We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Opening night for the DETROIT REDWINGS.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MGM Grand Detroit

Save Saved
You added MGM Grand Detroit to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
MGM Grand Detroit
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1777 Third Street, Detroit, MI 48226   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 33 hotels in Detroit
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brighton, Michigan, USA
1 review
“Opening night for the DETROIT REDWINGS.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the MGM the night of the home opener. The staff called a taxi for us to get there and back so we did not have the hassle of parking our own vehicle and fighting to get in and out of the lot. The staff is exceptionally helpful and accommodating. Everyone treated us with the utmost respect and was very friendly. We love the way we are treated when we stay over night. They truly do make you feel like a VIP!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    355
    140
    27
    16
    23
See reviews for
55
257
33
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marshall, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Can't say enough about the facilities and service. Luxury all the way. High end furnishings, bed, shower bigger than a room, very nice hair/shower products, very clean and the air in the hotel and elevators smelled incredible. I want my house air to smell that great. It really is an amazing place. Service from staff was just awesome. They don't mess around there. Everyone seems to care and wants me to have a great experience. I was impressed and that's not easy. I'm not a big casino person, so that wasn't a draw. Great place for a conference however. Food in conference was all very good. Food at dining court/breeze was pretty mediocre. Wasn't able to try the other dining. Some things to improve. It would have been nice to have had better room temperature comfort control. I was very hot, despite it being chilly outside. I had not good way to cool down the room. Remained hot, even though I turned it down to 65 and turned on the fan. Rooms need more outlets for charging/using mobile devices and CPAP. Could not figure out how to get into room mini-bar--no instructions, so I didn't use the in-room mini-bar option. Oh, I forgot, spa facilities are great as well. Excellent massage.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed at the MGM Hotel in January. This hotel is one of the most comfortable hotels that have ever stayed in. The linens and bed were very comfortable. The rooms were very clean and very modern. This hotel is a little more expensive than others, but every penny is worth the comfort and luxury that you get when staying overnight at the MGM Grand Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This was our second stay at the MGM Grand. The first was for the Detroit Marathon, and we were so impressed with the room that we wanted to go back sometime when we could enjoy it more. We brought our teenage son along and ran into some trouble. It should be clearly stated that the restaurants are not available to anyone under 21. We had no idea that we would not be able to eat at any of the restaurants we had hoped to visit. We asked for a security escort for our teenaged son but were told we would have had to call 2 weeks in advance....but this information was not printed or conveyed to us in any way prior to our arrival. To have so many restaurants inaccessible was a huge disappointment and we were forced to eat in the Sports Bar, with average food. The spa and fitness center are beautiful, with a great pool. Overall, it's a beautiful hotel, but a hotel of this level should have more than a sports bar available as restaurant options.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludington, Michigan, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

What a magnificent hotel! You can't go wrong with this beautiful hotel. The rooms are first class. All staff is very accommodating.
The casino floor is very clean and the games are lots of fun. Come one come al and experience it for yourself

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

There are a few reasons I gave this hotel/casino a 4, both good and bad. I was only in the casino for 2 hours, and I didn't stay at the hotel, so I will only base this review on the casino itself. First the bad or not so good:

- The casino wreaked of smoke, and I am not a smoker. There was a small smoke free section, but emphasis on small.
- A friend went to use the toilet and over heard the janitor cleaning the stall next to him using profane language about how he hated what he was doing, and that he was fed up to put it nicely. Not what you want any of your employees saying in front of patrons, no matter where they are in the hotel.
- We were getting in the elevator from our parking spot and were asked for money by a lady in a leather jacket to get gas for her car. Her story seemed legit and we were able to help a little, however we then spotted her down in the casino area 2 minutes later. She then spoke to us again and asked us where the valet was. We found this very weird, and are probably just making a big deal out of nothing, but it wasn't the best first impression to have been made on us.
- We did go on a Saturday night, but we couldn't find any tables for under $15 a hand. A little too steep for our liking.
- I only saw 1 drink lady come around the whole 2 hours I was there.

The good:
- One of my buddies wanted to play poker but he didn't know there was a dress code. He had on a t-shirt and jeans, and was allowed to go into the poker room any way. The workers in that area were understanding.
- I like slots from time to time, and this place had tons of slots. Slots upon slots. Tons to choose from, and a lot of brand new slots that were a lot of fun to play.
- 1 person left up $100 playing slots, I left up $10 playing slots, and two others left down $40 and down $50 playing roulette and poker respectively.
- Signage was clear and easy to spot from many areas of the floor. We could find the ticket redemption areas, restrooms and the exit fairly easy.

Overall, I enjoyed my experience, and didn't over stay my welcome. Got in, played some slots, went up, went down, and left up. All in all, it's hard to beat that, just wish it wasn't so smokey inside.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Sadly, Detroit id not the greatest city to visit these days and downtown looks to have taken a real hit over the past couple of decades. The surrounding areas of Detroit and the suburbs were lovely though and only a twenty minute cab ride from downtown.

The hotel itself had very modern and comfortable rooms and the staff were very friendly and attentive. This was possibly due to the fact that they seemed overstaffed and underbooked. The spa was also very clean and comfortable.

The casino is a vast but also a bit depressing and a far cry from the fun and frolics of Vegas so I stayed away from the tables.

In short, if you happen to need a room in downtown Michigan then you can't go wrong with the place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to MGM Grand Detroit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MGM Grand Detroit

Address: 1777 Third Street, Detroit, MI 48226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#2 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#2 Green Hotel in Detroit
#2 Family Hotel in Detroit
#2 Business Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — MGM Grand Detroit 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While in Detroit, get down to business at the ultimate entertainment destination, MGM Grand Detroit. Surround yourself in timeless design in our ultra-chic hotel. Dream big on king-size beds with 300 thread count sheets, relax in our oversized marble baths with dual rain shower heads. Or indulge yourself in a garden of earthly delights within our signature restaurants, or nightlife options. Last, lavish yourself within Immerse, Detroit's only resort style Spa. Immerse Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Reservation Counter, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your MGM Grand Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgm Grand Detroit Hotel Detroit
Mgm Grand Hotel Detroit
Detroit Mgm Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MGM Grand Detroit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.