We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Mexicantown Restaurant in Detroit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Xochimilco Restaurant

Xochimilco Restaurant
3409 Bagley St, Detroit, MI 48216-1633
313-843-0179
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #134 of 912 Restaurants in Detroit
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Good Mexicantown Restaurant in Detroit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Had lunch there with a friend, and it was very, very good. The place was packed. I don't drink, but people tell me that the margaritas are dynamite. I would definitely return.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    66
    23
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun in Mexicantown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Everyone has to go to Xochimilco's - its a Mexicantown tradition. It's not gourmet but the food is good and you get a healthy serving. Margarita's are awesome.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walled Lake, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“In Mexican Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Always busy, Always the best food. The best Frozen Marguritas. We were seated quickly and the waitress came quickly

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dirty and Bland”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

There food is boring and stale, and tastes overly processed. The staff is nice enough, but this is easily the worst food in Mexicantown.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconisn
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Mediocre at best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

1st time, last time...disrespectful female staff sat laughing as a group, quite annoying while trying to enjoy dinner, instead of working, playing with themselves publicly and more. If you like this kind of thing this is your place. I wouldn't take my family here if someone pd me. The food was pricy for mexican food. There was enough to feed 2 easily for the fajitas my husband ordered and the beans and rice were good but it was truly just average mexican food for the money. 14.95 for fajitas. The young male waiter was EXCELLENT. Personally will never go back. Other restaurants that serve mexican that are much more professional and respectful of all patrons and more reasonable. Good margaritas, charge extra for flavored ones..20.00 a liter.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xochimilco Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Xochimilco Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xochimilco Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.