We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“+ and - rigid, corporate controlled, restrictive, not much fun.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of MGM Grand Detroit

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added MGM Grand Detroit to your Saves list
MGM Grand Detroit
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1777 Third Street, Detroit, MI 48226   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Detroit
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fort Wayne
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“+ and - rigid, corporate controlled, restrictive, not much fun.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I am a frequent traveler and love to hang out at casino resorts not only in Las Vegas-yearly, but all over the Midwest as well. Four Winds, Blue Chip, Hoosier Park, Ameristar-East Chicago, Firekeepers, MGM Grand Detroit, etc.

I was staying over for just 1 night on Saturday July 6th, 2013. My contact representative, Lena Danayan from VIP Services had me in a Concierge Level Executive King room on the 17th floor, room #1719.

My first impression of the hotel when I was at the valet, polite, I got out of my car with my overnight bag and a cooler with beer bottled water etc. I passed the valet and signed in at the front desk, no problem. When I got to the doorman for the private elevator-concierge level rooms, I was told that coolers were strictly not allowed. After arguing for several minutes I was ordered to take it away, so I had to go back outside and track down a valet and hope that my cooler would end up in my trunk. So, I was pissed off, angry, and upset before even seeing my room, and confused. I carry my cooler up to my room at Ameristar. I carry my cooler up to my room at Four Winds. But, those properties treat people like adults.

My room was quite nice about 710 square feet, 2 TV's, glass enclosed shower and restroom, full tub, double sinks, wet bar, and clean and modern. Nice bed and the room was fine. Sleeping was a nightmare. Went to bed about Midnight, fireworks or gunfire kept me up past 2:00 a.m.. Man delivering my morning USA today early a.m. also woke me up, as did my hard partying neighbors from across the hall 3, 4, 5 a.m. I lost track.

Unlike most places that I frequent who offer a wide and guest friendly entry area- boarding area, At MGM Grand in Detroit the entry into the casino is all roped off and all guests are forced through a tiny entry/security area restrictive and problematic.

The beers in the casino are obscenely high when you get lucky enough to see a cocktail waitress. $5.00 for a beer plus $1.00 tip = $6.00 per drink times 7 = $42.00, man I could buy 3+ cases back home and still have money to spare what a rip off, no wonder that they don't want you to have reasonably priced beer with you even in cans. This is the best way to gauge the guests.

When I stay at Ameristar in East Chicago they offer Smoking rooms, non-smoking rooms, and wheelchair access rooms. I was told that they try to accommodate "ALL" of their valued guests.
I am a smoker, but ALL of the rooms are non-smoking, All of them are non-smoking, you can only smoke on the casino floor!!!!

I was out of there early in the morning, hours before even my wake up call, with almost zero sleep, a long 3 hour drive back to Fort Wayne plus an expensive gasoline bill and a headache.

I won a little bit in the casino, but It was not a very pleasant visit for me. I'm thinking probably my first and last visit to MGM Grand in Detroit. So many other properties are less restrictive and controlling and the true high roller will enjoy other properties so much more!!!!

Stayed as a solo for 1 night 7-6-2013
Bill Bernard-Fort Wayne, Indiana

p.s. I spoke to Lena Danayan in the VIP area and she was , "ACES"

Room Tip: Smokers are not welcome and don't bring any beer either!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    159
    33
    18
    26
See reviews for
68
299
35
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This was a great hotel. The rooms were emaculate and made for a very comfortable stay. I wouldn't expect anything less ($283) for one night. The coffee machine when you enter the hotel area was delish! I loved the valet parking my car and when it was time to check out...they had it waiting for me. The highlight for me is the Buffet - it is world class. It has about 9 stations of extremely tasty foods. The desert bar is great as well. I fly often...I will return to the Buffet at this hotel....even if I didn't stay there again. My view of Downtown was pleasant as well. I will definitely be back here soon. I couldn't find anything wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Excellent location to get away and relax and enjoy world class dining and and great gaming environment. The rooms are well laid out and extremely comfortable. Dinner was incredible. YOU MUST GO TO Wolfgang Puck steakhouse! Bravo MGM!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Fully enjoyed top notch service in all departments. From the valet parking, desk service, maintenance, housekeeping,and the front desk. The spa and in room dining was phenomenal. I hope we can return next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan, Usa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Room was great, loved the bathroom and staff even left some cookies for us since we were celebrating our anniversary! We thought that was very thoughtful. We will return, already planning our next stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Loved the spa, the service, and the hotel appearance. I was made to feel like a star at MGM and I will be returning frequently. The room service was pricy but the same as if you went to a nice restaurant except you got to enjoy the meal in the privacy and comfort of your room which is a plus.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

I love this hotel! Ask to get on the concierge level for a good breakfast and snacks :-) the hotel allows access to the spa. If you don't stay at the hotel it's $25 to go to the spa. There is a steam room for the ladies and a sauna for the men. The pool is so relaxing and tranquil! I could spend all day lounging by the salt water pool. I would say this is more for adults and not so kid friendly.

Get a hot stone massage if you splurge. They accept spa finder cards and have discounts Tuesday-Thursday.

The rooms are beautiful and have lovely huge windows to see the city.

The spa is what sets this apart from the other casinos in the area.

The restaurants in the casino are fabulous and TAPS has a great beer and burger selection!

Love this place!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MGM Grand Detroit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MGM Grand Detroit

Address: 1777 Third Street, Detroit, MI 48226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#1 Business Hotel in Detroit
#2 Green Hotel in Detroit
#2 Family Hotel in Detroit
#2 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — MGM Grand Detroit 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While in Detroit, get down to business at the ultimate entertainment destination, MGM Grand Detroit. Surround yourself in timeless design in our ultra-chic hotel. Dream big on king-size beds with 300 thread count sheets, relax in our oversized marble baths with dual rain shower heads. Or indulge yourself in a garden of earthly delights within our signature restaurants, or nightlife options. Last, lavish yourself within Immerse, Detroit's only resort style Spa. Immerse Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your MGM Grand Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgm Grand Detroit Hotel Detroit
Mgm Grand Hotel Detroit
Detroit Mgm Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MGM Grand Detroit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.