We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good time” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vicente's Cuban Cuisine

Vicente's Cuban Cuisine
1250 Library Street, Detroit, MI 48226
(313) 962-8800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 973 Restaurants in Detroit
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
“A good time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

This is a very friendly and fun cantina. Food -3 stars. Service-5 stars Overall experience- 4 stars Come on a Saturday night for salsa dancing, good drinks and enjoyable food. Go to Miami if you want 5 star Cuban cuisine.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    36
    10
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
“Great Food & Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Call Ahead and make reservations, its always a wait on Friday and Saturday Nights. You will enjoy the salsa lessons during and after dinner. The employees are really nice and make you feel right at home.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Savory Experience on a Busy Night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Boy, were we glad we made reservations for 6:00 on a Saturday night! This place was a beehive of activity! And it was definitely worth the visit. Though we were seated in a high traffic area with people coming and going all around is, it turned into a blessing. Our server passed by us frequently and was very attentive. He suggested a house special tapa that was absolutely incredible -- shrimps, calamari, scallops in an unbelievably savory sauce. I had the zarzuela, which I highly recommend -- sort of like a seafood paella without the rice. My husband enjoyed his tilapia, also incredibly savory with lots of flavor. Afterwards, we enjoyed probably the best port I have ever had, also recommended by our server. (Wish I remembered his name!). All in all, an excellent experience. Too bad we weren't able to stick around for the salsa dancing at 10!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best value for quality food, service and atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Whenever we have friends in town we take them to Vicentes. The food is consistent, the menu is large, the prices are fair and the sangria is incredible. Always top notch service. We love ordering the tapas and sharing with the table. The deep fried plantains are must every time we visit. The dance lessons on the weekends are fun too! I tried a Cuban restaurant in Royal Oak and never went back. We always call and make a reservation on busy nights and never have a problem being seated ahead of the line waiting.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best paella and sangria this side of Barcelona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

My husband and I went there for dinner this summer. Ever since we've been to Barcelona for a cruise we have tried to find paella and sangria that could come close to duplicating what we experienced there. We finally found it with Vicente's! The sangria and paella were delicious and the service was outstanding. Cant wait to go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vicente's Cuban Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Vicente's Cuban Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vicente's Cuban Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.