We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly clean, but terrible staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Viking Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Viking Motel to your Saves list
Viking Motel
2720 Grand River Avenue, Detroit, MI 48201   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 34 Hotels in Detroit
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Surprisingly clean, but terrible staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

Firstly this isn't a family-friendly motel - it has shady characters, bulletproof glass at the office, in a sketchy area (though very close to downtown), and porn on the TV - but none of that bothers me and I actually prefer to stay in edgier locations for a more authentic experience of the city I'm in so I enjoyed that. The rooms were surprisingly well furnished and very clean too.
However, the staff are shocking. I booked & prepaid through Hotel Club (booked other motels too through there with no problems), but the Viking Motel staff couldn't see a payment because they have no computer system, and treated me like I was trying to rip them off. I was almost late to the Pistons game trying to sort it out and it was still unresolved. Then at 7am I'm woken by that guy's dad calling me from reception, YELLING down the phone at me "YOU NOT PAY ME YET! WHY YOU NOT PAY?" I had to get up and try to sort it out with him, who had very limited English. I called Hotel Club who needed to speak to the motel but because of his English he refused and I had to wait for his son to come back and call them back. Finally he sorted it out on the phone with Hotel Club, but I didn't even get an apology for being woken up early, then treated like a criminal trying to cheat them - just a "Ok its done now."
Also for around $60 a night it's way overpriced. The average I was paying for an equivalent motel was around $40, and of all cities, Detroit shouldn't be more expensive.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    2
    1
    15
See reviews for
Families
0
8
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
1 review
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

we were handed a key room 27 by the indians that spoke little english at the front desk of the Vikling Motel. as we approached the door, a 300 pound black man exited what was supposed to be our room. after exchanging confused looks, we returned to the front desk for a new room as the manager, who was creepily drinking a glass of milk, ran out and chased said black man down the road. luckily for us, we were standing in the office that was surrounded by bulletproof glass. then the manager came in and offered us room 26, next to the room with the mysterious black man. note of advice : dont cheap out on a fifty dollar hotel. especially this one. i would recommend this hotel only to a freind that i hate.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

I thought since I would only be sleeping in this room for a few hours that it was no big deal to stay in a motel that I normally would not. I woke up the next morning covered in bed bug bites. When I returned home I actually saw a bed bug crawl out of my suit case. I should have paid the extra money and stayed at a chain where I could have at least filed a complaint and it would have mattered. The money I have spent on making sure my house is safe from bed bugs could have been spent on a well known hotel. I will never make this mistake again. This motel should be closed down by the health dept! DO NOT STAY AT THIS BED BUG INFESTED MOTEL!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope, Ar.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

This whatever it was is not fit to be use as a motel. You couldn't understand the receptionist, and the so call VIP room, no way! The room that my husband and I stayed in , the bed almost flip him when he sat down. Rat droppings in the bathroom over the sink. Wires hanging everwhere. He had to shut the door 3 TIMES for it to shut. Windows painted, you couldn't look outside. We cancel the week there and they still debit my husband card and got paid. The Bible said "Touch not thou ANOINTED and do thy PROPHET no harm". My husband is a PASTOR and what they did will not prosper. Please make sure you check things out . If you go through a TRAVEL AGENT make sure THEY check things before THEY book it for you. It's not fit for a dog to stay in.
It's more of a place for pimps and their clientel, and for anybody who wants a quick fix. It really need to be torn down.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akpatel1800, manager at Viking Motel, responded to this review, August 14, 2009
We are really sorry madam. I am agreeing that we had really bad management but we change the management and we also renovating whole motel too. We are having special price promotion going on. And we also put suggestion box in front lobby so now guest also can help us too make our place better and better everyday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2009

We stayed one night and the following happened (ALL IN ONE NIGHT!)
- The toilet didn't work
- The cupboards in the bathroom was filled with USED toilet paper and tissues
- EVERYTHING in the hotel was dirty
- The bathroom floor and bedroom carpets was soooo sticky
- We had a begger come up to us in the carpark within 5 mins of arriving
- We had a prank call from another room swearing at us
- We had to use 2 remote controls for the tv - one to turn the tv on and one to change the channel. The remote to turn the tv on and off didn't work, then we had to manually go though all the channels to find the one that worked
- No ice, drink or vending machines

I could not believe that this all happened in one night. There is nothing good about this hotel. I was so scared for the whole night i hardly slept

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2008

We wouldn't get out of the car. Bad part of town. Overpriced. Canceled reservations and still got billed for 2 days. Police tape around 2 rooms. No front desk, just a small bulletproof window. Go to the Holiday Inn Express, cheaper rooms and just up the street. No one speaks English you could understand. Pictures of the Motel are very misleading.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Dangerous place
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uniontown
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

When we pulled up i wanted to puke, it looks like a crack house.
Run for your life from this place. Within 5 min we were solicited for prostituion and cocaine by a hotel worker. I've never written a review in my life, but seriously how don't know how the health department hasn't shut this place down.

  • Liked — leaving it asap
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Viking Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Motel

Address: 2720 Grand River Avenue, Detroit, MI 48201
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 34 Hotels in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Viking Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Detroit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viking Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.