We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the Wait!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Slows Bar BQ

Slows Bar BQ
2138 Michigan Ave., Detroit, MI 48216
(313) 962-9828
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 974 Restaurants in Detroit
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Kent, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Worth the Wait!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Safe parking is available right across the street from this restaurant . At12:30 (noon) the place was packed , person to person so we reserved a table and went next door for coffee. Upon our return we were immediately seated, although the crowd remained. Four of us decided to share and we were thrilled with the tastes and variety. We started with the catfish bites (which were really chunks) with the red pepper dip. We then had the ribs, bacon,ham and rib sandwich, a barbecued TVP ( which was unbeatable!!! would not have known it as TVP if we hadn't ordered it). Then the sides, difficult decision BUT we shared Mac and cheese, Mom's green bees, cole slaw, cornbread and black eyed peas with okra. The entire experience was beyond the best descriptions of wonderful. Wait staff was pleasant and helpful. Great time, mid range price. Will definitely go back IF I even am n Detroit again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    418
    206
    86
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorktown, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Very Good BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Although not in the nicest part of Detroit, if there is one, the restaurant is worth trying to find. The BBQ is some of the best I have had. The inside of the restaurant is very nice with two big bars. It was HOT inside on a late Jun Sun not sure if they turned the AC off. I had a pulled pork sandwich with waffle fries and my wife had beef brisket with green beans. Both were mouth watering. I also had two different wheat beers that were good. They have a wide selection of beer on tap. I would definitely go back there again in daylight.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Must eat here!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

While visiting Detroit, this place was recommended and after reading the reviews we knew we had to try it. Busy on a Saturday evening, but we stalked some seats at the bar and were able to eat far sooner than we would have at a table. Neat brick interior and great wooden front door that had many patrons confused as to where to enter! Extensive beers on tap, many hard to find. Service was quick and friendly. We ordered 1/2 lb of pulled pork and the 'surf and turf' consisting of brisket, blackened catfish and jambalaya along with sides of potato salad, coleslaw, sweet potatoes and green beans. Everything was delicious! My only complaint was the brisket had a lot of fat on one slice, but everything else was great. Sauces were good, especially the apple. Would definitely recommend this place!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticutreviewer
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great BBQ in Detroit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This place has very good Pulled Pork, and decent sides. The sauces are provided on the table. My one complaint was the North Carolina sauce, which was a vinegar based red sauce. Almost a mix of Eastern Carolina vinegar sauce, and the Western Carolina red.... Not a good combination.
The cole slaw had a little too much mayo, and was too sweet.
The restaurant was what you one would expect from a BBQ joint, although it is probably not in the best part of the city.
Keep an eye out for crackheads in the immediate area, if you are going anytime after the sun sets.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, Usa
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“BEST Q in Detroit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

My friend, who is a competitive BBQ guy, and I sample what every city we visit on business has to offer. Slows is at the top. We had the pulled pork, brisket, baby back ribs, smoked catfish, and the Yardbird sandwich. Our sides were cornbread, slaw, mashed sweet potato, pit smoked beans, and mom's green beans. All was washed down with a variety of the 35+ tap beers on hand.

The ribs were HOT, moist, sweet, tender, with just the right amount of lip tingling spices. The pulled pork was juicy, full of porky flavor, and had just the right texture. The catfish could make me eat more fish if fish would be presented like this. The brisket was tender with just the right amount of fat and all was completely packed with good beefy flavor. They also had five different sauces to anoint your meat with and all were fun to try. My favorite was labeled "seasonal" and was a poblano pepper sauce. The Yardbird sandwich was a first for both of us. Smoked chicken with sautéed mushrooms, cheddar cheese, applywood bacon and a special sauce that had a sweetness that complemented the smoky chicken all on a kaiser roll.

The sides were all good but I was drawn to the pit smoked beans and the mashed sweet potato. The slaw was crunchy with a creamy sauce, not a vinegar sauce.

Go hungry. Go thirsty. Go by cab so you don't have to drive home.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slows Bar BQ also viewed

 

Been to Slows Bar BQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slows Bar BQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.