We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   351 Gratiot Avenue, Detroit, MI 48226   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park & Stay Package
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Detroit
Vicksburg, United States
1 review
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

very great hotel to stay at , close to all the action in Detroit, safe , clean place to stay. The price is very good for being downtown , and the valet service is very quick, safe and efficient. Always a good place to stay at for whatever reason in Detroit

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDETROIT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you! I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    160
    64
    28
    12
See reviews for
72
102
28
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

My son and I flew up to watch the Ravens v Lions on MNF. This place was perfect to stay for a short walk to Ford Field and dinner at Greektown. Check in was fast, security was in place and rooms were large and comfortable. We had an awesome view east toward Greektown, GM HQ and toward downtown. I would highly recommend if you can get a deal or use HHonors Pts but the rate they were asking is ridiculous. I would recommend staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ann arbor, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Never called me a cab and lied about it. Did not have my reservation on file and lid about it and put me in the wrong room. Too small for three people. I asked the front desk receptionist 5 times to call me a cab and she kp saying ok ok ok 10 minutes everytime and it never happened. The next day I asked the front desk guy to call me a cab and also he lied and a cab never came. I had to walk through the snow to get my car with non-winter shoes. I will never stay here again. Also the rates were errible compared to different hotels in h area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDETROIT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
I sincerely apologize that we were unable to accommodate you in the rooms you expected when you first arrived to our hotel. I assure you that we do everything we can to provide our guests the room they request however; there are times when our guests extend their stay with us. I sincerely apologize if this may have caused you any inconveniences. I also would like to take this time to apologize for any delays you might have incurred while waiting for a cab. We try and utilize multiple cab services, but when winter weather hits the city, many of the companies are very slow to respond due to driving conditions.

David Kipfmiller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallmadge, OH, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Great hotel & staff. Valet parking was a joke! I ended up parking & getting my car myself and still paid for valet. $20/day +tax. My room was clean. Thank you for the free coffee in the lobby in the morning.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

My dad and I stayed here in June of 2013 during the Orion music festival. We were a bit concerned about hotels in downtown Detroit - being detroit and all - but this place was a pleasent surprise. The place was very well kept. Our room was clean, had a comfortable bed, and was stocked with fresh towels every day. The staff were friendly, too. They were helpful in recommending places to eat. The parking fee was a bit of a letdown, but if that's the only thing that I can complain about - it's a great place to stay. It's a hop and a skip from Comerica park, which is also pretty nice. Sadly the Orion festival won't return for 2014 - but if it does in the future, we won't hesitate to stay here again. Metallica's crew stayed here - so it can't be that bad!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDETROIT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review. We are bummed out about the Orion Music Festival too. Hopefully Metallica will reconsider and come back for 2015.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Staff was amazing! Hot tub was broken when we were there, staff discounted room for us. Pool was nice little small but oh well. Bar was cool, great food. Room was nice, bed was VERY uncomfortable- only complaint!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Station, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This hotel is relatively new and is located within 5 minutes of the USA/Canada tunnel. It's was to get to and a great place to stay if you are spending your time downtown.
A group of us recently stayed at the Garden Inn while visiting Detroit for an NFL game. It's within two blocks of Ford Field and Comerica Park and restaurants and bars are all within walking distance.

The hotel itself is clean and has two restaurants which are quite adequate. The hotel also offers valet parking.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors as street noise can be a distraction
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown

Address: 351 Gratiot Avenue, Detroit, MI 48226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Detroit
#8 Business Hotel in Detroit
#9 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown hotel is located in downtown Detroit. Set in the heart of Harmonie Park, the hotel is surrounded by shops, restaurants and entertainment venues such as Ford Field and Comerica Park. Local businesses and corporate offices within walking distance to our hotel in Detroit, Michigan include Quicken Loans, Ernst and Young, PricewaterhouseCoopers and Compuware. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown Hotel Detroit
Detroit Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Detroit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.