We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“benefits of friendly hotel treatment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport to your Saves list
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2501 Worldgateway Place, Detroit, MI 48242   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Detroit
GreenLeadersGold level
Home
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“benefits of friendly hotel treatment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

I stayed twice in april at the Westin Detroit Airport property. The staff was very friendly and helpful with rapid check in, going out of their way to get me in a comfortable room, even at 9 AM so I could get ready for the day after arriving into Detroit on an early plane.
The concierge lounge is exemplary both is its selection of foods and newspapers, and its staff, who like the front desk, will go out of their way to make certain the 'weary' traveler has amenities to increase comfort and digestion. As a diamond member of a different hotel chain, I was very happily surprised at the comforts I found in this property, that exceeded many of pleasures I had come to expect but seldom received from my current chain. Obviously, this gives me pause to think of getting more of the same.
doc steve

Room Tip: inside rooms are quite, and have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    249
    59
    26
    10
See reviews for
171
218
107
348
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

When I stayed here in April 2011 I was very pleased with all the facilities. The Westin restaurants were very good and offered a great selection of healthy food, the room was clean and suited my needs, the workout facility was very clean and well stocked and the staff was very friendly and helped with any question I had. The location of this hotel is ideal for travellers going through the Metropolitan airport.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

My family and I stayed at The Westin with extended family. It was great from the moment we arrived. We loved the valet service!! It was so easy and hassle free. We will definately stay here again when we fly out of DTW.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

My wife and I have stayed at the Westin at Detroit Metro Airport numerous times (at least 10 times over the past few years). As we always fly out of this airport on vacations, the night before we depart is always spent there as part of our itinerary. From the greeting you receive at the valet parking, to the fast check in, to the room itself, everything is a wonderful experience. Julie, in the lobby restaurant, is outstanding, and we always request her when we go there.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commerce Twp, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

I live in Michigan and sometimes I check in just for a short "get away". They have wonderful pillows, the Heavenly bed, excellent food, using either room service, casual or elegant dining.

As one goes down the escalator, the hotel looks as though it is in small South African forest, with large bamboo shoots looming until the lobby comes into plain view.

If one is a business traveler, it makes the access to the airport easy and worthwhile.

Most of my professional career involved about 90% travel; I like the Four Seasons, and the Ritz Carlton chains. Not all of the Westin Inns are at this level of quality, although I would say about 90% are well worth booking a reservation.

Room Tip: Definitely
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Comfortable, quiet and has its own security check-in directly to the Delta terminal. Why stay anywhere else? Plus, the valet parking package makes the whole thing practically pay for itself.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josh_eber, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, April 27, 2011
Dear spudjj;
Thank you for taking a moment to post your thoughts. We appreciate you sharing your experience. We absolutely agree... "Why stay anywhere else?"
Sincerely;
Josh Eberhard - Director of Reservations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011 via mobile

Staying at the Detroit Westin provides a stress-free environment and allows for easy access to your outbound flight, as well as valet service for parking (for departure & return). It totally simplifies our travel, especially when we travel with our four children!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport

Address: 2501 Worldgateway Place, Detroit, MI 48242
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Detroit
#1 Green Hotel in Detroit
#2 Business Hotel in Detroit
#2 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#5 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, located in the new world-class McNamara Terminal, offers a private security entrance, latest technology and Detroit's most stylish & comfortable surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Starwood, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport Hotel Detroit
Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
Detroit Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.