We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pedestrian Mexican” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mexican Town

Mexican Town
3457 Bagley St, Detroit, MI 48216
(313) 841-5811
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #82 of 912 Restaurants in Detroit
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Singapore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Pedestrian Mexican”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Came here due to the excellent reviews i read.
I would first state the positives:
1. Food came fast. Entrees arrived within 5 minutes after ordering!
2. Portions are gigantic.
3. Blue margarita (recommended by a reviewer) was indeed good
4. Service was top-notch

However, the food was not really impressive, the taste was just not there.
This is quite a hard feat to achieve, cause generally Mexican taste really good.
I ordered the fajitas, and the beans are spices did not give enough of a kick. I could hardly taste the chicken and beef combo.

Was quite disappointed, considering all the good reviews i have read.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    33
    15
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“#1 for Food & Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Thirty people rented a bus from Tecumseh Ontario on Nov 24 to go to Mexican Town to celebrate a birthday. Had a blast! Lots of corona & margarita's and the portions of food made for lots of leftovers to take home. We easily had the loudest bunch in the place and nobody minded. We'll be doing this again!!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Excellent service, delicious food, clean restruant. I had the combination C. We also bought a dozen tamales to go for $5.99 safe parking too.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We have just loved the food for years and will continue going for years to come. The flaming cheese and super nachos are the greatest!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“good times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is one restaurant that know how to give it's patrons a great time and good food, fast service and a great sense of humor.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mexican Town also viewed

 

Been to Mexican Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mexican Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.