We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five blocks from the stadiums” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   351 Gratiot Avenue, Detroit, MI 48226   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence 2014
NoCal
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Five blocks from the stadiums”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Four day reservation, plane gets delayed, not into DTW until 230am. Called earlier telling the desk very late. No problem, on arrival, the clerk was very nice, explaining all the amenities. I was actually one of the guests of the day, got a goodies bag witg treats and a gift. Nice touch. Up to the room, small but nice. Only thing was the exhaust fan in the bathroom was a tad loud and did nit have a switch to shut it off. Breakfast was good both days. Never used the fitness center nor bar. Valet parking was very attentive even at 3am when I checked in and 7am when I checked out. One thing I will say is everything seem to shut down by mignight and since I did not know my way around, I stayed to the ballpark and hotel even though I could see the MGM sign, knowing there has to be food at that late hour. During the day, I drove nearly 20 plus miles before I felt comfortable, and to a Target and Krogers super. Loaded up on snacks and fruit and brought it back. Overall, positive stay and cut the trip short because the World Series was over and changed my flight because of the fear of Sally. This would be the place to stay if you were going to a Tigers or Lions game.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDETROIT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for the review, and congrats on being guest of the day! We were glad to have you and hope to see you again soon.

David Kipfmiller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    172
    71
    30
    14
See reviews for
78
114
32
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We went to Detroit for a baseball game ( our team lost to the kitties) the hotel is two blocks from Comerica , which was great . Has a excellent restaurant with a even better bar . Close to the people mover so we could go anywhere in the city with out driving , walking distance from Fox theatre also! Overall the hotel is clean , the staff is friendly and it's in a great location , only down fall was some street noise late at night , sounded like kids racing motorcycles.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The staff was accommodating and friendly. Hotel and rooms were clean. The bed was incredibly comfortable! I stayed in a king-size. I frequented the pool/hot tub/fitness room daily. Though they're not the biggest, they were clean and suited my needs well. I love the central location. Walking distance to bars, restaurants, stadiums, Greektown, sight seeing, etc. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Upper floors facing the stadiums have a good view including the Tiger Stadium and the Fox Theater.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MICHIGAN
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I was very leary to stay here from the beginning. I stayed here and I had a very good experience where I would stay here again before going somewhere else. The front desk staff was very friendly and acknowledge the special occasion that we were celebrating. Nothing like amneties at the hotel which included a sports bar and resturant. The down side was the valet parking it was very confusing when we pulled up it was a lot of people standing everywhere where we couldnt distingusih what and who was working for valet. At night it was a lot of employees not working loitering in front of the building which make it unsightly. But overall I will stay here again. oops one more point the breakfast resturant was very crowded in the morning and the hot food wasn't always stock without asking for more and it was confusingthe way you had to order omlets or pancakes. Be careful when reserving when I intially called to book the told me they were full when I called back the day of my arrival they had availability

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDETROIT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review, and stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.

Dave Kipfmiller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The staff was pretty nice and the place clean and comfortable.
The "gym" fits 3 people max, with a treadmill, a bike and a small weight rack. The "pool" is smaller than my kitchen! Not sure if the parking is worth the extra $20 (I didn't drive there though). Conveniently located if whatever brings you to Detroit is downtown.
To sum it up, pretty standard for a Hilton. Not luxurious, but nice still. I see that it's classified as a $$$$ on some other websites but I'd say it's more $$$.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and couldn't fault it. Rooms were comfortable and good size. Plentiful hot water and the staff couldn't do enough for us -t elling us where to visit / where not to and how people mover worked.
Hotel bar / diner was really friendly and served taty food in the evenings when we tended not to go out. Ashley was lovely and so cheerful.
I would recommend this hotel particularly if you are going to detroit for the football or baseball - you couldn't get closer to the stadiums!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for the first time and did not find it to be up to typical Hilton Garden Inn standards. Granted, it's probably a top option in a city without many, but the hallways smell like a bar/casino and the bathrooms aren't super clean. Parking is insanely expensive too.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDETROIT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for the response and staying with us. We value your feedback, and will share with our team. I apologize if our hotel was not up to standard during your stay. Our team takes great pride in their service and our hotel's appearance. Please trust that we will continue to improve and make your next experience a better one. I also understand your concerns about parking. While there is a charge for parking, we have worked hard to ensure our cost are the same as our lower than the rest of the hotels in Downtown Detroit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown

Address: 351 Gratiot Avenue, Detroit, MI 48226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Detroit
#8 Business Hotel in Detroit
#8 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown hotel is located in downtown Detroit. Set in the heart of Harmonie Park, the hotel is surrounded by shops, restaurants and entertainment venues such as Ford Field and Comerica Park. Local businesses and corporate offices within walking distance to our hotel in Detroit, Michigan include Quicken Loans, Ernst and Young, PricewaterhouseCoopers and Compuware. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown Hotel Detroit
Detroit Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Detroit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.