed their expectations. We hope to see you in the future.

Sincerely,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Georgia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed two nights at Westin DTW on our way back from Cancun. It wasn't a planned visit but rather a necessity due to cancelled flights to New England. The staff, from the front desk clerks to housekeeping, bartender & waitress, all showed outstanding hospitality and sympathy toward our situation. Our room and the property itself were spotlessly clean and well maintained. Furnishings were up-to-date and in excellent condition. We loved the rain shower shower head in the bathroom and the upscale toiletries, soft towels and robe. The bed was super-comfy with silky soft linens. We slept great both nights with absolutely NO noise from the airport.

It was very handy staying IN the airport itself. We were able to come and go from the terminal.with a TSA screening right near the front desk. This was extremely handy as we shopped and walked terminal A for exercise/entertainment to pass the time during this unplanned stay.

I would recommend this property without hesitation and will consider it in the future when flying to or through DTW. Thanks Westin!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest and Fellow New Englander,

We hope you enjoyed your trip and we're so glad that you were our guest on your way back to Maine. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We have stayed here several times taking advantage of their Park, Sleep, Fly package. While more expensive than similar packages at other nearby hotels, you have the advantage of being on-site at the airport rather than having to take a shuttle. The package includes 10 nights of valet parking in the main garage attached to the airport which normally costs $20 per night for long term self parking. The hotel itself is very nice and the "heavenly" beds are great. I always get a good night's sleep before my flight. Be aware that the dedicated security checkpoint at the hotel does not open until 7:30 in the morning so if you have an early flight, don't plan on using it. Even so, it is easy to get into the main terminal ticketing level from the hotel without going outside, a great thing when it is freezing outside. Overall, we feel this package is worth the cost in order to start a trip out on the right foot.

Room Tip: If you like to watch the planes, ask for a room that looks out onto the gates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We're thrilled that you enjoyed our Park and Stay package and we can't wait for you to visit us again.

Sincerely,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah,
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is a full scale Westin located in the Delta Terminal of DTW airport. It has a decent workout room, a nice lobby/hotel restaurant, and a good club suite. On top of that, it has a private security entrance to the airport. I thought it was great and super convenient, and undoubtedly would stay here first for a quick trip to Detroit or Ann Arbor.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we're so happy that you enjoyed your time with us.

Sincerely,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport

Address: 2501 Worldgateway Place, Detroit, MI 48242
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Detroit
#1 Family Hotel in Detroit
#2 Business Hotel in Detroit
#2 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#4 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, located in the new world-class McNamara Terminal, offers a private security entrance, latest technology and Detroit's most stylish & comfortable surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Starwood, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport Hotel Detroit
Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
Detroit Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.