We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Achieve” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MGM Grand Detroit

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added MGM Grand Detroit to your Saves list
MGM Grand Detroit
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1777 Third Street, Detroit, MI 48226   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ludington, Michigan, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Achieve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

What a magnificent hotel! You can't go wrong with this beautiful hotel. The rooms are first class. All staff is very accommodating.
The casino floor is very clean and the games are lots of fun. Come one come al and experience it for yourself

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    153
    30
    17
    25
See reviews for
64
289
34
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

There are a few reasons I gave this hotel/casino a 4, both good and bad. I was only in the casino for 2 hours, and I didn't stay at the hotel, so I will only base this review on the casino itself. First the bad or not so good:

- The casino wreaked of smoke, and I am not a smoker. There was a small smoke free section, but emphasis on small.
- A friend went to use the toilet and over heard the janitor cleaning the stall next to him using profane language about how he hated what he was doing, and that he was fed up to put it nicely. Not what you want any of your employees saying in front of patrons, no matter where they are in the hotel.
- We were getting in the elevator from our parking spot and were asked for money by a lady in a leather jacket to get gas for her car. Her story seemed legit and we were able to help a little, however we then spotted her down in the casino area 2 minutes later. She then spoke to us again and asked us where the valet was. We found this very weird, and are probably just making a big deal out of nothing, but it wasn't the best first impression to have been made on us.
- We did go on a Saturday night, but we couldn't find any tables for under $15 a hand. A little too steep for our liking.
- I only saw 1 drink lady come around the whole 2 hours I was there.

The good:
- One of my buddies wanted to play poker but he didn't know there was a dress code. He had on a t-shirt and jeans, and was allowed to go into the poker room any way. The workers in that area were understanding.
- I like slots from time to time, and this place had tons of slots. Slots upon slots. Tons to choose from, and a lot of brand new slots that were a lot of fun to play.
- 1 person left up $100 playing slots, I left up $10 playing slots, and two others left down $40 and down $50 playing roulette and poker respectively.
- Signage was clear and easy to spot from many areas of the floor. We could find the ticket redemption areas, restrooms and the exit fairly easy.

Overall, I enjoyed my experience, and didn't over stay my welcome. Got in, played some slots, went up, went down, and left up. All in all, it's hard to beat that, just wish it wasn't so smokey inside.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Sadly, Detroit id not the greatest city to visit these days and downtown looks to have taken a real hit over the past couple of decades. The surrounding areas of Detroit and the suburbs were lovely though and only a twenty minute cab ride from downtown.

The hotel itself had very modern and comfortable rooms and the staff were very friendly and attentive. This was possibly due to the fact that they seemed overstaffed and underbooked. The spa was also very clean and comfortable.

The casino is a vast but also a bit depressing and a far cry from the fun and frolics of Vegas so I stayed away from the tables.

In short, if you happen to need a room in downtown Michigan then you can't go wrong with the place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Michigan, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The front desk staff and the rooms are both really nice.
The beds and the pillows are sooo comfortable.
Rooms are very clean.
No noise from other rooms or hallways.
Bathrrom is well it, ligh are on a dimmer and mirror has a TV built in so you can watch the news while shavin or putting on your makeup.
All in all , a really nice place to stay. You won't be sorry.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MI
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was my second stay at the MGM Casino/Hotel and I visit the casino a few times a year. The staffs are very friendly at the front desk and were more than willing to offer suggestions. The rooms are Vegas style. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud - super soft, many pillow options. The shower was the size of a small walk-in closet and both the shower and toilet were behind frosted glass enclosures.

The casino is the best in Detroit and the closest you'll get to a Vegas experience. They always bring in new slot machines and frequently change up the floor layout. There are several bars around the casino, so getting a drink isn't a problem; especially since it didn't appear many servers walked the floors (more appeared near the table games).

I'm an M-Life card holder and I enjoy the perks that are offered. It definitely keeps me going to the casino as well as visiting their Vegas properties.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I had felt welcomed and appreciated during my entire stay. Everyone from the valet to the doorman to the front desk made me feel special. I also got a fabulous suite with luxurious furnishings and great bathrooms (2 in my room!) every night and refreshed items every morning. The gym and spa area is also the most beautiful I have ever seen for a "non-resort" hotel. Wow!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is a first class hotel. The amenities are the best and every one of the staff went out of their way to make sure we were well looked after (and we are not celebrities). The room was extremely well appointed, Wolfgang Puck's restaurant was excellent (considering the barn of a room he had to contend with in making this restaurant somewhat cozy) and there is a casino which made my wife's day (or stay would be more appropriate).
Stay there, it's a fun place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to MGM Grand Detroit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MGM Grand Detroit

Address: 1777 Third Street, Detroit, MI 48226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Detroit
#1 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#1 Business Hotel in Detroit
#2 Green Hotel in Detroit
#2 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — MGM Grand Detroit 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While in Detroit, get down to business at the ultimate entertainment destination, MGM Grand Detroit. Surround yourself in timeless design in our ultra-chic hotel. Dream big on king-size beds with 300 thread count sheets, relax in our oversized marble baths with dual rain shower heads. Or indulge yourself in a garden of earthly delights within our signature restaurants, or nightlife options. Last, lavish yourself within Immerse, Detroit's only resort style Spa. Immerse Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MGM Domestic, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Reservation Counter, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your MGM Grand Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgm Grand Detroit Hotel Detroit
Mgm Grand Hotel Detroit
Detroit Mgm Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MGM Grand Detroit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.