We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel facility” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MGM Grand Detroit

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added MGM Grand Detroit to your Saves list
MGM Grand Detroit
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1777 Third Street, Detroit, MI 48226   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chelsea, Michigan, Usa
1 review
“Nice hotel facility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Nicest hotel room I've been in. Modern, clean and upscale. Loved the free valet parking and free water bottles. They really lay on the service. Loved the fact that my beautiful window view was perfectly clean glass.
I'm not so keen on the smoke in the casino, but that's any casino.

Room Tip: Loved the view of ambassador bridge and sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    181
    39
    21
    29
See reviews for
83
341
40
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anniston, Alabama, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Absolutely the best experience. More than I could have ever expected. MGM's Staff was superb and dead on target with any services and assistance we needed. The Concierge staff assisted us with a rental car, airline confirmations, and directions for points of intrest downtown.

Room Tip: I've never slept in a more comfortable bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Indiana, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

great hotel, casino needs work, staff very unfriendly and few and far between...area around the machines were not very clean and a lot of dirty ash trays and drink glass that were not retrieved for the last person usage


  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I highly recommend the MGM Detroit. The rooms are spacious and clean. Hotel is in excellent condition. The experience that please me the most was the staff. I used the concierge service for arranging car service to an from the airport and it struck me how attentive an focused on communication they were. I knew exactly where to go and what to expect. From housekeeping to the front desk every person looked you in the eye and greeted you with a smile.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Room decor is excellent at this hotel, and the ability of the drapes to black out the daylight is better than any hotel I've ever stayed in. The bed itself felt odd; I'm not sure if the mattress was just old but it seemed to cave in at the middle. It was not easy to sleep on the mattress.
Staff were friendly and helpful. I'd stay here again if forced to return to Detroit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Clair Shores, Michigan, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The only complaint that i would have is I thati have a 16yr old daughter and your facility is not designed family friendly , what i mean by that she travelswith me butcshes not able to experience the restuarants other than TAP because they're on the gaming floor

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

We can always count on great customer service and luxury room a very clean and comfortable bed. I wanted to write this review because I wanted to give kudos to a few people that made this stay a bit more exceptional. Lisa the bartender in Ignite was amazing! Wonderful customer service a joy to talk to and her drinks are absolutely amazing. We asked Jeff in the high limit area if we could reserve a room for that evening and he was able to assist us indirectly. He found someone with in minutes that could assist us with that department and within 10 mins we were checked in. We really appreciated the efforts from Jeff and the "If I can't help you I will find someone that can " mentality. Thanks!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.5 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
1.0 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
Greektown Casino Hotel
#8 of 34 in Detroit
4.0 of 5 stars 746 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.6 mi away
MotorCity Casino Hotel
MotorCity Casino Hotel
#13 of 34 in Detroit
4.0 of 5 stars 423 reviews
8.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Detroit-Dearborn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MGM Grand Detroit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MGM Grand Detroit

Address: 1777 Third Street, Detroit, MI 48226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#1 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#1 Business Hotel in Detroit
#2 Green Hotel in Detroit
#2 Family Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — MGM Grand Detroit 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While in Detroit, get down to business at the ultimate entertainment destination, MGM Grand Detroit. Surround yourself in timeless design in our ultra-chic hotel. Dream big on king-size beds with 300 thread count sheets, relax in our oversized marble baths with dual rain shower heads. Or indulge yourself in a garden of earthly delights within our signature restaurants, or nightlife options. Last, lavish yourself within Immerse, Detroit's only resort style Spa. Immerse Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your MGM Grand Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgm Grand Detroit Hotel Detroit
Mgm Grand Hotel Detroit
Detroit Mgm Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MGM Grand Detroit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.