We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MGM Grand Detroit

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added MGM Grand Detroit to your Saves list
MGM Grand Detroit
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1777 Third Street, Detroit, MI 48226   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Royal Oak, Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Exceptional service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed at the MGM for 1 night at the tail end of our trip and wished we wouldve stayed longer. I cant tell you how happy I was after 3 days of poor service to be here. From the front desk staff, bell hops, drivers, doormen, and room service. EVERYONE was polite, courteous, called us by our names, and went way out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our stay. The decor of the rooms and hotel in general is pristinely clean and modern. The gym and pool are outstanding - no cheap equipment here. And our room service food was even excellent. So although everything in the hotel is great, its the people here that make it a cut above the rest.

Room Tip: Stay on the concierge level if you can. The views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    170
    34
    21
    28
See reviews for
73
325
39
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northville, Michigan
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Terrible...we ate at the Bourbon Steak restaurant and the meal was good. 3 days later I see another CHARGE on my debit card for some amount I NEVER authorized! After calling the manager to resolve I got the cold shoulder and he would not come to the phone, instead he had the wait staff take my information and said they would send it to finance and call me in 24 hours - YEAH RIGHT! So 3 days pass and I call again and had to leave a message and still no call back. I am watching close so someone there at MGM is not buying BIG SCREEN TV's on my behalf. These people are CROOKS! Save your receipt so you have all your information to take to the bank... that's what i am doing Monday 8/8/2011 to dispute this charge since they won't even CALL ME BACK! STAY AWAY!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

This is an amazing hotel in downtown Detroit. The rooms are beautiful, the gym is state of the art, but most importantly the service was impeccable. The staff went of their way to make our stay as welcoming as possible. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We booked 3 nights in a corner suite, but checked out after the second night because of too many problems. For $500/night, we had a king size bed with a soft mattress that bowed in the middle, a nice shower with 3 bodysprays that formed a huge puddle of water on the floor every time we used it, 2 flat screen TVs that worked fine on regular channels but the audio cut out in the middle on pay-per-view movies and stayed out, a jacuzzi that mysteriously came on at 2AM, etc. The final straw was when we couldn't get back into the hotel without waiting in line for 15 minutes.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kannapolis, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We were taking our yearly trip through Michigan without a single hotel reservation. We usually stay at another Detroit-area casino but they were booked. So, we decided to give the MGM Detroit a try.
The hotel is beautiful and huge from the outside. It's in a well-kept part of town with lots of businessy-looking buildings around. We pulled up to the door looking for hotel self-park and were advised if you were a guest of the hotel, valet was pretty much mandatory. The only other parking option would be casino self-park, which is across the entire complex, and you are not allowed to drag your luggage through the casino.
We were met at valet by very helpful bellmen that helped load our luggage onto a cart and met us promptly upstairs. Check-in was a breeze and the front desk staff was very friendly.
On the way to the elevators, you meet a doorman who inspects your room key to ensure you're a guest (which I think is a great policy, casino or not) and you go through the "living room" to the guest elevators. A quick trip up and you're at your room.
We had no problems with the room. It was very modern and clean. There were, however, some glasses and napkins, presumably from room service, that were outside our door. Granted, another guest could've just stuck them there. But that was really not even a problem because they were gone by the time we left the room later that evening.
The room we stayed in had two queen size beds, two comfortable leather seats, and a lovely bathroom. There's even a little flat screen tv attached to the bathroom mirror.
The casino was by far the best part of our stay. We aren't big gamblers and just enjoy the atmosphere and still had a great time. The casino is just past the front desk, so everything is very conveniently located. We hung out at one of the bars watching the end of the Tigers game and talked with the friendliest bartender, Don. We didn't win much on the machines, but that's okay. We ended the night with a late night (1am) meal at their food court, which offers Mexican, American, Chinese foods as well as desserts. There were several other nice restaurants but we were there too late to try them. The food was actually pretty good and it wasn't quite the price gouge you'd expect from a late-night food court.
Overall I would definitely recommend the MGM Detroit. It is a little more expensive than the other Detroit casino-hotels, but the service you receive from when you arrive to checkout makes it really seem worth it!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kalamazoo
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

The rooms have great views, excellent beds, extremely clean. Room service has fantastic food. Personnel are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Everything was on site. Took advantage of the spa, which was wonderful. Pool was very relaxing. Massage staff very professional. Casino was fun, though a little smoky as most of them are.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to MGM Grand Detroit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MGM Grand Detroit

Address: 1777 Third Street, Detroit, MI 48226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#1 Business Hotel in Detroit
#2 Family Hotel in Detroit
#2 Green Hotel in Detroit
#2 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — MGM Grand Detroit 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While in Detroit, get down to business at the ultimate entertainment destination, MGM Grand Detroit. Surround yourself in timeless design in our ultra-chic hotel. Dream big on king-size beds with 300 thread count sheets, relax in our oversized marble baths with dual rain shower heads. Or indulge yourself in a garden of earthly delights within our signature restaurants, or nightlife options. Last, lavish yourself within Immerse, Detroit's only resort style Spa. Immerse Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, MGM Domestic, Orbitz and EasyToBook so you can book your MGM Grand Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgm Grand Detroit Hotel Detroit
Mgm Grand Hotel Detroit
Detroit Mgm Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MGM Grand Detroit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.