We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monday Night Buffet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roma Cafe

Roma Cafe
3401 Riopelle St, Detroit, MI 48207-2020
(313) 831-5940
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #83 of 973 Restaurants in Detroit
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Monday Night Buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I had dinner with family here on Monday night. Had a very good experience. Food was great, not the best Italian food I've eaten but very good and a nice variety. They served dishes like Veal Parmesan, Spaghetti with Meat Sauce, Roasted Potatoes, Mostaccioli, Sausage and Peppers and Cannolis. The staff was very friendly and took very good care of us. We did run into a slight problem ordering food to go even though we called ahead for it but they did correct it. Overall very nice experience. Restrooms do need to be updated! They are WAY TOO SMALL!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    25
    18
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Italian food without italian atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

When i was told Roma Cafe is oldest Italian restaurant in Detroit my expectations were raised immediately, 120 year old experience should have reflected in service and food quality.First all of Roma Cafe is not an avarage Italian but also not top of the list.Waiters in tuxedos were nice to watch however unlike typical Italian restaurants they didn't add much value to the atmosphere. We ordered prosciutto and buffalo mozzarella but got avarage Italian cold cuts and cheese. We didn't much argue with waiters since we desperately need to start to eat but we were pretty much disappointed.Surprisingly our disappoinment turned into admiration when our main courses were served. My seapood pasta was amazing probably the best i ever have had in my life.They don't have an extensive wine list and the Amorone we had was very avarage.All in all there are cons and pros for Roma Cafe, i suggest to go there in a small group, keep your expectations for starters at a moderate level and be careful with Amorone!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison Heights, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“poor wait staff with heavy accent”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My first time at the restaurant with a group of about 20 people with reservation made over a week prior and we got seated in a small room. The room was small and I felt claustrophobic. The waiters came by took our orders. Then when the food came, the same waiters where standing in the middle of the small room calling out who got this dish and who got that dish. At the same time, one waiter was asking another waiter in Arabic language what to do. The waiters spoke Arabic to each other and they have a heavy accent which made it somewhat hard to understand them. My friend next to me ordered broccoli and the waiter comes with green beans on a separate dish (instead of placing it next to the steak), he said they ran out of broccoli and placed it on the table. One waiter comes in and said in front of the whole group if anyone wants coffee, instead of walking to each table. Then he comes back with water and does the same thing. Then the same waiters came back asked us what we wanted for dessert. We had no idea what we wanted because they didn't give us a menu. So we asked for the dessert menu and we ordered. Dessert was good. But the service can make or break and I would not recommend this place. This is a beautiful restaurant, however the wait staff made us feel not very welcomed. It seemed like we where just another group.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Always a choice when we are in downtown Detroit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Love the waiters in tuxedos. Crazy around the sports scheduled events in Detroit. A true treasure. You must try to get there early.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton Township, Michigan
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Not as good as past visits”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

First off - Roma Cafe has always come through with wonderful meals, service etc. But last night it was different. The dark haired hostess could not have been more rude. She barely acknowledged anyone, no smile, nothing. I am glad I was paying attention when she called our party, otherwise we would probably have been left standing. Our waiter was very good, a bit too hovering, he was one of the newer waiters. Most are wonderful and have been there for years.
It seemed to take longer than usual for our meal. Everything looked wonderful. This time I ordered veal scallopini with artichokes. A lot of extra oil on the plate, a lot of extra sauce. It was good, but not as good as in the past. Perhaps just a bad night. This will not put me off to going back and I will have the veal scallopini again because it was very good in the past.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roma Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Roma Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roma Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.