We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, slow service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Green Dot Stables

Green Dot Stables
2200 W. Lafayette Blvd, Detroit, MI
313-962-5588
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 973 Restaurants in Detroit
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Green-Dot-Stables/187091638022964
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great food, slow service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Went here with a group from work on a random Tuesday. We got there ahead of the lunch crowd and so were one of only a few tables there, however it still took the better part of 45 minutes for our food to arrive. That being said, the food was quite good. Within our group of 6 we ordered the Cuban, Buffalo Chicken, BBQ Bacon, Gyro, Mystery Meat (was kangaroo that day) (I'm sure I'm missing some), a couple soups and a variety of fries. All of the food was delicious! If the service wasn't so slow, I would for sure be back, however would like to go back again when I know I have some extra time.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    55
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, California
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Slider Specialist Cool Funky Cheap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

Set in a vacant lot and probably formerly surrounded by light industry, Detroit's derelict Union Station can be seen looming in the near distance. After parking in the corral- like lot, the inside is clean, bright and a little funky. The clientele for lunch in eclectic. Suits, T shirts and everything in between. Selection is sliders of many varieties at very reasonable prices. I had two plus a XX beer for $8! Service was friendly, service was quick. I would go again if I am in that part of Detroit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Cool decor and atmosphere. Comfortable bar. But I also came for the food... Most of the time they are out of a few things on the menu and they refuse to stock crown royal behind the bar. I have tried most of the menu. A few of the sliders are good but nothing to write home about.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southfield
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best Sliders”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I love this this place. The decor is great and I love that the portions are small, which means you can try a lot of different things. They have a variety of different sliders. So far my favorite is the Hot Brown which is chicken with mornay sauce and bacon. I really like it. I have also tried The catfish, grilled cheese, cuban, corned beef, and the mystery meat, which is different every week. And the steak au poivre which was way to peppery for me. Also the french fries are great and the Warm White Bean and Potato Salad was really good too. I have been there about three times and plan to keep going back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, Michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Tasty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Great Food! This menu is awesome, the sliders are all about 3 or less and they are perfect size and very tastful. The atmosphere is comfortable and relaxing. I highly recommend this place, the staff is great and sometimes they have karokee playing.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Dot Stables also viewed

 

Been to Green Dot Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Dot Stables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.