We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay in Motown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MGM Grand Detroit

Save Saved
You added MGM Grand Detroit to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
MGM Grand Detroit
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1777 Third Street, Detroit, MI 48226   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 33 hotels in Detroit
GreenLeadersSilver level
Flint, Michigan
1 review
“Nice Stay in Motown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

BYOB, the resturants close extremely early and the bar areas stop around 1am. I would have actually loved to stayed up and enjoyed the night life more and spend more money but at 1am the place turned into a ghost town.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    356
    140
    27
    16
    23
See reviews for
55
258
33
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This hotel has all the amenities you would expect from a Vegas style hotel. The bathroom is really nice with the dual shower head. The bed was super comfortable. It was 100 times better than the Royal Park in Rochester in my opinion. They valet your car In the underground garage which is really nice in the winter time.
If you don't like smoke it is difficult to avoid it on the casino floor and getting around to the restaurants which was my only con.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

This is my 3rd or 4th time staying at the MGM. I've always found it to be clean and comfortable. The rooms are very nicely decorated and the bathroom/shower are awesome. They have very good security as you have to show your room key to make your way to the elevators. I'm not much of a gambler so I can't comment on the casino but I do know that it's big. Smoking is permitted and there is an obvious cigarette smell present. The bars and restaurants around the casino are very good....generous drinks and quality food.

Room Tip: If you don't like cigarette smell...stay out of the casino
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

My husband and I just returned from the MGM in Detroit. We had a wonderful time. We usually go at least 2 times a year. We stayed 2 nights and enjoyed every minute. Our check in was a bit rocky…some mix up on our pricing for the room…The clerk wasn't very friendly and spoke so quiet we had a hard time hearing her. After about 10min , she said she would honor the rate for us.…not sure why there was any question. We booked on the phone, so it wasn't our error…it was theirs. We ate at all the restaurants , and all were above average..except for Breezes. I ordered a simple hot dog…and it was cool when I got it…it was good for a cold hotdog..probably would have tasted great if it was hot.Apparently , all they did was roll is around on the grill to warm the outside..and they were even busy. These were the only 2 issues …and they weren't really that big. All the other restaurants were very good…service and food and the prices were reasonable .
We played the slots in the casino..We prefer the 25cents slots..and I did notice that MGM had put a few more in than the last time we were there. We only seemed to play 3 type of machines (7's) ,,,by the end of our trip.. it was pretty profitable for us. Even though we have casino's where I live..I really enjoy the 3 hour ride to Detroit…It is easy to access since it is right off the highway . The staff is always friendly and helpful. I would love to return soon…I hope I get a comped room..that would help.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower room. Less wait time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed 3 days at MGM Detroit. From check-in to check out our stay was a pleasant one. The valet (free with stay at the hotel excluding tips of course), doormen,check-in & out, security and wait staff were absolutely fantastic. We dined at Wolf Gang Puck Steak, Tap and Palette while we were there, all 3 meals were tasty and enjoyable. The casino itself is MASSIVE and easy to get lost in.

