We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slows Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Slows Bar BQ

Slows Bar BQ
2138 Michigan Ave., Detroit, MI 48216
(313) 962-9828
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 973 Restaurants in Detroit
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Slows Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

If you don't mind waiting , the food is amazing. When my kids come home to visit they always want to go to Slows.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    418
    206
    86
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not that this place needs another good review, but...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Great meal and probably the best BBQ that I've had. The staff was friendly, the decor is very modern and the food was unreal. I got the "your way" that had a half slab of the ribs with pulled pork, corn break, and waffle fries. It was enough food for 2 meals so it wasn't really necessary that I got the gumbo to start. Everything was equally delicious.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bring your appetite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

If you like BBQ this place is heaven. Whether you like chicken, pork or brisket your taste buds won't be disappointed. The meats stand alone in their awesome flavor, but if you need to (which you won't) you can add one of their many sauces to kick the flavor up a notch. Don't forget the side dishes! You'll be happy with any of them; baked beans, corn bread, Mac n cheese are just a beginning. Don't worry about dessert you'll be too packed with tasty meat to care (they are available though). The bar has an excellent spread of suds to wash every last drop of food down your gullet.
The wait can be quite long during peak hours and no reservations unless your party is more than 6. Parking is very close and has an attendant. Don't be put off by the drive on Michigan avenue to get here. You must stop. You must eat!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The food was awesome. Two adults & a 7 & 11 year old both with big appetites. We had the full slab of babyback ribs & mac n cheese & cornbread, catfish & cheese fries & more mac n cheese. We still left with a half slab of ribs. Apple barbecue sauce....so good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Detroit BBQ place...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Although the neighborhood isn't that nice and parking is scarce, we sure had a great time when we entered Slows BBQ. It was absolutely packed at 1pm on a Tuesday! It was so loud we had to elevate our voices to hear each other, maybe 80 people in a small bar/restaurant. We didn't know what beer to take so we got free samples. I got a Bell's Oberon (I think) and it was amazing. My friend also opted for the same. He ordered pulled pork, mac&cheese, pork and beans. I tried the m&c = tasted great and was homemade. My friend said 'this is the best food I've ever had in a restaurant'. I agreed. Took only about 10 minutes to get our food.

I had a smoked half chicken with spicy green beans and potato salad. Chicken just melted off the bone and had that beautiful smoky flavor. 2 entrees, 2 pints = $36 + tip. Reasonable, great food with generous portions. Will come back soon. Next time I'll try the ribs.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slows Bar BQ also viewed

 

Been to Slows Bar BQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slows Bar BQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.