We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1020 Washington Blvd., Detroit, MI 48226   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Detroit
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

My son and I attended a Detroit Red Wings game last night and stayed here. The location was great; the service was fine, the room was clean, large, well appointed with a microwave oven, refrigerator, and a king-size bed. There was also a nice pool on the 17th floor. The complementary breakfast consisted bacon, sausage, pancakes, cereal, rolls, bagels fruit, and more. The wi-fi was slow because the hotel was full that night, but the manager said that they were going to upgrade their service. The valet service was fine. The bed was very comfortable with great pillows. One of the features that I really appreciated is that each table lamp has an electrical outlet on its base, so their is no need to crawl around looking for an outlet down by the floor. A small feature, but much appreciated by me.

Room Tip: My room was on the sixth floor facing the front, and I heard no noise--from the street, the hallway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Purfessor,
Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience at our hotel with us. We strive to provide the best possible service and guest experiences every day, and it’s always great to hear from our guests on how we’re doing. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager - Holiday Inn Express Detroit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    117
    67
    23
    28
See reviews for
76
54
28
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pontianak, Indonesia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

My husband and I had a great time the 2 nights we stayed at this hotel. The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly. Q as she likes to be called, made sure that our request for extra towels was received quickly. We did have trouble with the tub draining out, but again Q had it taken care of, with our permission, while we were out for the day. Q seemed genuinely consider that we enjoyed our stay. While at the hotel we were able to use the shuttle bus to take us around town, so we didn't have to drive and try to find a parking space which was nice. The valet crew was also very friendly when picking us up or taking us out. It was nice waking up to a smiling friendly face at breakfast. Joyce who served breakfast in the was very pleasant each morning. I am thankful for the dedication of Cheryl, who went next door to get me a spoon, when the keys to the kitchen could not be found. We truly enjoyed our stay. The room was very nice and the bed was very comfortable. For a weekend get-away, I'm sure we will visit again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Purple Angel,
I am so pleased that you and your husband chose to join us for your Valentine's Weekend getaway! We were truly humbled by your gracious comments regarding our hotel service team. All of the staff takes great pride in knowing that their hard work and dedication is making a difference to our guests. We certainly do strive to provide all of our guests with the level of service that you described you received during your stay and I will certainly make sure I acknowledge the entire staff for their efforts, particularly Sheryl, Laquetta, and Joyce. We are excited to have the chance to welcome you back again soon.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager - Holiday Inn Express Detroit
edailey@greenwoodhospitality.com
313-253-4344
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Last week I stayed at this hotel and I'm really happy to share this story. It may seem small to some people but it made my day! I was in town for work but did some sightseeing in my free time. One day I came back from visiting the Institute of Arts, trucking in the snow, hungry, a bit tired and ready for a nap. But overall I'd had a great day full of high spirits and happy people :-) When I arrived in my room it was nice and tidy, my bed had been made- the usual housekeeping stuff was done. But, I went to put my purse down on the desk next to the tv and to my delight, discovered a note sitting on the tv stand. It read "Smile :-) and have a wonderful day! Housekeeper Frances". It literally made my day! She didn't have to leave me a wonderful, positive note in addition to leaving my room so lovely but she did. When people go out of their way to make your day better with no intention of getting something in return, it's just too darn great not to share.

Thank you for making my stay a memorable one. If you see/meet Frances be extra kind to her. Cuz she totally deserves it!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dobs Adventure,
On behalf of our entire staff, thank you so much for your kind review. We certainly do strive to provide all of our guests with the level of service that you described you received during your stay and I will certainly make sure I acknowledge the entire staff for their efforts. We were truly humbled by your gracious comments regarding Frances. All of the staff takes great pride in knowing that their hard work and dedication is making a difference to our guests, we will recognize her specifically for the positive impact that she had on your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager - Holiday Inn Express
edailey@greenwoodhospitality.com
313-253-4344
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