Room Tip: Rooms can be slightly warm, but I am always warm, had to make sure the temp was turned down at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I had planned a trip to see the Lions play on Thanksgiving with my three teenage sons. We are from upstate NY and stayed the previous night in Canada at a $50 hotel with rock hard beds so I thought I would splurge a little and stay at a nicer place on Thanksgiving. Of course everyone else stayed the previous night so when we arrived a huge line of people were checking out.
First of all there was the parade in Detroit going on so as we could see the hotel we couldn't get to it. I called the hotel and spoke with Crystal who didn't know the city that well and didn't transfer or get on the phone someone that did. She did try and was friendly but I would expect someone at the hotel would know city well enough to overcome the parade obstacle. Thanks to on of Detroit's finest and our iphone we were able to get there. Valet was a little overwhelmed at that point with everyone trying to get to the game. I booked online via expedia for around $250, which isn't bad for four people in a city, on a major holiday. Desk person wanted to charge my card for room even though I paid via paypal. Finally got that figured out and of course, it was too early to check in. However, they did park the car and take our luggage while we left for the game.
It just seemed to me that the staff needed more training or something. When I was dealing with the desk person she took a phone call and ignored me for a few minutes then hung up and didn't say a thing and got back to helping me. That's just rude.
We took a cab to Ford Field which was $10 for a three minute drive. It was a 10-15 minute walk back. When we returned after the game we got our bags from the valet area (I was hoping they would be in our room already) and carried them to our room. It was nice that the casino and hotel are separated well. Large glass doors led to a sitting area with a gas fire pace on a wall about 20ft. long or better. Free coffee, hot chocolate, etc. The coffee was terrible. Although any time I asked for water the staff pulled out tiny plastic bottles in record time.
Elevators were fast and quiet. The room was nice but you expect nice in this price range.
As the rest of the review state, the beds are so comfy. Pillow tops with a down cover.
When I booked online there was a picture and description that showed our room had a separate living room area but ours did not. I didn't really care and wasn't willing to deal with the desk staff about it.
The bathroom had a tv on the mirror and phone next to the toilet. Two frosted glass doors hide the shower and toilet which can make it a little confusing if you are looking for one in a hurry...
No smells, temperature was fine, etc. We called to ask for a razor and some shaving cream and a couple minutes latter we had a nice three blade razor and some shaving cream.
We had another event to see at Ford Field on Friday and asked if we could leave our car at the hotel. No Problem. We didn't get back until pretty late and it wasn't an issue.
Location wise, the hotel is an easy walk to downtown. I did not eat at the hotel but my sons had breakfast and said it was good for about $10 per person. I did get to the casino but it was pretty empty. Casino staff was talkative and friendly. I play table games mostly. There was a poker room upstairs that I liked a lot. If three queens beat a full house I would have spent more time there!
Online I saw a couple of other nice hotels but they were only about $20 cheaper and didn't have a casino. Motor City would have been border line walking distance in the weather we experienced. Four stars is a generous rating from my experience but it is hard to judge on a holiday... in Detroit...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn Hills, Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I want to start off saying I would have given it a five, but I do not support casinos. On that note, I stayed here for a charity fundraising event I was volunteering for an organization I am on the committee. The room was fantastic. The bed when I finally was able to get in bed, was so comfortable, I fell asleep immediately. The loved the set up of the room. The bathroom had the shower, toilet and sinks separate. So if my husband wanted to be in one area, I could be in another with privacy for both of us. They had laid out our robes which was provided by the hotel with a little treat on the pillow. The room was very quiet and relaxing.

The grand ballroom where we have our event was beautifully set up and the food was excellent for the guests and the volunteers. Check in and check out were a breeze. Just know that you will have to use a major credit card and not a debit card. If you want to use a debit card to check in, your card will be charged an extra charge immediately and your money will not be release for at least one to two weeks. I had to wait for my husband to bring his card to me so I could check in. I had asked about the debit card when making reservations and this was not told to me until check in. Other than that I enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not too far from the elevator. The room I had was a long way from the elevator and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
Restaurant, Poo...
Show More
0.5 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Free Parking, R...
Show More
0.9 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
Greektown Casino Hotel
#6 of 33 in Detroit
4.0 of 5 stars 568 reviews
Luxury, Restaur...
Show More
17.6 mi away
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
0.6 mi away
MotorCity Casino Hotel
MotorCity Casino Hotel
#10 of 33 in Detroit
4.0 of 5 stars 302 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.8 mi away
The Atheneum
The Atheneum
#9 of 33 in Detroit
4.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
Free Parking, M...
Show More
1.9 mi away
Inn on Ferry Street
Inn on Ferry Street
#1 of 33 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 stars 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MGM Grand Detroit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MGM Grand Detroit

Address: 1777 Third Street, Detroit, MI 48226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#2 Green Hotel in Detroit
#2 Business Hotel in Detroit
#2 Family Hotel in Detroit
#2 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — MGM Grand Detroit 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While in Detroit, get down to business at the ultimate entertainment destination, MGM Grand Detroit. Surround yourself in timeless design in our ultra-chic hotel. Dream big on king-size beds with 300 thread count sheets, relax in our oversized marble baths with dual rain shower heads. Or indulge yourself in a garden of earthly delights within our signature restaurants, or nightlife options. Last, lavish yourself within Immerse, Detroit's only resort style Spa. Immerse Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Reservation Counter, Venere, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your MGM Grand Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgm Grand Detroit Hotel Detroit
Mgm Grand Hotel Detroit
Detroit Mgm Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MGM Grand Detroit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.