We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, Clean City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Save Saved
You added The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1114 Washington Blvd., Detroit, MI 48226   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 33 hotels in Detroit
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Hotel, Clean City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Arrival was greeted with a smiling valet and helpful valet. Excellent food including Roast, a Michael Symon restaurant. This is a remodeled historic hotel. The breakfast in the hotel dining room was very good. Lunch in the 1st floor restaurant was very good also. There is a city garden across the street and walking in the city felt safe enough while the streets were spotless. I was surprised. Thank you Detroit and the Westin.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Book_Cadillac, Guest Services Manager at The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
It is great to read you enjoyed your stay, your breakfast in the Boulevard Room, lunch at 24grille, and of course Roast. You're not alone in being surprised by Detroit in such a positive way, this really is a great city. We hope to have you back very soon.

Be well,
David W
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    319
    223
    53
    17
    13
See reviews for
72
214
34
199
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I spent a night at the Westin Hotel. We specifically asked for a view of a particular building.
Our room was on the 20th floor directly across from the building we requested. We also had a view of the Windsor Bridge and the river. The room was well appointed and the staff was very friendly. Valet was excellent, as we were in and out many times, and was always greeted in a friendly manner. The staff Saturday morning at Starbucks adjoining the Hotel, were less than friendly. We had side dishes and appetizers at Roast also attached to the hotel, that were off the charts in flavor, presentation and portion.
I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 2003 has a fantastic view. Was a bit noisy, but was 4th of July weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The Book Cadillac has a rich history, and good for Westin for trying to make a go of it as the rest of downtown Detroit limps along.

That said, Westin really missed the mark here when it renovated the Book Cadillac around 5 years ago. Once inside, you could be anywhere -- there is no sense of place or connection to Detroit or the Book Cadillac hotel history. The photo of the bar/lounge sort of says it all -- a grand space with ornate detail (that may or may not have been original) with big, modern "Westin" chandeliers tacked on like brand appliqués.

If a business, especially a hotel, wants to boost up Detroit, it better celebrate the city's incredible, if tragic, story and give visitors reason to care about its past and cheer for its future.

Service was OK. If you asked for something, you could usually get it. But no one was about to ask if they could help you. Very passive. (The bellman was an exception -- he had more energy that most staff with whom we interacted.) Detroit is not likely to rise again if this is the best its front line ambassadors can muster.

Our room was fairly large and comfortable. Hard to praise the view -- it's Detroit....

We would likely stay there again, but mostly because the choices are so few in Detroit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Book_Cadillac, Guest Services Manager at The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review. We are sorry that you did not appreciate our décor and the Westin décor overall. After investing over $180 million dollars into saving a grand old building, we continue to be proud of our role in the revitalization of downtown. I apologize if you felt our staff was not responsive to your needs. We strive to make each guest feel special and provide a stay where they feel better when they leave from when they arrived. We hope to have another opportunity to have you as a guest and demonstrate our commitment to service.

Be well,
David W
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

From the moment we arrived I felt very welcome at this hotel. The fellow at the check-in was friendly, professional and helpful. The concierge, Sylvester, was also interested and helpful. Every interaction I had with staff - the gift shop, valet parking, restaurant, room cleaning and checkout - all were very pleasant. I got upgraded to the club floor and had a lovely large room, well furnished and with a large and very nice bathroom. The hotel was clean, classic and beautiful in its furnishings and design and clearly well managed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We have stayed at The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit hotel many times over the last couple of years, the most recent being in June 2013. This is a wonderful hotel. The rooms are quiet, clean and very large. The beds are comfortable. The staff is helpful and attentive. The common areas, including the pool and fitness facilities, are very well maintained. The location is within easy walking distance of most downtown attractions, including Comerica Park and Greektown. We were traveling with our 5-year old son, and it is nice to stay at a hotel that is both well appointed and family friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Book_Cadillac, Guest Services Manager at The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and your loyalty to The Westin Book Cadillac. I am pleased your stay was great and hope to have you back again very soon.

Be well,
David W
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Did a lot of research on a place to stay which also had a good restaurant nearby for my wedding anniversary. This hotel has one of the top restaurants located in the lobby. They offered a special dining package with a price that was hard to beat. We usually do not go downtown, so I was a little hesitant that it would be hard to find. It wasn't. Valet was included in the package, which was very convenient. They even upgraded us to a suite when I mentioned it was our anniversary. I would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Book_Cadillac, Guest Services Manager at The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Congratulations on your anniversary! We are honored you chose to spend your special day with us and was happy to read we were able to make your stay a little better by upgrading your room.

Be well,
David W
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

this was a very nice hotel me and my girlfriend stay here when we go to lions games at least once a year. The suites are always clean and very comfortable. We also had an awesome view of the city. The bar downstairs was also a nice change from the norm.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Address: 1114 Washington Blvd., Detroit, MI 48226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#3 Family Hotel in Detroit
#4 Business Hotel in Detroit
#4 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upon completion of a $180 million renovation, the historic Westin Book Cadillac Hotel will be restored and rejuvenated to its original splendor as Detroit's premier lodging and social destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit Hotel Detroit
Westin Detroit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.