We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW what a room!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MGM Grand Detroit

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added MGM Grand Detroit to your Saves list
MGM Grand Detroit
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1777 Third Street, Detroit, MI 48226   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
GreenLeadersSilver level
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“WOW what a room!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I had the opportunity to stay at the MGM Detroit in February. My room was amazing. the bed was like sleeping on a cloud. My bathroom had a shower with 5 shower heads plus a jacuzzi tub with multicolor lights. the room had 3 tv's (one was in the bathroom mirror) The concierge was always friendly and happy to assist no matter what the request. Everyone was extemely friendly and helpful thoughout the hotel and casino areas. If you have a chance definitely go down to the pool and spa. The pool is huge and indoor. The spa was very nice. My only issue was that it didnt have a quiet relaxation room with lounge chairs (thier room only had sit up type chairs). The only place to go after the massage was the pool area. Unfortunately there was a child who was alternately happy and crying so the peacefull glow that I had after the massage disappated. If I am ever in the Detroit area again i would definitely stay there

Room Tip: If you can stay in an exective room - DO IT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    156
    31
    17
    25
See reviews for
65
293
35
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tecumseh, Michigan, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We have stayed several times at this facility and every one is a great experience. Every employee is helpful and friendly. Love the rooms and the pool/spa. The valet parking is fast and efficient. Would like to see some of the restaurants in the Casino open a little later, but that is the only downfall we experienced here. We will be back again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian, Michigan, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We did vip style at the V nightclub. This was the way to go, great dancing and atmosphere. The rooms were very clean, comfortable and fancy. I would recommend this hotel. We had a party of eight for a bithday celebration and everyone had great things to say after we left.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Staying at a hotel + casino definitely has its' perks. For the cost of a room, I never opened a door myself, never had to pay or even park my car myself, got free wifi, had a TV in the bathroom, got a great shoe shine, and just got great service in general. Their house tea blend was also very nice. The only downside is that they allow smoking in the building, but if you stick to the hotel portion only, it won't reach you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteno, Illinois, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I would highly recommend the MGM Grand Detroit. From the moment I pulled into the valet line to the moment of check out I could not have been more pleased. Once in the room the quality of the room was beyond great. I love the fact that the shampoos and other toiletries were from H20. One of my favorite companies. The restaurant staff and basically anyone I came into contact with during my stay was AMAZING!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan, North Dakota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the MGM hotel on opening day April 2013. The hotel is beautiful but way over priced. The rooms are big but nothing fancy. We paid 349.00 plus tax. We only got free coffee for that price. The hotel is beautiful but the area is not that nice there charging prices like you would pay in Chicago . This no Chicago !!! The only good restaurant is Tap. We at at Wolfgang Pukes (didn't like it at all) way way over priced. We would go to the restaurant
Tap again and maybe do a little gambling there but would not pay to stay there again!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoover
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

My wife and I have visited many Casinos over the last several years but none outside of Las Vegas compare to the MGM Grand in Detroit. Other than having looser Slots this experience can not be beat. The rooms are the nicest you will find and All the staff in the entire Casino treat you as though you are their best customer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MGM Grand Detroit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MGM Grand Detroit

Address: 1777 Third Street, Detroit, MI 48226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#1 Business Hotel in Detroit
#1 Family Hotel in Detroit
#2 Green Hotel in Detroit
#2 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — MGM Grand Detroit 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While in Detroit, get down to business at the ultimate entertainment destination, MGM Grand Detroit. Surround yourself in timeless design in our ultra-chic hotel. Dream big on king-size beds with 300 thread count sheets, relax in our oversized marble baths with dual rain shower heads. Or indulge yourself in a garden of earthly delights within our signature restaurants, or nightlife options. Last, lavish yourself within Immerse, Detroit's only resort style Spa. Immerse Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter and Tingo so you can book your MGM Grand Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgm Grand Detroit Hotel Detroit
Mgm Grand Hotel Detroit
Detroit Mgm Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MGM Grand Detroit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.