We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Try... Lafayette Rules!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of American Coney Island

American Coney Island
114 W Lafayette Blvd, Detroit, MI 48226-2609
(313) 964-6542
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #101 of 912 Restaurants in Detroit
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Californian, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice Try... Lafayette Rules!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Visited Detroit for the 4th of July and had our own little coney dog challenge... Who makes the better dog: Lafayette or American?

American's staff was nicer, restaurant cleaner (Ok, in comparison to Lafayette - but still a Restaurant Impossible candidate!), and coney dog good. It was an overall good experience, and had Lafayette not been right next door we'd have left thinking that was great... but Lafayette's coney was simply better.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    43
    42
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Urbandale, Iowa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“dogs and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stopped at this place after seeing it on food network. It is a loud, busy place for lunch. 3 of us ordered the full hot dog with everything and was not disappointed. The dog had a great crunch to it and the chili was awesome. The iced tea was terrible, but its from a machine so no surprise, they need to make it fresh. Good experience! The service was great, friendly, attentive, right there. We then went next door to the Lafeyette, not the same, see the review for that one.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“The As-Seen-On-TV thing was the main reason to stop in.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Four of us went here after a concert in Detroit. I am a vegetarian and was not hungry, so I didn't order any food. They ordered coney dogs all around and chili cheese fries. They all liked the food. I thought the floor was very dirty, like they don't sweep up during the day at all. It made me wonder if they had notice before the TV show was taped to clean up the place?

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“disappointing even by hot dog standards”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

me and a buddy tried this the other night. we were both excited to try this place and the place next door after seeing them featured on tv. I went in with low expectations, and even with that, it fell short. the chili dogs tasted just like any other generic chili dog you can get from any street vendor in any major city. if anything, I would say this place is a little worse than your average dog from a street vendor. also, worse yet, my buddy and I both had upset stomachs the next day, with identical symptoms that lasted for roughly the same amount of time - into the middle of the next afternoon. it wasn't a big deal, just mild indigestion, but everything considered, i'd avoid this place. which is a shame, because I do love food like this - late night dogs, gyros, burgers, etc. too bad this place is a miss. FWIW, I think next door at Lafayette is also a miss, but maybe slightly better than American.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, Tn
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“One of the world's great coney dogs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

American Coney Island was one of the two reasons that I came to Detroit. The coney dog served here is awesome. The buns are steamed, the dog and chili are hot, the onion is fresh and the mustard is spicy. Service is typical diner style, the ambience is equally diner style, but the food is great. If you want to try one of the truly great coney dogs in the world, come here.

Right next door is an equal competitor worthy of a visit. Check both places out and decide for yourself which place comes in number #1.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American Coney Island also viewed

 

Been to American Coney Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage American Coney Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.