We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short stay, wish I had more time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport to your Saves list
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2501 Worldgateway Place, Detroit, MI 48242   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Detroit
GreenLeadersGold level
Rhode Island
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“short stay, wish I had more time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Checked in very late and left fairly early because of a cancelled flight so did not get a chance to experience more that just the room. While riding up in the elevator I found myself wishing I had more timebecause the lobby, dining area looked great, and inviting. The room was cozy, clean and quiet which allowed for good albeit short night sleep. The security line into the main terminal in the morning was a bit long, made longer by the flight attendants who kept cutting the line. But, other than that, I would not hesitate to stay there again, and may even incorporate a stop there in my travel plans.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

I'm thrilled you experienced the Westin Detroit Metro Airport and we hope to see you for a longer stay in the future.

Thank you,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    249
    59
    26
    10
See reviews for
171
218
107
348
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

If you are flying DELTA and want to stay right at the airport to catch an early morning flight, I highly recommend the Westin Detroit Metro Airport hotel. We stayed one night (New Years Eve) so we could take an early morning flight on New Years Day. The location could not be better, literally steps from the check in gate for Delta. The Park and Stay rate includes 10 days valet parking, we left our car in a warm, safe, secure parking lot and the car was parked and then brought to us in a matter of minutes. The valet assisted us with our luggage and the from check-in staff were very accomodating. We enjoyed our dinner at the hotel restaurant, the food was good, but maybe not outstanding but it was beautiful and extremely quiet. After dinner, we enjoyed a dip in the pool and hot tub before going to bed. They even have their own security area so we stepped out of bed and into line and then just a few more steps to our gate. Simply could not be a better experience and a great start to our trip!

Room Tip: Our room looked over the run way which the kids loved. Don't worry,....the rooms are totally so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments and I'm glad you and your family enjoyed our pool and spa, as well as the great view. Hope to see you again.

Thank you,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okemos, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

This property is placed right at the MacNamara Terminal (Delta)... and it sure was a pleasant surprise for me. I thought - great, at least it will be convenient for an early morning departure, but I probably will hear every flight coming & going.

I couldn't have been more wrong! The room was spacious, comfy (and of course with all the typical Westin amenities - heavenly bed, etc.). It was so quiet -- it was simply unexpected, and I had a great nights sleep. I only wish the Concierge Club had been open on Sunday or Monday morn - but regardless... I'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Of course, we'd be happy to have you return and I'm pleased you enjoyed our amenities and services.

Thanks again,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Just a fantastic business airprot. They have their own security entrance to the airport. NO LINE! Clean, new, very nice. I had lunch in hotel, it was very good.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed our Dema Restaurant, as well as our conveninet location. What a great combination.

Thank you,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

I had the unfortunate experience of coming off a red eye to another flight from DTW that couldn't land and subsequently returned to DTW. It was going to be 12 hours before my 4 year old and I could get on another flight, so I was extremely happy to see the Westin attached to the airport. We were able to get a "day use" room and it was wonderful to be able to shower, nap, watch television, and order room service instead of wander the airport. The hotel is conveniently situated in the airport and even has its own (limited hours) security entrance. The room was modern, clean, and equipped with the usual Westin Heavenly Bed, bathrobe, and toiletries (very useful since I was unable to claim our checked luggage). The staff were friendly and pleasant and room service arrived quickly and as ordered. Even though our room overlooked some of the airport gates, it was quiet and my daughter enjoyed watching the planes. I highly recommend this hotel if you have an extended layover or other lodging needs at DTW.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Our day use rooms are always a great option - especially for families looking for a break from the airport. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Okay. I know the General Manager is going to come on and provide a reply to my post and he's welcome to do so but one thing is for sure, I will NEVER bring a party of 8 to this bar again. Allow me to explain:

After a 2 week trip to Europe with my Aunt, Uncle, Cousin and Niece we arrived at DTW to our family waiting at customs; it was Friday, September 2nd at 8:30pm. We immediately went to the Westin as I was a guest at the hotel that night before I flew home. The Bar was being renovated so the waitress in the restaurant directed us to the interim seating area. We went there. We waited. No one greeted us. I spoke to a Westin Employee who told me we were in the wrong area for the bar and no one would ever wait on us here. Okay. We moved to the 'right' area.

We waited. One lonely girl was working the entire bar. Perhaps no one visits the Westin DTW Bar on a Friday night but they were definitely short staffed and I was NOT happy after having waited 20+ minutes in the 'wrong' area. The waitperson/bartender Kim was finally able to get to us...poor girl. She was obviously trying to do the work of several people. To move our bar order in a timely manner, I followed Kim up to the bar and as she made drinks, I delivered them to my family. YES, I delivered them as we sat in the WESTIN!! (If I was at a Courtyard Marriott, sure but please).

I asked Kim for the manager who did came over and smoozed with me/my guests. He told us he was short staffed (not my problem). He didn't offer to deliver our next round or assist in anyway. I knew immediately why Kim was stressed. Sure, you can be short staffed but if there is a manager on duty, why isn't he helping his guests? Personally, I just wanted him to leave. Kim had already redeemed the situation and was back into the 22% tip range. After I had a few drinks I did tell the manager how disappointed I was in him. He never offered to help us by bringing us a drink or a napkin, let alone comp us a $10. pizza.

Sorry General Manager, give Kim a raise and definitely keep her but your other employees need some training especially if they want to work at a Westin.

PS. I had zero problem going into the terminal the next morning to buy a second suitcase and eat breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and I apologize for your experience during our Dema Lounge renovation. I researched your circumstances and it sounds like that was a difficult scenerio. Kim is an excellent server and I'm glad she was able to assist you.

I'm happy to say that our lounge renevation is long since complete and I'm sure you'll love it next time. Please feel free to reach out to me directly if I can help you in any other way (734)229-6754. We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We used the hotel for flying out to a Cruise. The hotel was wonderful as well as the ability to park the car with a valet.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Staying at the Westin is a great way to start your cruise vacation. I'm glad we were here for you and hope to see you soon.

Thank you,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport

Address: 2501 Worldgateway Place, Detroit, MI 48242
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Detroit
#1 Green Hotel in Detroit
#2 Business Hotel in Detroit
#2 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#5 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, located in the new world-class McNamara Terminal, offers a private security entrance, latest technology and Detroit's most stylish & comfortable surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Starwood, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport Hotel Detroit
Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
Detroit Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.