We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tom's Oyster Bar (Downtown)

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tom's Oyster Bar (Downtown)
519 E Jefferson Ave, Detroit, MI 48226-4324
313-964-4010
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #199 of 974 Restaurants in Detroit
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Holt, Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We went prior to Jimmy Buffett. The oysters on the half shell were big and very good. Beer was cold and the bloody Mary was excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    19
    13
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Service excellent,oysters fab!,fish-average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We are staying at Caesars Hotel in Windsor and took the tunnel bus over to Detroit (cost $4 each). The bus driver was a riot and dropped us off right out front of the restaurant . It was a very hot day and the air conditioning was broken.. When we waled in, it was like a steam bath! The back part was cooler so we sat there . Brittany was our server and she was awesome. My husband had the sampler platter of oysters (24) an.d they were fabulous. I ordered fish and chips. The fish was average tasting, tempura batter was soft but not greasy. We had a beer each, on tap.. Wasn't the coldest but can't complain ... Would go again but would not have the fish and chips.. All the staff were great and service was excellent...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Will not go back”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Close walk to the waterfront event. Fast service but it was grungy, rundown, fruit flies, and I got the runs after. Wouldn't go back. Not sure what the hype is all about. My friends salmon blt was good. The chocolate lava cake was not fresh and like it was microwaved.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, MIchigan
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great food great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Fun atmosphere , great food, good service, great value. My favorite is the fried lake perch! Best perch anywhere! Good location downtown Detroit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, Maryland
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Good Lake Superior Fish”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

A pleasant place, retro-feel, a homey icon in downtown Detroit. Enjoyed the blackened whitefish. Very reasonable prices. Offered lunch-size portions at dinnertime -- nice to have that choice. Very attentive staff.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tom's Oyster Bar (Downtown) also viewed

 

Been to Tom's Oyster Bar (Downtown)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tom's Oyster Bar (Downtown), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.