I enjoyed my stay here. I found a pleasant check in with the General Manager working the desk and giving a warm welcome on a cold January night. Energetic car runners made the Valet parking easy and convenient. I didn't try the People Mover nor the hotel shuttle bus. Cobo Hall is 3 blocks away, an easy walk, reasonably safe even at 9 PM. Room was very nicely furnished, clean, comfortable and quiet. Free wi-fi, microwave oven & fridge. I found no hint of odors that other reviewers noted. Breakfast was way above average, lots of hot dishes offered.
I often come to Detroit for the Auto Show. This is the first time to stay downtown and I would definately stay here again. It is clean, friendly and well-run.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Neil,
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Our goal is to provide superior service and accommodations to each and every guest that stays with us, and it is great to know that we are hitting our mark. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the hotel with all of our distinctive amenities such as valet, complimentary shuttle, breakfast, and complimentary wi-fi. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager - Holiday Inn Express
edailey@greenwoodhospitality.com
313-253-4344
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

This is a pretty basic hotel in downtown Detroit, which is great if you are here for a quick business trip. The breakfast isn't anything fancy, but it's enough. It's a little far from the people mover station, but other than that, I liked the location. Staff were nice and the rooms were clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
NY Reporter,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your most recent stay at our hotel. I am glad that the hotel and our service team helped to enhance your visit. I regret that you found the location of the people to be distant, we can appreciate that with the temperatures this winter. Upon your return, we hope you will consider taking advantage of the complimentary shuttle. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager - Holiday Inn Express Detroit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

The place of the hotel is close to the center. However , there was a musty smell in some places that you can't ignore or avoid. The room was good and the view was nice from the fifth floor. Valet parking was included in my booking as it is unsafe to park by yourself. Make sure you have it in your booking.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Mr. Shaker,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your most recent stay at our hotel. We truly value your input as it allows us to continually improve. I am pleased that you found the location convenient for your trip. Please accept my sincere apologies that you experienced an unfavorable odor during your trip. Rest assured, we are making many improvements to the hotel and will address your comment. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager - Holiday Inn Express Detroit
edailey@greenwoodhospitality.com
313-253-4344
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

As others have mentioned the location is pretty good but that wouldn't be enough for me to return here unless I had no other options. It's not a bad place but I couldn't get past the smell of the hotel, the damage to the room or elevators, or the dark and creepy lighting they have everywhere. No matter where I went in the hotel there was a musty, sweaty, old smell...not necessarily overpowering but very hard to ignore. In the room furniture was scratched in some places and missing chunks in others. The metal elevators have lots of graffiti from top to bottom. The hallways are dark and creepy and each floor has vending machines by the elevators, stocked with condoms and meds, making it feel sleazy and making for an interesting conversation with my 7 year old. On the bright side it did have a pool and a gym which was surprisingly well outfitted with cardio and weight equipment.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Serenity,
Thank you for choosing us as your hotel during your last visit. It was a pleasure to have you and your family at our hotel. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated. Please know that we are working diligently to improve your experiences throughout the hotel, as you noticed in the pool area and fitness center. We look forward to continuing those improvements and hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager - Holiday Inn Express, Detroit
edailey@greenwoodhospitality.com
313-253-4344
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown

Address: 1020 Washington Blvd., Detroit, MI 48226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Downtown Detroit is a first class hotel that is ideal for travelers who are visiting for either business or leisure purposes. In addition to our finely appointed guest rooms, we offer fully equipped suites with full kitchens for extended stays. Some of our outstanding amenities include a state-of-the-art fitness center, indoor heated pool, 24-hour business center, and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Don't forget to join us for breakfast at our newly updated Express Start Breakfast Bar. We now offer a selection of hot entrees! The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Downtown Detroit also offers valet parking for your convenience at fee of $20.00 per car per night, the lowest priced hotel parking in the downtown area. Located in the heart of downtown Detroit, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is within walking distance of Cobo Convention Center, Joe Louis Arena (Detroit Red Wings) and the new MGM Grand Casino. The hotel is also positioned perfectly near the People Mover, Greektown Casino, Motor City Casino, Detroit Opera House, Fox Theatre, Hard Rock Cafe, Comerica Park (Detroit Tigers), and Ford Field (Detroit Lions). For the busy executive, the hotel is located only 1-2 blocks from Compuware World Headquarters, DTE Energy, and AT&T, just to name a few. The General Motors World Headquarters, famously known as the Renaissance Center, is located less than one mile from the hotel and is open to the public during weekdays for tours and shopping. Visitors can even venture off across the border into Canada by crossing the Ambassador Bridge or the tunnel into Windsor, Canada. For your next visit to Detroit, Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites of Downtown Detroit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown Hotel Detroit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.