We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cajun Cuisine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fishbone's Rhythm Kitchen Cafe

Fishbone's Rhythm Kitchen Cafe
400 Monroe Street, Ste 480, Detroit, MI 48226-2960
313-965-4600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 912 Restaurants in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Cajun Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We love Fishbones. 99.999% of the time it's fabulous. The ONLY time it wasn't we asked for a different server. From there on the evening was great.

Generous portions of Cajun delight are brought to your table. If you like the sauces and condiments they are available for sale to take home. I find this a terrific benefit. Sometimes you want the taste without going out,

What you will not find on the menu is the celebrity presence. You never know who you'll see dining at a table next to you. Without dropping names, we were treated to a night of laughter with one of the Pro Athlete's from a Detroit team. If you are fortunate enough to have this happen to you just keep it on the down low ... they're people too and sometimes don't want the fuss and notoriety. They'll take a personal interest in you as well because of your ability to keep it cool.

After dinner there's lots to do in the Greektown area. The casino is there if you want to gamble but there are several clubs to party in within steps of Fishbones.

Great night out in The D.

Park at the Greektown Casino (free), walk through the Casino and across the street. You're there!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    140
    55
    21
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pinckney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“After the auto show treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We took the people mover from Cobo Hall to Fishbone's. This was my first time there and I must say it was very good. I had the Catfish and it was great. Service was very good. We felt safe, police were right outside. Easy to get to.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strongsville, Ohio
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Creole for Northerners”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a long way from the creole/cajun food you might get in NOLA. Gumbo was acceptable, nothing was anything but OK (we had a party of 8). Service quite slow at lunch. One thing they have is location. Across the streey from Greektown Casino and right at a People Mover stop. Convenient place to meet friends when going to an event at The Joe or Cobo. Lunch prices were quite high for the value received.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great place to meet with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We used to go here all the time and we really need to get back. The food was amazing. Loved that you could try all kinds of hot sauces. The service was amazing. Our regular group can be a bit rowdy but we fit right in and the servers are always accommodating. Can be pricey but worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good place to go whenever!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Fishbones is probably the best place to go to whenever. Before a game, after a game, for lunch, dinner, date, happy hour or just want to relax. You don't need to have an excuse to eat here. The menu wages from a wide variety of food from steak to seafood and even sushi. I have heard from people that the sushi hear is not that good, but take it from me, the sushi is good to me. In fact, the California King Crab Rolls is one of the main things I order! That or I get the spicy ravioli dish (forgot the name of it but very good) whenever I am there. I don't really have a specific story to go along with Fishbones but if you eat here, you won't be dissapointed!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fishbone's Rhythm Kitchen Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Fishbone's Rhythm Kitchen Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fishbone's Rhythm Kitchen Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.