We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding rooms and service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MGM Grand Detroit

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added MGM Grand Detroit to your Saves list
MGM Grand Detroit
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1777 Third Street, Detroit, MI 48226   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
East China, MI
1 review
“Outstanding rooms and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The MGM is a beautiful facility. The architechture is artistic and pleasing to the eye. The beds are phenominal and the bathrooms are spacious and very accomodating (what with the TV and all)! We were lucky to have a view of the Ambassador bridge over the Detroit River. Overall we were very pleased.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    168
    34
    21
    28
See reviews for
72
320
38
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The staff was very friendly and willing to help. They made me feel comfortable. The beds provided a great night's sleep. The atmosphere at the Tap (Sports Bar) was enjoyable. I ate there twice and was very pleased both times.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the MGM the night of the home opener. The staff called a taxi for us to get there and back so we did not have the hassle of parking our own vehicle and fighting to get in and out of the lot. The staff is exceptionally helpful and accommodating. Everyone treated us with the utmost respect and was very friendly. We love the way we are treated when we stay over night. They truly do make you feel like a VIP!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Can't say enough about the facilities and service. Luxury all the way. High end furnishings, bed, shower bigger than a room, very nice hair/shower products, very clean and the air in the hotel and elevators smelled incredible. I want my house air to smell that great. It really is an amazing place. Service from staff was just awesome. They don't mess around there. Everyone seems to care and wants me to have a great experience. I was impressed and that's not easy. I'm not a big casino person, so that wasn't a draw. Great place for a conference however. Food in conference was all very good. Food at dining court/breeze was pretty mediocre. Wasn't able to try the other dining. Some things to improve. It would have been nice to have had better room temperature comfort control. I was very hot, despite it being chilly outside. I had not good way to cool down the room. Remained hot, even though I turned it down to 65 and turned on the fan. Rooms need more outlets for charging/using mobile devices and CPAP. Could not figure out how to get into room mini-bar--no instructions, so I didn't use the in-room mini-bar option. Oh, I forgot, spa facilities are great as well. Excellent massage.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed at the MGM Hotel in January. This hotel is one of the most comfortable hotels that have ever stayed in. The linens and bed were very comfortable. The rooms were very clean and very modern. This hotel is a little more expensive than others, but every penny is worth the comfort and luxury that you get when staying overnight at the MGM Grand Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This was our second stay at the MGM Grand. The first was for the Detroit Marathon, and we were so impressed with the room that we wanted to go back sometime when we could enjoy it more. We brought our teenage son along and ran into some trouble. It should be clearly stated that the restaurants are not available to anyone under 21. We had no idea that we would not be able to eat at any of the restaurants we had hoped to visit. We asked for a security escort for our teenaged son but were told we would have had to call 2 weeks in advance....but this information was not printed or conveyed to us in any way prior to our arrival. To have so many restaurants inaccessible was a huge disappointment and we were forced to eat in the Sports Bar, with average food. The spa and fitness center are beautiful, with a great pool. Overall, it's a beautiful hotel, but a hotel of this level should have more than a sports bar available as restaurant options.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludington, Michigan, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

What a magnificent hotel! You can't go wrong with this beautiful hotel. The rooms are first class. All staff is very accommodating.
The casino floor is very clean and the games are lots of fun. Come one come al and experience it for yourself

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to MGM Grand Detroit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MGM Grand Detroit

Address: 1777 Third Street, Detroit, MI 48226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Detroit
#1 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#2 Green Hotel in Detroit
#2 Family Hotel in Detroit
#2 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — MGM Grand Detroit 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While in Detroit, get down to business at the ultimate entertainment destination, MGM Grand Detroit. Surround yourself in timeless design in our ultra-chic hotel. Dream big on king-size beds with 300 thread count sheets, relax in our oversized marble baths with dual rain shower heads. Or indulge yourself in a garden of earthly delights within our signature restaurants, or nightlife options. Last, lavish yourself within Immerse, Detroit's only resort style Spa. Immerse Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Tingo so you can book your MGM Grand Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgm Grand Detroit Hotel Detroit
Mgm Grand Hotel Detroit
Detroit Mgm Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MGM Grand Detroit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.