We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Las Vegas in Detroit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MGM Grand Detroit

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added MGM Grand Detroit to your Saves list
MGM Grand Detroit
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1777 Third Street, Detroit, MI 48226   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bethany, Connecticut
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Las Vegas in Detroit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We visit the M life Hotels on Las Vegas annually so will compare to those. Hotel is first rate. Rooms have pillow top beds. All are no smoking. What is also nice is the living room as you enter the hotel after checkin. Complete with comfortable sofas, a very modern full length fire place and a free coffee machine.

Our room was comped so can't tell you the price. The bathroom was ultra modern with glassed walk in shower with 2 heads one in the wall and one in the ceiling.

In all the room was very comfortable and considering we were the first room off the elevators very very quiet!

There are 14 floors. Not sure who
gets to stay in the penthouse.

Enjoyed the two nights we stayed.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    153
    30
    17
    25
See reviews for
64
289
34
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Beautiful hotel and casino, comfortable rooms and a warm and inviting staff. Better location than Motor City and I prefer the casino to Greek Town. In the end the friendliness of the staff really set MGM apart.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muse, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Being gold status M Life members we asked for our free upgrade and got a corner suite. The front desk looked at our old M Life cards, mine is still Sapphire and my husband's is Pearl because he had lost his after our first trip to Vegas and told us we couldn't get an upgrade with those cards. I told her to just run our numbers, then it changed to Welcome Mr. and Mrs. Kookie to MGM Grand we have a corner suite available will that suit you? lol The room was huge 2 bathrooms, 3 TV's and a phone at every turn. Wet bar with a beautiful backdrop that if the light was on in the bathroom behind it, looked like it was glowing. The main bathroom has double sinks, a jet tub and a shower with 5 shower heads. The pool are is wonderful, they pump in some kind of fragrance so you can't smell the clorine. The locker rooms are a fantasy, they have soft fluffy robes, private shower stalls and in a different room a round table with beautiful flowers with every kind of lotion, deoderant or foo foo stuff that you need. There is a hot tub and steam room. In a lounge area are pitchers of iced tea and lemonaid and a bowl full of fruit and newspapers to read. I came out of there feeling like a celebrity. The casino was nice, Taps was ok. We had a server/bartender that was realy attentive, but breakfast the next day was a little slow. Vallet staff was Courteous and Friendly. We will be returning!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The room was great but I think that more then one bar soap should be left in the bathroom.
I also feel when you tell the host that you are celebrating a wedding anniversary something special should be added to the room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We had the best time here. Room was clean and huge. Dinner at Wolfgang Puck was amazing!!! Best steak and ribeye ever. We attended a concert in Detroit this was the purpose of our stay so we didn't play any of the slots and tables but we should have we were just too busy with everything else. We will return it was a pretty goodtime everyone was friendly and courteous.

Room Tip: If you have an iPhone 5 you'll need to bring an adapter for the docking station so you can dock...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We had a great time. I have previously been a casino worker so I know what it takes to work, etc. in a casino so I appreciate a good job when it happens. I do not have any other advice.
Keep up the good work with all your employees.





Room Tip: None given as we were on a comp stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farwell, Michigan, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Made us feel like royalty. Very nice place to stay and play. And close by Detroit sporting events. GO TIGERS!!
Hold on if you take a taxi anywhere. They drive like crazy people. The view from our room was great. Ambassador bridge and motor city casino at night has a light show on the building. Pretty awesome. Highly recommend trying the sweet treats in the breeze( turtle cheesecake) and you won't get better chicken parm that at Red Sauce located in the breeze dining court. Also you must sign up for the m life rewards. Worth it! Our 3rd night was free from comps.Have fun!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MGM Grand Detroit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MGM Grand Detroit

Address: 1777 Third Street, Detroit, MI 48226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#1 Family Hotel in Detroit
#1 Business Hotel in Detroit
#2 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#2 Green Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — MGM Grand Detroit 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While in Detroit, get down to business at the ultimate entertainment destination, MGM Grand Detroit. Surround yourself in timeless design in our ultra-chic hotel. Dream big on king-size beds with 300 thread count sheets, relax in our oversized marble baths with dual rain shower heads. Or indulge yourself in a garden of earthly delights within our signature restaurants, or nightlife options. Last, lavish yourself within Immerse, Detroit's only resort style Spa. Immerse Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MGM Domestic, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Reservation Counter and Tingo so you can book your MGM Grand Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgm Grand Detroit Hotel Detroit
Mgm Grand Hotel Detroit
Detroit Mgm Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MGM Grand Detroit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.