We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Good Choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   351 Gratiot Avenue, Detroit, MI 48226   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence 2014
chicago
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A Very Good Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just completed a stay with three others in our party and location was perfect. Within walking distance to area restaurants, casino, bars/lounges. The hotel lobby is charming and inviting and stocked at all times with hot coffee, tea, packages of hot chocolate, very refreshing and pretty jars of water which included pineapples & strawberries or cucumbers.

The staff is top notch. Very professional, friendly, accommodating and eager to please. No phoniness here. Valet parking is high but comparable to parking in other major cities. I did not see anyone to help with baggage but was impressed with a wheelchair accommodation for one of the hotel guests.

The breakfast buffet is $11.95 but ask for complimentary tickets during your stay. There was a Detroits Tiger game during our stay and many guests, however, the elevators (2) were easily available and at times empty when we wanted to move. The buffet was rather good, although other guests have given not so favorable reviews. There are cooked to order options available upon request (waffles, pancakes, omelettes). The coffee inside this restaurant is terrible, the lobby brand is so much better tasting. Saturday & Sunday breakfast/buffet is served until 12:00 noon.

The hotel bar and grill was pleasantly very good. Food is reasonable for an on site restaurant, nice staff, great burgers and sliders. Food was served quickly and hot and there is a nice menu selection.

The hotel is very clean with snooze control for your bed (you select the firmness of your mattress), but the pillows are TOO soft. When you use the bathroom be prepared to reach far for the tissue. The distance from the toilet seat to tissue is almost fall off the seat distance. What a strange design so be sure to set your paper on top of the vanity, FIRST.

All in all a very good hotel and we agreed we would all return. Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    173
    72
    30
    14
See reviews for
79
114
32
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed here for our anniversary. We liked the location of the hotel, and we were able to walk or take a quick cab wherever we needed. $20 for parking, but I think that is normal for the area. We paid for the breakfast, I would not recommend this. It was sub-par at best, check out the restaurants in the area. You'll get what you want for cheaper.

The room was clean and the bed was comfy. The staff was nice.

The pool is small, clean, but small. The hot tub was a descent size and probably the best feature. The fitness rooms is tiny, and although clean - all the machines are broken. There are two treadmills and one elliptical and all are super loud and felt as though they've never been greased or maintained.

Room Tip: We stayed in 313 and thought it was a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDETROIT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, and for staying with us. Thank you also for sharing your concerns about the fitness center. I have been working with our maintenance provider and this problem has been addressed. We recognize the size of our facility does not meet all of our guest needs , and we offer complimentary passes to the local health club.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Visited the Auto Show in 2012 and decided to stay in Detroit rather than in Windsor. The positive result was that it reduced the number of times that we had to cross the border and sit in line for US or Canada Customs. The bad news was that downtown Detroit, despite all the work that has gone into Greektown, Ford Field and Tiger Stadium, is NOT a place that inspires you to go outside at night.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Accomodating, friendly staff. Had a problem w/our AC unit and they immediately put us in another room, even though it was 11pm. Had some great sliders at the bar/grill in the hotel.
Nice bartender, great chef. The breakfast room is another story, however. VERY unorganized, messy and not worth the price....FREE. The location of this hotel is perfect for Greektown, Ford Field and Comerica park. Valet parking is great and the valets are very attentive and friendly!

Room Tip: Saw 2 rooms, they were identical. Sorry, no tips
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDETROIT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for providing insight on your recent experience at our hotel. I’m so happy you enjoyed our friendly and accommodating staff and I’m glad they could provide you with a new room. I sincerely apologize for disorganization you may have experienced in the American Grille, and I will be sharing you comments with our Food and Beverage Manager. We look for reviews to provide insight, so I certainly appreciate your feedback. The next time you are in the area, we would love for you to stay with us again. Thank you.

David Kipfmiller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed just one night but we were extremely impressed. All the employees were very friendly and polite. The room was fresh and clean. We were even ramdomly picked as guests of the day, so we received a goodie bag that included two free tickets for breakfast. We had a great breakfast, better than we expected and we didn't even need to order off the menu. We had a great view of downtown from our 9th floor room. One thing that really impressed us is that you needed to use your key card to even use the elevator, that made us feel very secure. The hotel is just a short walk from Co-America Park. After the baseball game (which we won) we walked around downtown (and it was hopping), looked at all the historic buildings and stopped for a drink. Never once did we feel unsafe. If your heading to the big city I would recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the city. It's a little bit more but so worth it, what a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDETROIT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thanks for staying and congratulations on being selected as our guest of the day. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

David Kipfmiller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Jefferson, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Really nice folks running this place. They took great care in making sure my changed reservation was right, that I got my request for a higher floor room granted, and that everything was right - the first time. We were in town for a Tiger game and when they say the hotel is two blocks from the ballpark they are NOT making this up!!! What a pleasure to enjoy the game and then just walk (safely) back to my nice, clean hotel room. All the amenities are there: good bed, nice t.v., free wireless (and you don't have to be a software engineer to sign in) big clean bath, microwave, mini-fridge, you got it all. And from my 10th floor room I could see into the ballpark! GO TIGERS. We will definitely be back for all our Tiger town needs.

Room Tip: The extra five bucks for the 10th floor room on the "Tiger side" of the hotel was really f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed at this property in July but have stayed here in the past as well. You will not find a nicer hotel so close to both Comerica Park and Ford Field. We walk around at night and hit the bars and casino and have never had a problem or felt unsafe. Room was clean and very spacious. Everytime I visit Detroit this hotel is my first choice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDETROIT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thanks for staying and for the great review. Come down and see us again soon!

David Kipfmiller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown

Address: 351 Gratiot Avenue, Detroit, MI 48226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Detroit
#8 Business Hotel in Detroit
#8 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown hotel is located in downtown Detroit. Set in the heart of Harmonie Park, the hotel is surrounded by shops, restaurants and entertainment venues such as Ford Field and Comerica Park. Local businesses and corporate offices within walking distance to our hotel in Detroit, Michigan include Quicken Loans, Ernst and Young, PricewaterhouseCoopers and Compuware. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown Hotel Detroit
Detroit Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Detroit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.