We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to waste away a relaxing day” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eastern Market

Eastern Market
2934 Russell St., Detroit, MI 48207
313-833-9300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Shopping in Detroit
Type: Flea/ Street Markets, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Farmer's market.
Ocala, Florida
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Great way to waste away a relaxing day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We visited on a Tuesday, when the market was open but not filled as it usually would be. We enjoyed all the produce and other products that were available at very good prices. Since we were traveling into Canada that afternoon, we could not buy any of the produce. Parking was not hard to find, and the area seemed safe and friendly.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    20
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adrian, Michigan
Top Contributor
1,319 reviews 1,319 reviews
393 attraction reviews
Reviews in 330 cities Reviews in 330 cities
558 helpful votes 558 helpful votes
“Great Discovery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is a great place to spend a Saturday browsing for produce, bakery products and other goodies. My son just moved to Detroit to attend Wayne State Law School and he has fallen in love with this city. The well-earned sad reputation Detroit had garnered over the past 40 years is starting to give way to an increasing number of wonderful pockets of surprising delight. We live about 70 miles from Detroit and have gone into the city for ballgames and other niceties on occasion. I had no idea this market existed until my son was made aware of it. But, judging by the attendance, it was no secret to the community at large. It was a beautiful summer Saturday when we stopped in and, as such, the place was teeming with visitors. We were highly impressed by the number of vendors offering quality produce, baked goods and other items at very reasonable prices. There are also shops on the periphery that are worth a stop. Germacks Coffee Roasters is a notable place for a quick respite as is their nut shop. There was also a rather sizeable antiques shop that was worth walking through. The setup was clean and very safe. We were mostly impressed by the atmosphere about this place, however. I normally don't like large crowds but somehow being part of the event going on in this case made the crowded conditions unnoticeable. Another reviewer commented that it was like being in Europe and that is probably a good comparison. The only difficulty was finding a parking place. Once you solve that dilemma, however, you are in for a nice morning or afternoon. If you are near Detroit and want a nice outdoor activity on a Saturday, this is a worthwhile visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Bustling and lively”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We went on a Flower Day event on a Sunday. It took a while to find parking but after a short walk we were in a bustling and lively market full of vendors and people. We had lunch at the food trucks and went around enjoying the various booths and atmosphere. It was a great place to see the spirit of the Detroit locals!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Michigan
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Like being in Europe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I had never been interested in visiting Eastern Market in Detroit, but my family and I went a few weeks ago and we all loved it. We went very early in the morning and had breakfast at one of several little restaurants there, that unless you arrive at at 7 am and wait for the to open, you will not find a table. The place is packed! We ate at Russell St. Restaurant and the food was delicious. Afterwards we began walking through the market and we could not believe the variety of plants, flowers (at excellent prices), mushrooms, fruits and vegetables we saw. Everything looked so fresh. Behind the market, there was a huge butcher´s shop, and then a fish shop with every fish and type of seafood you may want. It was seriously like being in a street market in Italy or France. A total breath of fresh air! Planning to go back very soon!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Worth a journey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stunning, a bounty of glorious green and every other fruit and veg color -- and herbs and craft foods. There are even food trucks and a music venue across the street.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eastern Market also viewed

 

Been to Eastern Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eastern Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.